Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: problem installing Kaffeine, freeing space on flash drive

problem installing Kaffeine, freeing space on flash drive

Greetings.

I'm fairly new to Knoppix, though I had used it occasionally during the past several years. Now I'm using it a lot, having just gotten a Windoze laptop. I plan to run Knoppix mostly, from a USB flash drive.

I had no problems doing the install to the USB 8GB memory stick, but I'm stumped on upgrading software packages. I've never succeeded in using the updater whose yellow triangular icon with a "!" in the middle appears in the taskbar (always get an error, after spending a long time deselecting the packages I don't want). But now I can't even figure out how to deal with the Synaptic installer - or so it seems.

I decided to try upgrading the Kaffeine media player, and went ahead with the procedure despite all the things the installer said it was going to delete (which makes me nervous). It got all the way through the installation, which took a long time (despite/home/knoppix/.kde/share/apps/kaffeine the zippy CPU), but then I couldn't find what had been installed, though I found it had taken at least a few hundred megs of space, which I hadn't expected. There's no sign of kaffeine - it's gone from the taskbar menu, and using "locate" shows mostly only my initialisation files under "/home/knoppix/.kaffeine." I found that there had previously been a /usr/bin/kaffeine executable file, but it was not replaced in the installation procedure.

That's my first problem - lots of precious space gone on the flash drive, and nothing to show for it!