Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: how can you reset root's home directory?

  1. #1
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    168

    how can you reset root's home directory?

    ~
    the thing is that I am trying to avoid for knoppix to use actual RAM for temporary directories for browsers and such things
    ~
    What I would like to do is something like this:
    ~
    a) start knoppix using single or "init 2"(?)
    ~
    b) mount a partition
    ~
    c) inside of the mounted partition create a scratch directory
    ~
    d) edit /etc/shadow so that the home directory now points to c)
    ~
    e) go reboot
    ~
    this way I don't have to reset temporary folders in browsers etc. It will all go there
    ~
    lbrtchx

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    1,516
    why root? if you create a permanent home you get what you wanted without being root.

Similar Threads

  1. $HOME directory (/home/knoppix) is out of disk space
    By benopdezolder in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 02-03-2009, 01:45 AM
  2. Persistent Home Directory on DVD
    By jm47048 in forum General Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-01-2006, 09:43 PM
  3. home directory woes
    By mirage358 in forum General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-23-2006, 04:33 AM
  4. 3.8 persistent home directory
    By ddrex in forum General Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-04-2005, 07:52 PM
  5. home - directory on hdd
    By DieselDriver in forum General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-27-2004, 03:20 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •