Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 42

Thread: Text whizzing by too fast

  1. #21
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Columbia, Maryland USA
    Posts
    1,631
    @klaus2008

    If I understand correctly, the /etc/init.d/knoppix-startx file
    has a single long line to which you merely add material via a tee command.

    I dont look for every instance of 'startx', do I?

    And that I should save a copy of the init.d file before so editing.

    Have I got that right?
    Last edited by utu; 07-31-2010 at 12:13 AM.

  2. #22
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    512
    @utu:

    The file /etc/init.d/knoppix-startx is a file with many lines of code. But there is only one long line with startx being issued.
    Code:
    su -l -c "export STARTUP=$STARTUP ; exec /usr/bin/startx -- vt5 -dpi "$DPI" -br -noreset -nolisten tcp" "$USER" </dev/tty5 >/dev/tty5 2>&1 ; RC="$?"
    I changed this line so that the output goes into a log file and to virtual terminal #6 instead of vt #5 since vt #5 is invisible while the Xserver is running.
    Code:
    su -l -c "export STARTUP=$STARTUP ; exec /usr/bin/startx -- vt5 -dpi "$DPI" -br -noreset -nolisten tcp" "$USER" </dev/tty5 2>&1 | /usr/bin/tee -a /var/log/knoppix-startx-dev-tty5.log >/dev/tty6 ; RC="$?"
    I think it is always a good idea to make a backup copy of the file before altering it.

  3. #23
    Moderator Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Asheville, NC, USA
    Posts
    528
    Quote Originally Posted by klaus2008 View Post
    @utu:

    The file /etc/init.d/knoppix-startx is a file with many lines of code. But there is only one long line with startx being issued.
    Code:
    su -l -c "export STARTUP=$STARTUP ; exec /usr/bin/startx -- vt5 -dpi "$DPI" -br -noreset -nolisten tcp" "$USER" </dev/tty5 >/dev/tty5 2>&1 ; RC="$?"
    I changed this line so that the output goes into a log file and to virtual terminal #6 instead of vt #5 since vt #5 is invisible while the Xserver is running.
    Code:
    su -l -c "export STARTUP=$STARTUP ; exec /usr/bin/startx -- vt5 -dpi "$DPI" -br -noreset -nolisten tcp" "$USER" </dev/tty5 2>&1 | /usr/bin/tee -a /var/log/knoppix-startx-dev-tty5.log >/dev/tty6 ; RC="$?"
    I think it is always a good idea to make a backup copy of the file before altering it.
    One can also make a backup of knoppix-data.XXX to be certain that whatever changes are made can be entirely overridden in case a problem develops unexpectedly. Sometimes things just start acting goofy without much in the way of clues about what is needed to fix it.

    Cheers!
    Krishna

  4. #24
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Columbia, Maryland USA
    Posts
    1,631
    @klauss2008:

    Houston, we have a problem.

    This line has a syntax error, according to Knoppix, cut-and-pasted from my new /etc/init.d/knoppix-startx:

    su -l -c "export STARTUP=$STARTUP ; exec /usr/bin/startx -- vt5 -dpi "$DPI" -br -noreset -nolisten tcp" "$USER" </dev/tty5 2>&1 | /usr/bin/tee -a /var/log/knoppix-startx-dev-tty5.log >/dev/tty6 ; RC="$?"

    This is the line you suggested, cut-and-pasted from Knoppix forum:

    su -l -c "export STARTUP=$STARTUP ; exec /usr/bin/startx -- vt5 -dpi "$DPI" -br -noreset -nolisten tcp" "$USER" </dev/tty5 2>&1 | /usr/bin/tee -a /var/log/knoppix-startx-dev-tty5.log >/dev/tty6 ; RC="$?"

  5. #25
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Columbia, Maryland USA
    Posts
    1,631
    @Klauss2008:

    The original Knoppix line ends with:

    "$USER" </dev/tty5 >/dev/tty5 2>&1 ; RC="$?"

    Should we now have at this point:

    "$USER" </dev/tty5 >/dev/tty5 2>&1; | /usr/bin/tee...

  6. #26
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    512

    I/O Redirection

    @utu:

    Code:
    exec /usr/bin/startx -- vt5 -dpi "$DPI" -br -noreset -nolisten tcp </dev/tty5 >/dev/tty5 2>&1
    The intention is to direct input from /dev/tty5 to the program /usr/bin/startx and redirect the output from stdout and stderr to /dev/tty5. But the output is invisible while the Xserver is running.
    Code:
    exec /usr/bin/startx -- vt5 -dpi "$DPI" -br -noreset -nolisten tcp </dev/tty5 2>&1 | /usr/bin/tee -a /var/log/knoppix-startx-dev-tty5.log >/dev/tty6 ; RC="$?"
    The aim is to redirect /usr/bin/startx's output (stdout plus stderr) to /usr/bin/tee via a pipe. The program /usr/bin/tee appends its input to the file /var/log/knoppix-startx-dev-tty5.log or creates that file if it does not exist. In addition the tee program's output is redirected to /dev/tty6.

    If you do not need the output on a terminal then you could try
    Code:
    su -l -c "export STARTUP=$STARTUP ; exec /usr/bin/startx -- vt5 -dpi "$DPI" -br -noreset -nolisten tcp" "$USER" </dev/tty5 >>/var/log/knoppix-startx-dev-tty5.log 2>&1 ; RC="$?"
    Maybe you are interested in reading more about I/O Redirection in the Advanced Bash-Scripting Guide: http://tldp.org/LDP/abs/html/io-redirection.html
    There is also a simple example of using a pipe in the BASH Programming - Introduction HOW-TO http://tldp.org/HOWTO/Bash-Prog-Intro-HOWTO-4.html

    If you write a semicolon ; then the Bash thinks that you want to mark the end of a command. In the example
    Code:
    </dev/tty5 >/dev/tty5 2>&1; | /usr/bin/tee
    is no program that delivers input to the pipe. Thus you should get an error message.

  7. #27
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Columbia, Maryland USA
    Posts
    1,631
    @klauss2008

    I appreciate your tutelage, but I'd like to stick with your first suggestion.
    As near as I can tell, I have exactly input your first proposed command.
    If I have, there is a syntax error in it.
    If I haven't then I can't see the difference.

    Perhaps you can look more closely at my post #24, forget my post #25, and
    see what needs to be done.
    I think this might be the simplest way to proceed at this point.
    I grasp your idea, but I'd like to defer 'understanding' the syntax to later.

    So, is there a difference in the two lines I posted in #24?

    Thanks for your patience.

  8. #28
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    512
    @utu:

    I do not see the difference between the two lines in your post #24. I put the old and the new knoppix-startx in a zip file so that you can compare them yourself. I do not get any syntax error messages and the log file is created as expected.
    knoppix-startx.zip

  9. #29
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    423
    Quote Originally Posted by utu View Post
    As near as I can tell, I have exactly input your first proposed command.
    If I have, there is a syntax error in it.
    If I haven't then I can't see the difference.
    How do you know that there is a syntax error ? Did you arrive at the conclusion based on the log file produced ? But 'tee' command appends to the log, so it could be the previous 'startx' which produced the syntax error. I suggest you remove the '-a' in the 'tee' command and test it again. This will make sure you are not seeing the history.

  10. #30
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Columbia, Maryland USA
    Posts
    1,631
    @kl522 & klauss2008

    Doing as root...
    Having revised /knoppix-startx, either with or without -a in the tee command,
    when I ctl-alt-backspace, I get the syntax error, and am locked out of X for 5 min.
    Reboot gives the same syntax & lock-out situation

    I get back here by re-writing knoppix-startx from knoppix-startx.orig
    which I saved before we began tinkering with X itself.

    I get the idea, however, this is not actually the file I want per se.
    This file probably duplicates only a segment of the whole on-screen experience
    that originally got my curiosity.

    I can probably figure out the syntax problem on my own, eventually, I just thought
    it might be obvious to some of the old hands at this.

    If I can't figure this problem out in a short while, I think I need to research the init process
    and get to understand it better. I've always felt like a daredevil when tinkering with
    the guts of the X machinery up close.

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


For Lenovo ideapad Flex 5 15IIL05 15ITL05 LCD Touch Screen Bezel 5D10S39643 New picture

For Lenovo ideapad Flex 5 15IIL05 15ITL05 LCD Touch Screen Bezel 5D10S39643 New

$138.95



For Lenovo IdeaPad 3 15IIL05 15IML05 15ADA05 15ARE05 Palmrest Keyboard Touchpad picture

For Lenovo IdeaPad 3 15IIL05 15IML05 15ADA05 15ARE05 Palmrest Keyboard Touchpad

$59.25



For Lenovo ideaPad Flex 5-14IIL05 5-14ARE 5-14ITL05 Palmrest Keyboard 5CB0Y85490 picture

For Lenovo ideaPad Flex 5-14IIL05 5-14ARE 5-14ITL05 Palmrest Keyboard 5CB0Y85490

$73.79



Lenovo ThinkPad T480 14

Lenovo ThinkPad T480 14" Touchscreen Laptop i5 256GB NVMe 16GB RAM Win 11 Pro

$249.00



Lenovo 100e Chromebook Laptop 2nd Gen | 11.6

Lenovo 100e Chromebook Laptop 2nd Gen | 11.6" HD | MTK 1.7GHz | 4GB RAM | 32GB

$34.99



Lenovo - LOQ 15.6

Lenovo - LOQ 15.6" Gaming Laptop FHD - Intel Core i5-13420H with 8GB Memory -...

$629.99



Lenovo Ideapad 1i 15.6

Lenovo Ideapad 1i 15.6" FHD Notebook Intel Core i5-1235U 8GB RAM 256GB SSD

$349.99



Lenovo ThinkPad X1 Nano 13

Lenovo ThinkPad X1 Nano 13" Touchscreen 2K i7-1180G7 16GB/256GB Win 10 Pro

$535.00



Lenovo ThinkPad 14

Lenovo ThinkPad 14" Laptop Computer Core i7 16GB RAM 256GB SSD Windows 10 Pro

$229.99



Lenovo ThinkBook 13s-IML 13.3

Lenovo ThinkBook 13s-IML 13.3" Laptop Core i5 10th Gen 16GB 256GB SSD Windows 11

$289.99