Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: hostname fixed to Knoppix even after reinstall of OS

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    3

    hostname fixed to Knoppix even after reinstall of OS

    Hi All

    No matter what I do, I can not get the hostname to change from Knoppix.

    Tried reformmatting HDD, installing Mandrake & RedHat and running fdisk/mbr.

    Slightly worried Knoppix download had been hacked!!!!!

    Either BIOS or virus ?

    I am using Blueyonder in UK with a cable modem Surfboard SB4100

    Stuart

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    colorado springs, colorado
    Posts
    1,933
    Did you edit

    /etc/hostname

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    3
    I ran linuxconf in Mandrake 9.1 to try and reset the name, but after reboot it goes back to Knoppix.

    I am thinking BIOS or EPROM on the cable modem, even powering down the modem for a longish period does not make a difference.

  4. #4
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    colorado springs, colorado
    Posts
    1,933
    Quote Originally Posted by StuartP
    I ran linuxconf in Mandrake 9.1 to try and reset the name, but after reboot it goes back to Knoppix.
    Not sure I follow you. Are you booting the Knoppix cd or working from a hard drive installation? If you're booting the cd then you need to save your configuration. The Docs link at the top of the page can get you everything you need to know.

    -OR-

    Are you telling me that simply booting the Knoppix cd causes your hard drive installed Mandrake hostname to change? If so why don't you just go edit whatever file in Mandrake has your hostname as root, and make sure it gets saved. Sometimes those config tools don't always do what you think they do. Of course- who knows it is experimental software afterall.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    3
    I was booted of a CDROM, since then Knoppix is somehow stored somewhere.

    Even after a fresh install to HDD of other OSes, which should clear all references to Knoppix.

Similar Threads

  1. Can I reinstall win98 without wiping out knoppix hdd?
    By turbine in forum MS Windows & New to Linux
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-18-2005, 05:02 AM
  2. XP / Knoppix hybrid: How to reinstall XP?
    By Josh83 in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 04-01-2005, 02:29 PM
  3. Knoppix changed my HOSTNAME env var?
    By kclawson in forum General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-03-2003, 02:18 AM
  4. reinstall Knoppix, or apt-get upgrade
    By benpark22 in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-17-2003, 07:49 PM
  5. reinstall knoppix to existing partition
    By linuxgrilla in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-17-2003, 04:38 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •