Thread: Kernel Panic-Knoppix Disk : Need Help

Kernel Panic-Knoppix Disk : Need Help

So I'm trying to fix my friend's laptop. An ACER 3620 that would not boot, but gave the message NT Loader missing. So I ordered the ACER 3620 disk and still was not able to load. I have made a little progress but have hit a deadend. Through failsafe, it ran through a bunch of jazz and I am now ending with this message:

READ-ONLY CD SYSTEM SUCCESSFULLY MERGED WITH READ-WRITE /RAMDISK
    /linuxrc: cannot create /var/run/utmp" directory nonexistenet
    No filesystem could mount root, tried: reiserfs ext3 ext2 msdos vfat iso9660 fuseblk
    Kernel panic - Not syncing: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block (1,3)
    _

And I am confused, I can't boot and it appears to have done nothing to help fix the computer. Any suggestions? I have tried most of the cheat commands you all have talked about. I have no experience either with Knoppix so hopefully you can understand my neophytical confusion.

Thanks

Administrator Site Admin-
    It's rather strange that Knoppix can't boot even in failsafe mode. Did you confirm the MD5 checksum before burning the ISO, burn it at low speed and do a verify option when burning? You are using a 700 meg CD and not a 650 meg disc, correct? If all of these can be answered yes (particularly the md5 question, no fair ignoring it just because you don't know what md5 is), then try booting and type memtest at the prompt to run memtest86 and confirm that the computer's memory is OK.

Hey, I bought the CD online to repair everything. Anyways, I tried running memtest, it starts the memory testing for about 3 minutes and then the whole computer shuts off in the middle of the process. I am completely confused. What kind of memtest failure would cause it to do that on me? Well thanks so far for the help.

Quote Originally Posted by Elisha8685