Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Getting error 15 when trying to start up knoppix from grub

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    1

    Getting error 15 when trying to start up knoppix from grub

    I have two hard drives on my computer, one running Vista and Ubuntu both of which load from the grub boot screen. The other hard drive I have loaded Knoppix onto, my problem is that I can't load the Knoppix from the grub loader, it is listed but comes up with an Error 15 can't find file, I believe this is a registry error.
    The boot/grub/menu.lst , shows
    title KNOPPIX
    root (hd0,1)
    kernal /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/hda2 lang=us apm=power-off vga=791 nomce loglevel=0 quiet rw

    title Windows
    rootnoverify (hd1,0)
    chainloader +1

    The device.map only shows
    (hd0) /dev/sda


    I tried the fdisk through a terminal in Ubuntu which showed the Knoppix to be on dev/sdb2.?
    I am still new to this and am not sure how I can correct this, I assume that I have to edit the device map and possibly the menu.lst but I am unsure how as they seem to be locked to all attempts to alteration?

  2. #2
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    14
    boot from CD then.

    In a terminal do
    su
    Now you have full root privileges.

    at the root@(hostname) $ prompt
    cd /media
    mount /sdb2
    Mounts the drive Ubuntu is identifying as /sdb2, but default is read only so

    then
    mount -n -o remount,rw sdb2
    now you have it in read-write mode and with root prvileges.

    then

    cd sdb2/boot/grub

    then cp menu.lst /home/yourusername

    That copies the list to a directory you have write privileges for even in X... like KDE, which is kind of flakey about that.

    close the terminal.

    Browse to the /home/yourusername open the file

    and edit it.

    Save it.

    Open a terminal again,

    su

    you're automatically starting from your /home directory

    cp menu.lst /media/sdb2/boot/grub

    you'll be asked if you want to overwrite

    say yes.

    one of the things to edit out is the quiet parameter.


    It'll give you a glimpse of everything up to the kernel panic line. as you're booting next time.

    Do the same thing for device.map in the /partition/boot/grub directory that you actually boot from.

    My guess is you didn't reinstall grub when you installed Knoppix.

    So it's still using the old device map.


    You just didn't have write priveleges on the drive with Ubuntu.

    And its grub files like device maps.

    If your editor is in KDE you'll probably still not have write priveleges to it, but from the terminal you can.

    mc has a built-in text editor as well, and if you're doing this as root you can save the new file with no qestions

    to get to mc (midnight commander) just type
    mc
    If you already knew that part, don't be alarmed.

    Lots of new people don't.

    Another workaround is to log in as root to begin with.

    KDE in knoppix doesn't let you BUT you can opt for "console login"

    drops you to a shell, login, password, then

    startx
    Then you'll have the full graphics interface with full root privilege.

  3. #3
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    14
    That will give you some specific messages right at the point where it fails to boot.

Similar Threads

  1. Knoppix HD install, Grub Error??
    By Sprok in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-10-2007, 01:31 AM
  2. knoppix remastering error - kde won't start
    By cinematography in forum Customising & Remastering
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-05-2005, 12:50 AM
  3. Error 17 with grub
    By kb0hae in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-14-2005, 08:27 PM
  4. KDM Start Error In Chroot Knoppix 3.7 HELP!
    By winslayer in forum Customising & Remastering
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-24-2004, 01:31 AM
  5. winxp, gentoo, knoppix, grub, and a boot error message
    By SgtRauksauff in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-06-2004, 12:38 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •