Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: How to start Knoppix under dos using grub4dos

  1. #1
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    17

    How to start Knoppix under dos using grub4dos

    Hello everybody,

    I'm trying to boot Knoppix under dos with grub4dos. The first thing I've done has been to unpack the iso image inside c:\menu\linux\. This is the situation inside the folder c:\menu\linux :

    c:\menu\linux\

    menu.lst

    Title Knoppix
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /menu/linux/knoppix/boot/isolinux/linux
    initrd /menu/linux/knoppix/boot/isolinux/minirt.gz

    grub.exe

    c:\menu\linux\knoppix\boot\isolinux :

    isolinux.cfg

    DEFAULT knoppix
    APPEND ramdisk_size=100000 2 toram lang=it vt.default_utf8=0 apm=power-off vga=0x311 initrd=minirt.gz nomce quiet loglevel=0 tz=localtime
    TIMEOUT 50
    # TOTALTIMEOUT 20
    # KBDMAP german.kbd
    PROMPT 1
    F1 boot.msg
    F2 f2
    F3 f3
    DISPLAY boot.msg
    LABEL knoppix
    KERNEL linux
    APPEND ramdisk_size=100000 2 toram lang=it vt.default_utf8=0 apm=power-off vga=791 initrd=minirt.gz nomce quiet loglevel=0 tz=localtime

    it is able to make the boot,but it starts immediately,ignoring the boot menu and the settings written inside isolinux.cfg. Why ? Thanks.
    Last edited by Marietto; 08-05-2010 at 06:34 PM.

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    512
    isolinux and grub4dos are different bootloaders. Both of them have got individual configuration files. grub4dos reads menu.lst whereas isolinux makes use of isolinux.cfg. Since you are using grub4dos you have to write all settings in menu.lst. isolinux.cfg won't be read at all.

    I suggest that you append the cheatcodes to the line specifying your linux kernel.
    Code:
    kernel /menu/linux/knoppix/boot/isolinux/linux ramdisk_size=100000 2 toram lang=it vt.default_utf8=0 apm=power-off vga=791 nomce quiet loglevel=0 tz=localtime

  3. #3
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    17
    and then I've added ----> initrd /menu/linux/knoppix/boot/isolinux/minirt.gz <---- and it worked,thanks klaus2008.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


NEW Sealed Cisco SFP-10G-LR 10GBASE-LR SFP+ 1310nm 10km *US Shipping* picture

NEW Sealed Cisco SFP-10G-LR 10GBASE-LR SFP+ 1310nm 10km *US Shipping*

$18.00



New Precision DWDM SFP+ 10G 80km Tunable Transceiver 50GHz C-Temp DWDM-SFP10G-C picture

New Precision DWDM SFP+ 10G 80km Tunable Transceiver 50GHz C-Temp DWDM-SFP10G-C

$90.00



New HP HPE Aruba J4858D 1G SFP LC SX 850nm  500m MMF XCVR Transceiver Module picture

New HP HPE Aruba J4858D 1G SFP LC SX 850nm 500m MMF XCVR Transceiver Module

$28.49



New Cisco SFP-25G-SR-S 25G SFP28 25GBASE-SR 850nm 300m LC MMF Transceiver Module picture

New Cisco SFP-25G-SR-S 25G SFP28 25GBASE-SR 850nm 300m LC MMF Transceiver Module

$51.30



GENUINE Cisco SFP-10G-SR V03 SFP+ GBIC Transceiver Module 10-2415-03 picture

GENUINE Cisco SFP-10G-SR V03 SFP+ GBIC Transceiver Module 10-2415-03

$6.80



🔥🔥🔥 CISCO SFP-10G-SR V03 10-2415-03 850nm 10GBASE-SR SFP+ Multi Module 🔥🔥🔥 picture

🔥🔥🔥 CISCO SFP-10G-SR V03 10-2415-03 850nm 10GBASE-SR SFP+ Multi Module 🔥🔥🔥

$6.80



NEW FS SFP-10G-T 10GBASE T SFP+ 30M Transceiver Module (Lot of 1 Unit) picture

NEW FS SFP-10G-T 10GBASE T SFP+ 30M Transceiver Module (Lot of 1 Unit)

$39.95



For Cisco SFP-10G-T, Ubiquiti UF-RJ45-10G Transceiver, SFP+ to RJ45 10GBase-T picture

For Cisco SFP-10G-T, Ubiquiti UF-RJ45-10G Transceiver, SFP+ to RJ45 10GBase-T

$45.07



New Cisco GLC-TE 1G SFP Copper RJ45 100m 1000BASE-T Transceiver Module picture

New Cisco GLC-TE 1G SFP Copper RJ45 100m 1000BASE-T Transceiver Module

$22.32



Cisco Nexus 48-Port 10G SFP+ Switch N9K-93128TX w/ 9K-M12PQ 12-Port 40G QSFP picture

Cisco Nexus 48-Port 10G SFP+ Switch N9K-93128TX w/ 9K-M12PQ 12-Port 40G QSFP

$112.49