Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Samba Server

Samba Server

I'm a noob. Completly new to Knoppix

So I download the latest DVD, start-up with it from your everyday PC.

My problem is when I click the "start samba server" from the clicking the little penquin guy and then services, it ask me to create password for the user knoppix. So no big deal, i use 123 as a password and normally i would say share all with read and write. well the problem is that it is not taking that 123 password or a blank password or anything. that damn dialog box just keep looping betweeen setting the password and confirming it and it wont go away.

what the deal?

Thanks

Senior Member registered user

Re: Samba Server

Quote Originally Posted by MAiN_PRoToCoL
    I'm a noob. Completly new to Knoppix

So I download the latest DVD, start-up with it from your everyday PC.

My problem is when I click the "start samba server" from the clicking the little penquin guy and then services, it ask me to create password for the user knoppix. So no big deal, i use 123 as a password and normally i would say share all with read and write. well the problem is that it is not taking that 123 password or a blank password or anything. that damn dialog box just keep looping betweeen setting the password and confirming it and it wont go away.

what the deal?

Thanks
    I believe you are using the knoppix 5.3 version. I only have 5.1.1 and I try it with your case, I use 123 as password, knoppix accepted it and ask me once again to confirm. After I re-enter it, it asks me if I want all harddisks to be read and write. I click on the OK and the program ended gracefully.

I do not have 5.3 myself so I cannot test it. Well 4+ GB download is not fun for me and I am not going to do it until they have the CD version coming up.

So anyone out there tried the knoppix 5.3 Samba server?

Rgds,
    Chip

Nice to know that 5.1.1 is ok. I'm using 5.3.1

Nice to know that 5.1.1 is ok. I'm using 5.3.1