Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Knoppix 6 displays mouse and hangs

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    1

    Knoppix 6 displays mouse and hangs

    Knoppix boots all they way into the desktop environment, but I just see a desktop background and a cursor, but no icons/menu's etc.

    Has anyone else experienced this? What can I do?

    Thanks,

    Dave

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    2
    Yes, when I can make it that far, it will hang as soon as the gui comes up. I can move the mouse but nothing else works. Nothing happens when I use the ctrl+alt+Fn keys

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    1
    Has anyone figured this out? I accidently found out that there must be a taskbar at the bottom, out of sight, because if you click the mouse off the screen on lower right part of a calender shows up and the lower left has a "help box" pop up. It has to be a screen resolution thing. That's all I know so far.
    Off to play and figure this out...

  4. #4
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    801
    Tried booting with no3d screen=1024x768 cheatcodes? It seems that it might be a problem connected not with starting X, but running it, so it may be LXDE/Compiz. The no3d cheat code disables Compiz, setting a low screen resolution for debugging could be a guarantee that nothing is placed outside the physical screen.

  5. #5
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    10
    Thanks. Knoppix 6.2 and 6.3 did not fully load on my old AMD Athlon 1000 HP computer (circa 2000 per BIOS). This solved it "no3d" and screen to 1024x768.
    Thanks Capricorny

  6. #6
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    35
    I'll try it too.

    My Desktop right mouse menu isn't accessible, so I check and be back .')

  7. #7
    I saw similar, didnt make it to desktop background, just blank grey screen, no mouse. It didnt like the secondary monitor that was connected as a video display. Disconnected
    the second monitor, reboot, worked fine. The second monitor would not work when plugged in after reboot.

  8. #8
    correction- secondary monitor worked after boot, connection and being turned on by function keys- not Knoppix fault

Similar Threads

  1. monitor displays nothing when starting knoppix
    By indiandude514 in forum General Support
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-20-2005, 01:37 PM
  2. new monitor displays boot process blurry and split.
    By robwelch100 in forum General Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-02-2005, 02:48 AM
  3. Dual displays
    By kenelder in forum General Support
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-12-2004, 06:42 PM
  4. Dual Displays
    By Zer0th in forum General Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-02-2004, 05:01 AM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-29-2004, 08:30 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •