Thread: Knoppix VMWare-tools Installation Problem..

Knoppix VMWare-tools Installation Problem..

Hi All..

I am totally new to Knoppix so please bear with me... I had to install it for some assignment...

I installed VMware WS on VISTA and then booted off Knoppix 5.1.1 CD Version

Then from Knoppix i did

Code:
    knoppix-installer
    and it installed knoppix into my Virtual HDD of Vmware.. it worked fine..

then i tried normally installing vmware-tools.. and i ran the vmware-config.pl.. it gave the following error

Code:
    Stopping VMware Tools services in the virtual machine:
    Guest operating system daemon: done
    Trying to find a suitable vmmemctl module for your running kernel.

None of the pre-built vmmemctl modules for VMware Tools is suitable for your
    running kernel. Do you want this program to try to build the vmmemctl module
    for your system (you need to have a C compiler installed on your system)?
    yes

Using compiler "/usr/bin/gcc". Use environment variable CC to override.

Your kernel was built with "gcc" version "4.1.2", while you are trying to use
    "/usr/bin/gcc" version "4.2.1". This configuration is not recommended and
    VMware Tools may crash if you'll continue. Please try to use exactly same
    compiler as one used for building your kernel. Do you want to go with compiler
    "/usr/bin/gcc" version "4.2.1" anyway? no

The memory manager driver (vmmemctl module) is used by VMware host software to
    efficiently reclaim memory from a virtual machine.
    If the driver is not available, VMware host software may instead need to swap
    guest memory to disk, which may reduce performance.
    The rest of the software provided by VMware Tools is designed to work
    independently of this feature.
    If you want the memory management feature, you can install the driver by
    running vmware-config-tools.pl again after making sure that gcc, binutils, make