Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 13 of 13

Thread: creating the iso image...

  1. #11
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    423
    If you are running this on a KNOPPIX system, I would like to believe that you will have these :-
    Code:
    $ ls -al /dev/cloop*
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root      6 2010-08-30 23:14 /dev/cloop -> cloop0
    brw-rw---- 1 root disk 240, 0 2010-08-30 23:14 /dev/cloop0
    brw-rw---- 1 root disk 240, 1 2010-08-30 23:14 /dev/cloop1
    brw-rw---- 1 root disk 240, 2 2010-08-30 23:14 /dev/cloop2
    brw-rw---- 1 root disk 240, 3 2010-08-30 23:14 /dev/cloop3
    brw-rw---- 1 root disk 240, 4 2010-08-30 23:14 /dev/cloop4
    brw-rw---- 1 root disk 240, 5 2010-08-30 23:14 /dev/cloop5
    brw-rw---- 1 root disk 240, 6 2010-08-30 23:14 /dev/cloop6
    brw-rw---- 1 root disk 240, 7 2010-08-30 23:14 /dev/cloop7
    For whatever reasons if you don't have them, then you manually create them :-

    # mknod /dev/cloop1 b 240 1

    You shouldn't be using /dev/cloop or /dev/cloop0 because that's already been used by KNOPPIX.

    Yes, if the image is good, you shouldn't get any errors when you loop mount your new compressed image. But I still would like to believe that chances of a bad burn is higher. You should do a 'knoppix testcd'.

    Cheers

  2. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    8
    kl522, I appreciate your help with this. I get the same results you show with the ls command. My point was I know cloop1 is there but for whatever reason I get errors on the ioctl so I was checking if it was already being used. The first unused cloop is cloop1, as I'm sure you suspected, but it's not working.

    I tried the bootfrom=<iso path> but that just booted directly from the knoppix live cd for some reason and didn't verify the iso.

    booting with testcd gives me the following:

    All files OK.

    >>> Starting in Live-Mode. <<<
    >>> Please do not remove medium until shutdown! <<<
    /init: line 693: /bin/mount: Input/output error
    /init: exec: line 742: /sbin/init: Input/output error


    from here it just hangs indefinitely. This has happened on the last two images I've built and burned.

    I tried to find the /init file but can't seem to view it anywhere in my "master" file structure.

  3. #13
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    423
    Quote Originally Posted by frankp View Post
    the losetup command gives me a "bad file descriptor" error...

    ioctl: LOOP_SET_FD: Bad file descriptor
    Yes, it shows that you have a bad compressed image to start with.
    I simply take a normal file and do a losetup on it, I get the same error :-

    Code:
              # cd /tmp
              # cp /etc/hosts hosts
              # losetup -r /dev/cloop1 hosts
    ioctl: LOOP_SET_FD: Bad file descriptor
    This happens when I run this command from the / directory. If I run it from anywhere else, I get KNOPPIX: No such file or directory
    You must path the command to the right directory/file, eg :-
    # losetup -r /dev/cloop1 /some_path_some_where/knx/master/KNOPPIX/KNOPPIX

    I find it strange that your working copy of KNOPPIX is resided in /KNOPPIX. In any case, you have to know what it resides, and substitute the correct path for it.

    But whatever it is, if you have issued the command pointing to the correct KNOPPIX compressed image, the conclusion is that you have an invalid compressed image. You back to review your steps again.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Dell PowerEdge FX2S FC830 Blade Server Chassis Enclosure 2*2000W PSU NO BLADES picture

Dell PowerEdge FX2S FC830 Blade Server Chassis Enclosure 2*2000W PSU NO BLADES

$299.99



Dell PowerEdge M620  Blade Server 2 x Xeon e5 2665 8 x 16 GB(128) RAM - No HD picture

Dell PowerEdge M620 Blade Server 2 x Xeon e5 2665 8 x 16 GB(128) RAM - No HD

$44.99



Dell PowerEdge M620 Blade Server 2x 10C E5-2690v2 64GB Ram 2x 600GB 10k HDD picture

Dell PowerEdge M620 Blade Server 2x 10C E5-2690v2 64GB Ram 2x 600GB 10k HDD

$125.00



Dell PowerEdge FX2s CTO Blade 4 Slot 2U Chassis 2x 2000W picture

Dell PowerEdge FX2s CTO Blade 4 Slot 2U Chassis 2x 2000W

$399.00



Dell PowerEdge FC830 8-SFF 4*Xeon E5-4669v3 2.1GHz No HDD/RAM Blade Server Node picture

Dell PowerEdge FC830 8-SFF 4*Xeon E5-4669v3 2.1GHz No HDD/RAM Blade Server Node

$199.99



Dell PowerEdge M520 Blade Server Xeon E5-2403 NO HDD NO RAM picture

Dell PowerEdge M520 Blade Server Xeon E5-2403 NO HDD NO RAM

$40.00



HP P17342-B21 M750 E2286M CTO BLADE SERVER picture

HP P17342-B21 M750 E2286M CTO BLADE SERVER

$269.95



Cisco UCSB-B200-M5 Barebones CTO Blade Server No RAM, No CPU, No HD picture

Cisco UCSB-B200-M5 Barebones CTO Blade Server No RAM, No CPU, No HD

$287.00



HP ProLiant BL460c Gen9 Blade 2x E5-2690v4 2.6GHz =28 Cores 32GB P246 650FLB picture

HP ProLiant BL460c Gen9 Blade 2x E5-2690v4 2.6GHz =28 Cores 32GB P246 650FLB

$219.00



DELL PowerEdge M630 Blade 2x E5-2687Wv3 3.1GHz =20 Cores 256GB H330 2x10Gb X520 picture

DELL PowerEdge M630 Blade 2x E5-2687Wv3 3.1GHz =20 Cores 256GB H330 2x10Gb X520

$413.00