Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 24 of 24

Thread: Can't Access HDA1

  1. #21
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    5

    My fix

    Here's what I've done:

    Create an "autostart" directory in /home/knoppix/.config

    Create a "fix-fstab.desktop" file in /home/knoppix/.config/autostart:

    Code:
    [Desktop Entry]
    Name=fix-fstab
    Comment=fix-fstab
    Type=Application
    Exec=/home/knoppix/.config/autostart/fix-fstab.sh
    Terminal=false
    X-GNOME-Autostart-enabled=true
    Create a "fix-fstab.sh" file in /home/knoppix/.config/autostart:

    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    sudo rebuildfstab -r
    Make the fix-fstab.sh file executable:

    Code:
    $ chmod +x fix-fstab.sh

  2. #22
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Costa Rica
    Posts
    33

    an interseting solution

    I have Knoppix installed on an external USB drive. Also had it installed on a USB flash but later removed most files, but the
    syslinux file is still there. As with others, my internal Windows HD is not accessable when I boot Knoppix from the
    external USB HD. I tried to mount the HD, as per the instructions posted her, but to no avail.

    However, I found a trick that seems to work for me. After booting from the USB drive, I then install the USB KEY that has the
    syslinux file. After it is mounted, I perform an fdisk-l to see all the disk devices. Then I unmount the USB KEY and 99% of
    the time the internal hard drive (Windows) is now mounted and usable. Why? I have no idea. I am a real
    newbie to Linux.

    As the man says, DO NOT WRITE to the NTFS disk. You will probably make is unusable in Windows.

  3. #23
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by edzillion
    As usual I went ahead like a blunderbus and did lots of things I had no idea what I was doing.
    Anyway I had a problem accessing the internal drive on my laptop and was getting the same error as the OP:

    Unable to mount device
    Error org.freedesktop.Hal.Device.Volume.UnknownFailure

    So tried to mount it various ways and then used the command:

    mount -t ntfs-3g /dev/sda1 /media/sda1 -o force

    which worked fine.

    Step 2:

    Tried to get the USB hard drive to be recognised so I could copy the data off the drive, so again:

    mount -t ntfs-3g /dev/sdb /media/sdb -o force

    which worked. Copied all the information off the internal drive and then put the usb drive into my windows machine (didnt dismount). When added it recognises a usb mass storage device but doesnt appear in my computer. Also I tried remounting it in knoppix but I get the error 'NTFS is either inconsistent, or you have hardware faults......'

    any ideas?
    What commend would you use before disconnecting the USB Hard drive?
    thanks

  4. #24
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by edzillion
    As usual I went ahead like a blunderbus and did lots of things I had no idea what I was doing.
    Anyway I had a problem accessing the internal drive on my laptop and was getting the same error as the OP:

    Unable to mount device
    Error org.freedesktop.Hal.Device.Volume.UnknownFailure

    So tried to mount it various ways and then used the command:

    mount -t ntfs-3g /dev/sda1 /media/sda1 -o force

    which worked fine.

    Step 2:

    Tried to get the USB hard drive to be recognised so I could copy the data off the drive, so again:

    mount -t ntfs-3g /dev/sdb /media/sdb -o force

    which worked. Copied all the information off the internal drive and then put the usb drive into my windows machine (didnt dismount). When added it recognises a usb mass storage device but doesnt appear in my computer. Also I tried remounting it in knoppix but I get the error 'NTFS is either inconsistent, or you have hardware faults......'

    any ideas?
    Oh and where and when do you put this commands?

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Similar Threads

  1. Unable to write to /mnt/hda1
    By mikeadams in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-23-2006, 06:30 PM
  2. hda1 full - how come? Help!
    By royston in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-09-2004, 12:42 AM
  3. HDA1 won't mount
    By jimandjeanette in forum The Lounge
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-05-2004, 02:50 PM
  4. KNOPPIX on hda1
    By A. Jorge Garcia in forum General Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-04-2004, 04:29 AM
  5. KNOPPIX on hda1?
    By A. Jorge Garcia in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-04-2004, 04:26 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


IBM Power8 S822L Storage Server 8247-22L - With Ram, Some Cards, No HDD's picture

IBM Power8 S822L Storage Server 8247-22L - With Ram, Some Cards, No HDD's

$399.95



IBM SYSTEM X3500 M3 SERVER 7380AC1 2*XEON E5620 2.4GHz 8GB SEE NOTES picture

IBM SYSTEM X3500 M3 SERVER 7380AC1 2*XEON E5620 2.4GHz 8GB SEE NOTES

$33.21



IBM 8284-22A S822 Dual Power8 Cpu 512Gb (16x 32Gb) RAM  picture

IBM 8284-22A S822 Dual Power8 Cpu 512Gb (16x 32Gb) RAM

$795.00



IBM Power S822 12-Bay Server System Power8 Core 3.42Ghz DVD-Rom Drive 64GB No HD picture

IBM Power S822 12-Bay Server System Power8 Core 3.42Ghz DVD-Rom Drive 64GB No HD

$399.99



IBM Lenovo X3650 M5 2U 8x 2.5” CTO Rack Server – 2x HS, 2x 750W picture

IBM Lenovo X3650 M5 2U 8x 2.5” CTO Rack Server – 2x HS, 2x 750W

$199.00



IBM x3650 M4 2x Xeon E5-2670 2.6ghz 16-Core / 64GB / M5110e / 2x PSU picture

IBM x3650 M4 2x Xeon E5-2670 2.6ghz 16-Core / 64GB / M5110e / 2x PSU

$129.99



IBM Power S822 8284-22A 12SFF Power8 3.89GHz 6-Core 64GB RAM No Bezel/HDD Server picture

IBM Power S822 8284-22A 12SFF Power8 3.89GHz 6-Core 64GB RAM No Bezel/HDD Server

$359.99



IBM X3650 M5 5462-AC1,2 X E5-2640V3 2.6GHZ 8C, 16 GB, DUAL 750W, 2 X 1TB SERVER picture

IBM X3650 M5 5462-AC1,2 X E5-2640V3 2.6GHZ 8C, 16 GB, DUAL 750W, 2 X 1TB SERVER

$249.99



IBM 8203 E4A p520 Server 8203-E4A 4.2GHz 2-Core POWER6 32GB RAM / NO HDD USED picture

IBM 8203 E4A p520 Server 8203-E4A 4.2GHz 2-Core POWER6 32GB RAM / NO HDD USED

$119.99



IBM System X 3250 M5 Single Xeon Quad Core E3-1220 v3 @3.1GHz,8GB RAM,Linux SUSE picture

IBM System X 3250 M5 Single Xeon Quad Core E3-1220 v3 @3.1GHz,8GB RAM,Linux SUSE

$199.87