Thread: Newbie Q's - what's running? How to control processes?

Junior Member registered user

Newbie Q's - what's running? How to control processes?

I am new to Knoppix and linux, so if these questions are stupid, please don't be too harsh.
    Do a whole heap of possibly unnecessary processes load when Knoppix starts? If so, where can I see what they are, and can they be turned off? Other than basic internet access, I don't need any networking and don't want anything running that permits any remote connection to my computer, or anything "phoning" out from my computer.
    Is there a single list of all of the programs/utilities included with Knoppix and what they are, or is there a good site for looking them up?
    Finally, can I get an icon show up when connected to the internet? Is there a way of controlling connection to my router in the software (or do I just need to unplug it)?
    Thanks.

Senior Member registered user
    to begin with
    Code:
    ps -aux
    in a console gives a full list of running processes.
    so does
    Code:
    you kill top by hitting Q.

in top and ps -aux, you can see how much CPU and memory they use, fraction of a percent if inactive,
    you may perhaps need to add |less after ps -aux (ps -aux|less) then use arrowkeys to go up/down, to see everything, again you kill less by hitting q.

now as for network acess,
    Code:
    ifconfig eth0 down
    should shut the networkacess off (eth0 = first network card)
    Code:
    ifconfig eth0 up
    restarts it again.

as far as I know no remote access is allowed to knoppix by default.

yes there is a list of programs on the CD and DVD, but processes is another matter.

Thanks, OErjan, I'll take a look.

Re: Newbie Q's - what's running? How to control processes?

Quote Originally Posted by hedgehog
    Do a whole heap of possibly unnecessary processes load when Knoppix starts? If so, where can I see what they are, and can they be turned off?
    Thanks.