Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 42

Thread: Text whizzing by too fast

  1. #21
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Columbia, Maryland USA
    Posts
    1,631
    @klaus2008

    If I understand correctly, the /etc/init.d/knoppix-startx file
    has a single long line to which you merely add material via a tee command.

    I dont look for every instance of 'startx', do I?

    And that I should save a copy of the init.d file before so editing.

    Have I got that right?
    Last edited by utu; 07-31-2010 at 12:13 AM.

  2. #22
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    512
    @utu:

    The file /etc/init.d/knoppix-startx is a file with many lines of code. But there is only one long line with startx being issued.
    Code:
    su -l -c "export STARTUP=$STARTUP ; exec /usr/bin/startx -- vt5 -dpi "$DPI" -br -noreset -nolisten tcp" "$USER" </dev/tty5 >/dev/tty5 2>&1 ; RC="$?"
    I changed this line so that the output goes into a log file and to virtual terminal #6 instead of vt #5 since vt #5 is invisible while the Xserver is running.
    Code:
    su -l -c "export STARTUP=$STARTUP ; exec /usr/bin/startx -- vt5 -dpi "$DPI" -br -noreset -nolisten tcp" "$USER" </dev/tty5 2>&1 | /usr/bin/tee -a /var/log/knoppix-startx-dev-tty5.log >/dev/tty6 ; RC="$?"
    I think it is always a good idea to make a backup copy of the file before altering it.

  3. #23
    Moderator Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Asheville, NC, USA
    Posts
    528
    Quote Originally Posted by klaus2008 View Post
    @utu:

    The file /etc/init.d/knoppix-startx is a file with many lines of code. But there is only one long line with startx being issued.
    Code:
    su -l -c "export STARTUP=$STARTUP ; exec /usr/bin/startx -- vt5 -dpi "$DPI" -br -noreset -nolisten tcp" "$USER" </dev/tty5 >/dev/tty5 2>&1 ; RC="$?"
    I changed this line so that the output goes into a log file and to virtual terminal #6 instead of vt #5 since vt #5 is invisible while the Xserver is running.
    Code:
    su -l -c "export STARTUP=$STARTUP ; exec /usr/bin/startx -- vt5 -dpi "$DPI" -br -noreset -nolisten tcp" "$USER" </dev/tty5 2>&1 | /usr/bin/tee -a /var/log/knoppix-startx-dev-tty5.log >/dev/tty6 ; RC="$?"
    I think it is always a good idea to make a backup copy of the file before altering it.
    One can also make a backup of knoppix-data.XXX to be certain that whatever changes are made can be entirely overridden in case a problem develops unexpectedly. Sometimes things just start acting goofy without much in the way of clues about what is needed to fix it.

    Cheers!
    Krishna

  4. #24
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Columbia, Maryland USA
    Posts
    1,631
    @klauss2008:

    Houston, we have a problem.

    This line has a syntax error, according to Knoppix, cut-and-pasted from my new /etc/init.d/knoppix-startx:

    su -l -c "export STARTUP=$STARTUP ; exec /usr/bin/startx -- vt5 -dpi "$DPI" -br -noreset -nolisten tcp" "$USER" </dev/tty5 2>&1 | /usr/bin/tee -a /var/log/knoppix-startx-dev-tty5.log >/dev/tty6 ; RC="$?"

    This is the line you suggested, cut-and-pasted from Knoppix forum:

    su -l -c "export STARTUP=$STARTUP ; exec /usr/bin/startx -- vt5 -dpi "$DPI" -br -noreset -nolisten tcp" "$USER" </dev/tty5 2>&1 | /usr/bin/tee -a /var/log/knoppix-startx-dev-tty5.log >/dev/tty6 ; RC="$?"

  5. #25
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Columbia, Maryland USA
    Posts
    1,631
    @Klauss2008:

    The original Knoppix line ends with:

    "$USER" </dev/tty5 >/dev/tty5 2>&1 ; RC="$?"

    Should we now have at this point:

    "$USER" </dev/tty5 >/dev/tty5 2>&1; | /usr/bin/tee...

  6. #26
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    512

    I/O Redirection

    @utu:

    Code:
    exec /usr/bin/startx -- vt5 -dpi "$DPI" -br -noreset -nolisten tcp </dev/tty5 >/dev/tty5 2>&1
    The intention is to direct input from /dev/tty5 to the program /usr/bin/startx and redirect the output from stdout and stderr to /dev/tty5. But the output is invisible while the Xserver is running.
    Code:
    exec /usr/bin/startx -- vt5 -dpi "$DPI" -br -noreset -nolisten tcp </dev/tty5 2>&1 | /usr/bin/tee -a /var/log/knoppix-startx-dev-tty5.log >/dev/tty6 ; RC="$?"
    The aim is to redirect /usr/bin/startx's output (stdout plus stderr) to /usr/bin/tee via a pipe. The program /usr/bin/tee appends its input to the file /var/log/knoppix-startx-dev-tty5.log or creates that file if it does not exist. In addition the tee program's output is redirected to /dev/tty6.

    If you do not need the output on a terminal then you could try
    Code:
    su -l -c "export STARTUP=$STARTUP ; exec /usr/bin/startx -- vt5 -dpi "$DPI" -br -noreset -nolisten tcp" "$USER" </dev/tty5 >>/var/log/knoppix-startx-dev-tty5.log 2>&1 ; RC="$?"
    Maybe you are interested in reading more about I/O Redirection in the Advanced Bash-Scripting Guide: http://tldp.org/LDP/abs/html/io-redirection.html
    There is also a simple example of using a pipe in the BASH Programming - Introduction HOW-TO http://tldp.org/HOWTO/Bash-Prog-Intro-HOWTO-4.html

    If you write a semicolon ; then the Bash thinks that you want to mark the end of a command. In the example
    Code:
    </dev/tty5 >/dev/tty5 2>&1; | /usr/bin/tee
    is no program that delivers input to the pipe. Thus you should get an error message.

  7. #27
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Columbia, Maryland USA
    Posts
    1,631
    @klauss2008

    I appreciate your tutelage, but I'd like to stick with your first suggestion.
    As near as I can tell, I have exactly input your first proposed command.
    If I have, there is a syntax error in it.
    If I haven't then I can't see the difference.

    Perhaps you can look more closely at my post #24, forget my post #25, and
    see what needs to be done.
    I think this might be the simplest way to proceed at this point.
    I grasp your idea, but I'd like to defer 'understanding' the syntax to later.

    So, is there a difference in the two lines I posted in #24?

    Thanks for your patience.

  8. #28
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    512
    @utu:

    I do not see the difference between the two lines in your post #24. I put the old and the new knoppix-startx in a zip file so that you can compare them yourself. I do not get any syntax error messages and the log file is created as expected.
    knoppix-startx.zip

  9. #29
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    423
    Quote Originally Posted by utu View Post
    As near as I can tell, I have exactly input your first proposed command.
    If I have, there is a syntax error in it.
    If I haven't then I can't see the difference.
    How do you know that there is a syntax error ? Did you arrive at the conclusion based on the log file produced ? But 'tee' command appends to the log, so it could be the previous 'startx' which produced the syntax error. I suggest you remove the '-a' in the 'tee' command and test it again. This will make sure you are not seeing the history.

  10. #30
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Columbia, Maryland USA
    Posts
    1,631
    @kl522 & klauss2008

    Doing as root...
    Having revised /knoppix-startx, either with or without -a in the tee command,
    when I ctl-alt-backspace, I get the syntax error, and am locked out of X for 5 min.
    Reboot gives the same syntax & lock-out situation

    I get back here by re-writing knoppix-startx from knoppix-startx.orig
    which I saved before we began tinkering with X itself.

    I get the idea, however, this is not actually the file I want per se.
    This file probably duplicates only a segment of the whole on-screen experience
    that originally got my curiosity.

    I can probably figure out the syntax problem on my own, eventually, I just thought
    it might be obvious to some of the old hands at this.

    If I can't figure this problem out in a short while, I think I need to research the init process
    and get to understand it better. I've always felt like a daredevil when tinkering with
    the guts of the X machinery up close.

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Fanxiang SSD 4TB 2TB 1TB PS5 SSD M.2 NVME SSD 7300MBS PCIe 4.0 Solid State Drive picture

Fanxiang SSD 4TB 2TB 1TB PS5 SSD M.2 NVME SSD 7300MBS PCIe 4.0 Solid State Drive

$246.99



Fanxiang 4TB 2TB 1TB SSD 550MB/s 2.5'' SATA III Internal Solid State Drive lot picture

Fanxiang 4TB 2TB 1TB SSD 550MB/s 2.5'' SATA III Internal Solid State Drive lot

$188.99



4tb Ssd 870evo Internal Solid State Drive Hard Disk 2.5 Inch Sata SSD For Laptop picture

4tb Ssd 870evo Internal Solid State Drive Hard Disk 2.5 Inch Sata SSD For Laptop

$50.15



Fanxiang SSD 4TB 2TB 1TB 512GB SATA SSD 2.5'' III Internal Solid State Drive lot picture

Fanxiang SSD 4TB 2TB 1TB 512GB SATA SSD 2.5'' III Internal Solid State Drive lot

$108.29



Patriot P210 128GB 256GB 512GB 1TB 2TB 2.5

Patriot P210 128GB 256GB 512GB 1TB 2TB 2.5" SATA 3 6GB/s Internal SSD PC/MAC Lot

$15.50



WD BLUE 3D NAND 250GB 2.5

WD BLUE 3D NAND 250GB 2.5" SATA Laptop SSD Solid State Tested,Wiped -WDS250G2B0A

$16.00



Patriot P300 128G 256GB 512GB 1TB 2TB M.2 2280 PCIe Gen3x4 NVMe Internal SSD Lot picture

Patriot P300 128G 256GB 512GB 1TB 2TB M.2 2280 PCIe Gen3x4 NVMe Internal SSD Lot

$16.99



SSD 512GB 1/2/4TB 870 EVO SATA III SSD 2.5'' Solid State Drive Upgrade PC Laptop picture

SSD 512GB 1/2/4TB 870 EVO SATA III SSD 2.5'' Solid State Drive Upgrade PC Laptop

$39.99



Fanxiang M.2 SATA SSD 2TB 1TB 512GB 256GB SSD Internal M2 Solid State Drive Lot picture

Fanxiang M.2 SATA SSD 2TB 1TB 512GB 256GB SSD Internal M2 Solid State Drive Lot

$109.99



Fanxiang SSD 512GB 1TB 2TB 4TB 2.5'' SSD SATA III Internal Solid State Drive lot picture

Fanxiang SSD 512GB 1TB 2TB 4TB 2.5'' SSD SATA III Internal Solid State Drive lot

$107.99