Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Newbie Q's - what's running? How to control processes?

  1. #1
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    13

    Newbie Q's - what's running? How to control processes?

    I am new to Knoppix and linux, so if these questions are stupid, please don't be too harsh.
    Do a whole heap of possibly unnecessary processes load when Knoppix starts? If so, where can I see what they are, and can they be turned off? Other than basic internet access, I don't need any networking and don't want anything running that permits any remote connection to my computer, or anything "phoning" out from my computer.
    Is there a single list of all of the programs/utilities included with Knoppix and what they are, or is there a good site for looking them up?
    Finally, can I get an icon show up when connected to the internet? Is there a way of controlling connection to my router in the software (or do I just need to unplug it)?
    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    1,516
    to begin with
    Code:
    ps -aux
    in a console gives a full list of running processes.
    so does
    Code:
     top
    you kill top by hitting Q.

    in top and ps -aux, you can see how much CPU and memory they use, fraction of a percent if inactive,
    you may perhaps need to add |less after ps -aux (ps -aux|less) then use arrowkeys to go up/down, to see everything, again you kill less by hitting q.

    now as for network acess,
    Code:
    ifconfig eth0 down
    should shut the networkacess off (eth0 = first network card)
    Code:
    ifconfig eth0 up
    restarts it again.

    as far as I know no remote access is allowed to knoppix by default.

    yes there is a list of programs on the CD and DVD, but processes is another matter.

  3. #3
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    13
    Thanks, OErjan, I'll take a look.

  4. #4
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    italy
    Posts
    245

    Re: Newbie Q's - what's running? How to control processes?

    Quote Originally Posted by hedgehog
    Do a whole heap of possibly unnecessary processes load when Knoppix starts? If so, where can I see what they are, and can they be turned off?
    Thanks.
    As regard the unecessary processess at start, usually they are handled in defferent ways according as specific linux distro. In Debian which Knoppix is based, they resides in the '/etc/rc*.d' directories as symlinks. This is a not very simple topic to explain, but as an example: don't you have a printer connected to your pc? Ok delete all symlinks which are ending with 'cupsys', so as root type 'rm -rf /etc/rc*.d/*cupsys' AT YOUR OWN RISK! :P

  5. #5
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    13
    Well, trying to stop network access came up with permission denied. Thanks anyway.

  6. #6
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    1,516
    you must ofcourse be root. sorry i for got that step.
    Code:
    sudo ifconfig eth0 down
    shold work, also
    Code:
    sudo ifconfig eth0 up
    most things on the aminitrative side requires root access (root=admin=superuser=G O D! in linux)

  7. #7
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    13
    you must ofcourse be root. sorry i for got that step.
    Thanks very much, but it is way too involved to be of any use -it'd be much easier to pull the plug. But as I have no idea of what the program is doing or how to interpret the network monitoring, the whole thing is way beyond my capabilities and I'll quit while I'm ahead. Thanks again.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1
    I can get damsmalllinux to boot,but can't connect to internet,what am I doing wrong?

  9. #9
    Administrator Site Admin-
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,441
    Quote Originally Posted by Newbie60
    I can get damsmalllinux to boot,but can't connect to internet,what am I doing wrong?
    • 1. You're making your posts in other people's threads about completely different topics rather than starting your own tread. This is sometimes called "hijacking a thread" and is not appreciated.

      2. You're not posting in the networking section where this would likely get the most help.

      3. You don't give any information for anyone to even start trying to help you. See answer #3.

Similar Threads

  1. Newbie question: Can I burn a CD running from a CD?
    By cjon in forum MS Windows & New to Linux
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-10-2006, 01:03 PM
  2. A list of Processes running?
    By pezz453 in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-13-2005, 07:05 AM
  3. Newbie with problem getting KNOPPIX up and running!
    By pvsurfer in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-07-2005, 12:06 AM
  4. newbie: video config when running from CD?
    By krikke in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-23-2004, 07:05 AM
  5. New Newbie - Need Help Running liloconfig
    By Drago in forum General Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-18-2003, 06:44 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


1TB/2TB USB 3.0 Flash Drive Thumb U Disk Memory Stick Pen PC Laptop Storage lot picture

1TB/2TB USB 3.0 Flash Drive Thumb U Disk Memory Stick Pen PC Laptop Storage lot

$80.39



Type C USB 3.0 Flash Drive Thumb Drive Memory Stick for PC Laptop 1TB 2TB lot picture

Type C USB 3.0 Flash Drive Thumb Drive Memory Stick for PC Laptop 1TB 2TB lot

$73.29



Seagate ST1000VM002 1TB 64MB SATA6Gb/s 3.5

Seagate ST1000VM002 1TB 64MB SATA6Gb/s 3.5" (Low Power) Hard Drive -PC, CCTV DVR

$24.99



Fanxiang SSD 4TB 2TB 1TB PS5 SSD M.2 NVME SSD 7300MBS PCIe 4.0 Solid State Drive picture

Fanxiang SSD 4TB 2TB 1TB PS5 SSD M.2 NVME SSD 7300MBS PCIe 4.0 Solid State Drive

$269.99



CISCO A03-D1TBSATA 1TB 7.2K 6G 2.5INCH SATA HDD picture

CISCO A03-D1TBSATA 1TB 7.2K 6G 2.5INCH SATA HDD

$9.00



1TB HDD/SSD 2.5

1TB HDD/SSD 2.5" SATA Hard Drive for Laptop with Win 10/Win 11 Pro Pre-installed

$27.99



Patriot P210 128GB 256GB 512GB 1TB 2TB 2.5

Patriot P210 128GB 256GB 512GB 1TB 2TB 2.5" SATA 3 6GB/s Internal SSD PC/MAC Lot

$19.99



Samsung - Geek Squad Certified Refurbished 870 EVO 1TB SATA Solid State Drive picture

Samsung - Geek Squad Certified Refurbished 870 EVO 1TB SATA Solid State Drive

$67.99



2TB USB 3.0 Flash Drive Thumb U Disk Memory Stick Pen PC Laptop Storage US picture

2TB USB 3.0 Flash Drive Thumb U Disk Memory Stick Pen PC Laptop Storage US

$41.69



1TB 3.5

1TB 3.5" Hard Drive | macOS Mojave 10.14.6 | iMAC 27" 2012 2013 2014 2015 2017

$23.63