Thread: Default myconf=scan and post startup command file

Default myconf=scan and post startup command file

First of all, I am a newbie. There, I said it.

I am using Knoppix v5.1.1 CD.

First, I would like to customise/remaster the existing CD image so that the boot default is to 'Try to find "knoppix.sh" automatically' without having to type the 'myconf=scan' command every time I boot.

Secondly, in this same new CD image, I would like to have a post startup command file invoked automatically. By post startup, I mean after Everything has finished starting.

For consistency sake, this post startup command file should be in the same /device/partition/directory that the 'myconf=scan' command found the 'knoppix.sh' file in. Through some programmatic method, I assume that the location of the 'knoppix.sh' that was used is stored or can be retrieved.

Using this /device/partition/directory information, I would want a command sequence that would say 'IF 'POST STARTUP COMMAND FILE' EXISTS, THEN RUN FILE'.

With these two options, I hope that I (and others) will to be able to use this CD image in multiple ways without having to re-customise it again.

Can I get some feedback on this please?

Very simple instructions and on-line examples are GREATLY appreciated.

Thanks.

Senior Member registered user
    Heres the remastering howto:

http://www.knoppix.net/wiki/Knoppix_Remastering_Howto

Its about 18 A4 pages. There's no way you can acheive what you want to do, you need about 3 years minimum experience, and be fa,iliar with the command line, bash, linux partitions and devices.

Auto running a command, can be acheived by placing a script in /home/knoppix/.kde/Autorun as its the default window manager, which will involve remastering the CD and working in the chroot environment.