Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 34

Thread: The Official AC97/Via Onboard Sound Problem Thread Thingie

  1. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    http://thetaexperiments.blogspot.com
    Posts
    6
    Thanks. It's a rather funny irony that I have working knowledge of half a dozen programming languages and have been online for 8 years now yet I don't know most of the web acronyms.

  2. #12
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    2,479
    Just tried this the other day after having upgraded to a new motherboard and processor and it works well I must say. A couple things I would add you do not need arts (I'm using KDE3.2 and xmmsarts is broken) it will work fine without it you just have to kill off the artsd daemon in a console for XMMS to work. Second the changes will work for the other Sound Systems at least OSS which I am using for XMMS.

  3. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2

    Re: The Official AC97/Via Onboard Sound Problem Thread Thing

    Hi,

    I did the things that were suggested, and they worked out quite well (the acpi wasn't that successful).

    But now I have a simple problem. I did all the changes as root. But when I change to another user, the problem is there again. What do I have to do to make the changes of the soundsettings public?
    (ok... I admit that I am a linux newbie, but hey, that's why I post this to the knoppix forum )

    Thanks
    Heiko
    www.krimispiel.net

  4. #14
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    96
    My Averatec laptop sound is not working.

    When probing with SNDCONFIG (which is funny because I believe this is the tool to probe yr soundcard under Linux), it comes up with VIA Technologies IVT8233 [AC97 Audio Controller].

    When modprobing that module, I get a ton of errors.

    Code:
    No such device 
    
    insmod
    
    failed
    
    insmod sound-slot-0 failed
    What is ALSA? It is on my knoppix machine, but I can't get it to run and there are no man pages for it.

    Any input would be awesome here.

    thanks

  5. #15
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    2,479
    Quote Originally Posted by JockVSJock
    My Averatec laptop sound is not working.

    When probing with SNDCONFIG (which is funny because I believe this is the tool to probe yr soundcard under Linux), it comes up with VIA Technologies IVT8233 [AC97 Audio Controller].

    When modprobing that module, I get a ton of errors.

    Code:
    No such device 
    
    insmod
    
    failed
    
    insmod sound-slot-0 failed
    What is ALSA? It is on my knoppix machine, but I can't get it to run and there are no man pages for it.

    Any input would be awesome here.

    thanks
    Try /etc/init.d/alsa-autoconfig as root in a console to create the devices for alsa and now that I look I answed this in a post above.

  6. #16
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    96
    Quote Originally Posted by Stephen
    Quote Originally Posted by JockVSJock
    My Averatec laptop sound is not working.

    When probing with SNDCONFIG (which is funny because I believe this is the tool to probe yr soundcard under Linux), it comes up with VIA Technologies IVT8233 [AC97 Audio Controller].

    When modprobing that module, I get a ton of errors.

    Code:
    No such device 
    
    insmod
    
    failed
    
    insmod sound-slot-0 failed
    What is ALSA? It is on my knoppix machine, but I can't get it to run and there are no man pages for it.

    Any input would be awesome here.

    thanks
    Try /etc/init.d/alsa-autoconfig as root in a console to create the devices for alsa and now that I look I answed this in a post above.
    Is there anyway to get these modules to stay loaded once I load them up under /etc/init.d?

    I can't find where they are at when I check lsmod.

    thanks

  7. #17
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    2,479
    Quote Originally Posted by JockVSJock
    Is there anyway to get these modules to stay loaded once I load them up under /etc/init.d?

    I can't find where they are at when I check lsmod.

    thanks
    They are devices that are created once for the sound card they should be available every time you boot (at least that's how it works for me) after you run the auto-config however the configuration of ALSA defaults to mute so you will not hear any sound unless you set the mixer levels on re-boot. Add the line aumix -w 75 -v 75 to the bottom of the file /etc/init.d/bootmisc.sh I have also seen a post with the -cd option used which I would presume is for the level for the CD player.

  8. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    3
    I tried the ALSA boot prompt cheat, and /etc/init.d/asla-config as root, but still...no sound. Some threads here said disable legacy in BIOS, but there was only USB Legacy, so I disabled that. Still no luck. Any other help?

    (Also tried 'knoppix xmodule-fbdeva alsa'

  9. #19
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    2,479
    Quote Originally Posted by KneeLess
    I tried the ALSA boot prompt cheat, and /etc/init.d/asla-config as root, but still...no sound. Some threads here said disable legacy in BIOS, but there was only USB Legacy, so I disabled that. Still no luck. Any other help?

    (Also tried 'knoppix xmodule-fbdeva alsa'
    What type of card do you have? If you have no on board sound you don't really need alsa.

  10. #20
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    Posts
    1

    Also works under KDE, RH8

    Hi The CafFIEND

    Your tips also works fine in KDE under RH8. Sounds much better but like you say with a little finetouch it would be perfect.

    My machine Is: Via EPIA ME 6000 (Mini ITX) with VT1616 AC97 Sound.

    Well this works fine from the controll center in KDE but my new problem is how to do the same thing under Window Maker or if anyone know's there the real configfile there i can enter 44Khz and Full Duplex. If somebody knows there this file in another Window Manager (KDE for Ex.) It could also help me.

    Thanx The CafFIEND for a superb tips.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. VIA VT8233 AC97 onboard audio controller not working :[
    By psychopath in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-10-2005, 09:27 PM
  2. Ac97 detected, no sound
    By greygooseplz in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 11-20-2004, 10:12 AM
  3. Problem with AC97 sound
    By BNU-FaNtAsMa in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-04-2004, 04:31 PM
  4. Onboard i865 sound card problem
    By darkhack in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-26-2004, 05:51 AM
  5. OnBoard sound - Realtek AC97 ALC650 not recognized
    By Roger in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-30-2003, 06:33 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •