Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: How to start Knoppix under dos using grub4dos

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    17

    How to start Knoppix under dos using grub4dos

    Hello everybody,

    I'm trying to boot Knoppix under dos with grub4dos. The first thing I've done has been to unpack the iso image inside c:\menu\linux\. This is the situation inside the folder c:\menu\linux :

    c:\menu\linux\

    menu.lst

    Title Knoppix
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /menu/linux/knoppix/boot/isolinux/linux
    initrd /menu/linux/knoppix/boot/isolinux/minirt.gz

    grub.exe

    c:\menu\linux\knoppix\boot\isolinux :

    isolinux.cfg

    DEFAULT knoppix
    APPEND ramdisk_size=100000 2 toram lang=it vt.default_utf8=0 apm=power-off vga=0x311 initrd=minirt.gz nomce quiet loglevel=0 tz=localtime
    TIMEOUT 50
    # TOTALTIMEOUT 20
    # KBDMAP german.kbd
    PROMPT 1
    F1 boot.msg
    F2 f2
    F3 f3
    DISPLAY boot.msg
    LABEL knoppix
    KERNEL linux
    APPEND ramdisk_size=100000 2 toram lang=it vt.default_utf8=0 apm=power-off vga=791 initrd=minirt.gz nomce quiet loglevel=0 tz=localtime

    it is able to make the boot,but it starts immediately,ignoring the boot menu and the settings written inside isolinux.cfg. Why ? Thanks.
    Last edited by Marietto; 08-05-2010 at 06:34 PM.

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    512
    isolinux and grub4dos are different bootloaders. Both of them have got individual configuration files. grub4dos reads menu.lst whereas isolinux makes use of isolinux.cfg. Since you are using grub4dos you have to write all settings in menu.lst. isolinux.cfg won't be read at all.

    I suggest that you append the cheatcodes to the line specifying your linux kernel.
    Code:
    kernel /menu/linux/knoppix/boot/isolinux/linux ramdisk_size=100000 2 toram lang=it vt.default_utf8=0 apm=power-off vga=791 nomce quiet loglevel=0 tz=localtime

  3. #3
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    17
    and then I've added ----> initrd /menu/linux/knoppix/boot/isolinux/minirt.gz <---- and it worked,thanks klaus2008.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


DELL PowerEdge R730XD Server 2x E5-2680v3 2.5GHz =24 Cores 32GB H730 4xRJ45 picture

DELL PowerEdge R730XD Server 2x E5-2680v3 2.5GHz =24 Cores 32GB H730 4xRJ45

$265.00



DELL PowerEdge R630 8SFF Server 2x E5-2680v4 2.4GHz =28 Cores 128GB H730 4xRJ45 picture

DELL PowerEdge R630 8SFF Server 2x E5-2680v4 2.4GHz =28 Cores 128GB H730 4xRJ45

$394.00



Dell PowerEdge R630 Server 2x E5-2680 V4 = 28 Cores S130 32GB RAM NEW 480GB SSD picture

Dell PowerEdge R630 Server 2x E5-2680 V4 = 28 Cores S130 32GB RAM NEW 480GB SSD

$256.99



Dell Poweredge R630 2x Xeon E5-2680 v4 2.4ghz 28-Cores / 128gb / H330 / 2x 1TB picture

Dell Poweredge R630 2x Xeon E5-2680 v4 2.4ghz 28-Cores / 128gb / H330 / 2x 1TB

$334.99



Dell PowerEdge R630 Server 2x E5-2640v3 2.60Ghz 16-Core 64GB H330 picture

Dell PowerEdge R630 Server 2x E5-2640v3 2.60Ghz 16-Core 64GB H330

$182.65



HP ProLiant DL360 G9 Server 2x E5-2690v3 2.60Ghz 24-Core 256GB P440ar picture

HP ProLiant DL360 G9 Server 2x E5-2690v3 2.60Ghz 24-Core 256GB P440ar

$302.90



Dell PowerEdge T430 Server w/ Intel Xeon E5-2650 V4 & 1100W PSU (2X) - NO RAM picture

Dell PowerEdge T430 Server w/ Intel Xeon E5-2650 V4 & 1100W PSU (2X) - NO RAM

$314.99



Cisco UCS C240 M4 2U Server w/ 2x E5-2680v4, NO RAM picture

Cisco UCS C240 M4 2U Server w/ 2x E5-2680v4, NO RAM

$39.99



1U BareMetal pfsense opnsense Router Firewall DNS Server 6x 10GB Ethernet Ports picture

1U BareMetal pfsense opnsense Router Firewall DNS Server 6x 10GB Ethernet Ports

$149.00



Dell PowerEdge R815 Server 4x AMD Opteron 16-Core 128GB RAM 0HD 6x 2.5

Dell PowerEdge R815 Server 4x AMD Opteron 16-Core 128GB RAM 0HD 6x 2.5" Bays

$184.80