Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Multi-monitor on a single integrated graphics card?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    5

    Multi-monitor on a single integrated graphics card?

    I'm working on setting up a system with a little mini-itx board. I need it to clone onto 2 screens, and this thing is encrusted with ports.. (svideo, dvi, hdmi, vga).. I assumed it would be easy.

    When I plug in anything to this machine, a basic xorg will spit video out onto vga, hdmi and dvi just fine, but only one at a time. There seems to be some kind of hierarchy where one output disables another.

    In the past, I've built this kind of thing with a custom written xorg.config but the systems always had multiple video cards. (one on board and one in a slot)

    Would on board video capable of multi-monitor support show up in lspci as multiple devices? Or should I be trying to build an xorg that has monitors and screens that share a device section?

    Here's my lspci:

    Code:
    00:00.0 Host bridge: nVidia Corporation Device 0a82 (rev b1)
    00:00.1 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation Device 0a88 (rev b1)
    00:03.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation Device 0aad (rev b2)
    00:03.1 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation Device 0aa4 (rev b1)
    00:03.2 SMBus: nVidia Corporation Device 0aa2 (rev b1)
    00:03.3 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation Device 0a89 (rev b1)
    00:03.5 Co-processor: nVidia Corporation Device 0aa3 (rev b1)
    00:04.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation Device 0aa5 (rev b1)
    00:04.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation Device 0aa6 (rev b1)
    00:06.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation Device 0aa7 (rev b1)
    00:06.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation Device 0aa9 (rev b1)
    00:08.0 Audio device: nVidia Corporation Device 0ac0 (rev b1)
    00:09.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation Device 0aab (rev b1)
    00:0a.0 Ethernet controller: nVidia Corporation MCP79 Ethernet (rev b1)
    00:0b.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation Device 0ab4 (rev b1)
    00:0c.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation Device 0ac4 (rev b1)
    00:10.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation Device 0aa0 (rev b1)
    00:15.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation Device 0ac6 (rev b1)
    00:16.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation Device 0ac7 (rev b1)
    00:17.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation Device 0ac7 (rev b1)
    00:18.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation Device 0ac7 (rev b1)
    03:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation Device 087d (rev b1)
    As you can see, I'm pretty sure the only thing I've got is the last line.

    The other symptom I've got is that xrandr -q does nothing but "Can't open display"

    any ideas?

  2. #2
    Moderator Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Asheville, NC, USA
    Posts
    528
    I suggest you look up the board and chipset; it sounds like there's only one "actual" video (e.g. video memory space) with multiple configurations - one at a time. Hopefully someone with more in-depth knowledge will enlighten us all.

    Hope that helps!
    Krishna

  3. #3
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    423
    Quote Originally Posted by snarkyFish View Post

    The other symptom I've got is that xrandr -q does nothing but "Can't open display"

    any ideas?
    Where did you issue the command from ? If you have X Windows running, and you open up a lxterminal ( or equivalent ), it should work. On my computer,

    Code:
                   $ echo $DISPLAY
                     :0
    What's yours ?

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    5
    The system's at home and I'm at work so I can't hit it right now, but I ran it from .. whatever ctrl-F1 is called.. that terminal.
    If I remember right, I did it both while X was running and while it wasn't, and got the same results.

    I'll try echoing $DISPLAY with x running next and see what I get. Thanks!

  5. #5
    Moderator Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Asheville, NC, USA
    Posts
    528
    Quote Originally Posted by snarkyFish View Post
    The system's at home and I'm at work so I can't hit it right now, but I ran it from .. whatever ctrl-F1 is called.. that terminal.
    If I remember right, I did it both while X was running and while it wasn't, and got the same results.

    I'll try echoing $DISPLAY with x running next and see what I get. Thanks!
    That terminal is actually not within X, AFAIK. You need to go to the GUI desktop and open LXterminal, (or even a root terminal from the Accessories menu) in order to get that command to work. Works fine for me, BTW.

    Cheers!
    Krishna
    p.s. I've not had any luck getting to those "other" terminals since switching to version 6+. Something more than booting up must be needed for the key-binding to "take", at least on the systems I've tried it on. Maybe someone with more knowledge will take pity on me and address this, as I have asked before and got no joy.
    Last edited by krishna.murphy; 07-12-2010 at 07:01 PM. Reason: Clarity

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    5
    Ok, I fired up a fresh copy of knoppix 6.2.1 on this box, opened up a terminal inside x and got xrandr -q to work.. (thanks! /forehead slap)

    So, with both VGA and Hdmi monitors plugged in, (and it only displaying a signal on vga) this is what i've got:

    Code:
    Screen 0: minimum 1024 x 768, current 1024 x 768, maximum 1024 x 768
    default connected 1024x768+0+0 0mm x 0mm
       1024x768       76.0*
    Should I see both monitors there, even though one isn't correctly configged in xorg.conf? (I have yet to find a configuration that works at all)

    After that, I pulled the vga, rebooted, the system came up displaying over the hdmi port on that monitor, and xrandr -q reported the exact same thing above.


    So, questions:

    Is there a way to get knoppix to correctly identify these monitors native resolutions and such? or do I have to pull the specs on them and build that stuff myself?

    If xrandr only ever sees Screen 0, and my lspci above only displays one video card, am I screwed for getting a dual monitor setup on this system short of installing another video card? This hardware's all brand new.. I can't believe it won't do dual monitors.

    I've tried everything, now I'm mostly looking for whether it's possible or not, so i can send this hardware back and move on if I have to.

    Thanks!

  7. #7
    Moderator Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Asheville, NC, USA
    Posts
    528
    I'd fall back on looking up the board/chipset specs - the mfgr. should say what it'll do. Continuing to poke around and "see what you can do" strikes me as less than promising.

    Cheers!
    Krishna

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    5
    Man, that's pretty much what I needed to do. I went back to the drawing board.. dug up the manual on the board /chipset.. found some linux drivers, did some installing / updating, and got it recognizing all of its wonderful nvidia capabilities..

    Then I dug up an nvidia manual for configuring TwinView in xorg, and it worked surprisingly easily. I was just getting hung up on failing updates and bad drivers before.

    So, to answer my own questions for future googlers: Yes one 'device' in xorg can totally drive multiple monitors, but you need the right nvidia driver and nvidia's twinview config to make it happen. Also, you should RTFM early and often... ; )

    Thanks for the help everyone!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


***NEW*** BCM RX67Q Gaming Motherboard | Intel Q67 2nd/3rd Gen. | LGA1155 | DDR3 picture

***NEW*** BCM RX67Q Gaming Motherboard | Intel Q67 2nd/3rd Gen. | LGA1155 | DDR3

$29.77



ASUS H110M-R Motherboard Intel 6th/7th Gen LGA1151 DDR4 Micro-ATX i/o shield picture

ASUS H110M-R Motherboard Intel 6th/7th Gen LGA1151 DDR4 Micro-ATX i/o shield

$42.00



GIGABYTE B560M DS3H AC LGA1200 Intel B560 SATA 6Gb/s Micro ATX Intel Motherboard picture

GIGABYTE B560M DS3H AC LGA1200 Intel B560 SATA 6Gb/s Micro ATX Intel Motherboard

$64.99



Micro ATX Desktop Motherboard ASUS H110M-C LGA 1151 picture

Micro ATX Desktop Motherboard ASUS H110M-C LGA 1151

$31.95



MSI B450M PRO-VDH MAX AM4 AMD B450 USB3.2 Micro-ATX Motherboard picture

MSI B450M PRO-VDH MAX AM4 AMD B450 USB3.2 Micro-ATX Motherboard

$67.99



Gigabyte AMD B550 UD AC Gaming Motherboard - AMD B550 Chipset - AM4 Socket - AMD picture

Gigabyte AMD B550 UD AC Gaming Motherboard - AMD B550 Chipset - AM4 Socket - AMD

$89.99



Asus Prime B250M-C Motherboard Supports DDR4 Intel 7th Gen picture

Asus Prime B250M-C Motherboard Supports DDR4 Intel 7th Gen

$39.99



Asrock Z390 Phantom Gaming 4S/AC Wifi 8th/9th Gen Intel 1151 Motherboard Bulk picture

Asrock Z390 Phantom Gaming 4S/AC Wifi 8th/9th Gen Intel 1151 Motherboard Bulk

$48.52



GIGABYTE MB10-Datto Motherboard Xeon D-1521- SR2DF 2.40 GHz- Open Box picture

GIGABYTE MB10-Datto Motherboard Xeon D-1521- SR2DF 2.40 GHz- Open Box

$112.00



BTC-S37 Mining Motherboard Kit /w SSD & Ram Preinstalled picture

BTC-S37 Mining Motherboard Kit /w SSD & Ram Preinstalled

$59.99