Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: install knoppix --> windows partition vanishes!

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Winnipeg, MB
    Posts
    5

    install knoppix --> windows partition vanishes!

    Pre knoppix installation days:

    knoppix starts up, and i can access the windows partition on this drive (hda1) without any problems... i can get to all my files like my mp3s and such without any worry.

    ------------------------------------
    I decide to install knoppix

    knoppix starts up, the icon of my mounted windows partition on the desktop has vanished... i can no longer get to it unless im accessing it as the root.. ive tried SOOOO hard to change the permissions so i could access it as the user Knoppix but to no avail... please help?

    ive looked everywhere, read this freakin linux book 20 times and hung around for hours in IRC channels...

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    2,479

    Re: install knoppix --> windows partition vanishes!

    Quote Originally Posted by Rockstar
    Pre knoppix installation days:

    knoppix starts up, and i can access the windows partition on this drive (hda1) without any problems... i can get to all my files like my mp3s and such without any worry.

    ------------------------------------
    I decide to install knoppix

    knoppix starts up, the icon of my mounted windows partition on the desktop has vanished... i can no longer get to it unless im accessing it as the root.. ive tried SOOOO hard to change the permissions so i could access it as the user Knoppix but to no avail... please help?

    ive looked everywhere, read this freakin linux book 20 times and hung around for hours in IRC channels...
    You will have to edit the file /etc/fstab as root in as console window ( the clam shell icon in the taskbar ).

    Open the window then su then enter key and enter the root password. Then in the root console gvim /etc/fstab and enter to open the file for editing use the arrow key to move down the file to the line that starts with #/dev/hda1 and use the delete key to remove the # and save the file. You will now be able to right click on the desktop and create a link to the drive with create new -> hard drive use the /dev/hda1 for device in the device tab save the link and you will be able to access the drive.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Winnipeg, MB
    Posts
    5
    hmm, that worked awesome, it was a big step foreward at least... theres only one problem now... my knoppix user still doesnt have permissions, it says permission denied when i try to cd to the /mnt/hda1 directory. but when im in a console session as root it lets me navigate to there and view everything it it and such

    how do i change these permissions?

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Winnipeg, MB
    Posts
    5
    hmm, this is weird... if i open a console logged in as just knoppix right,... well i cant see anything inside /mnt/hda1 it says permission denied...

    well if im in XMMS it can see all the files and folders inside /mnt/hda1 but it sees them ALL as files, even the folders... im confused

  5. #5
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    2,479
    Quote Originally Posted by Rockstar
    hmm, that worked awesome, it was a big step foreward at least... theres only one problem now... my knoppix user still doesnt have permissions, it says permission denied when i try to cd to the /mnt/hda1 directory. but when im in a console session as root it lets me navigate to there and view everything it it and such

    how do i change these permissions?
    Could you post the /dev/hda1 line so I can look at it?.

  6. #6
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Muscat.Oman
    Posts
    262
    Stephen,

    I have exactly the same problem. Too bad (or good?) since I now have Mandrake and I don't have this problem with it.

  7. #7
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Muscat.Oman
    Posts
    262
    Solved.
    Add 'umask=0 0 0 to the /dev/hda1 line in fstab.For example:

    /dev/hda1 /mnt/hda1 vfat auto,users,rw,exec,umount=0 0 0

    Reboot

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    SF Bay Area
    Posts
    6

    Where is etc/fstab ?


    Where the heck did etc/fstab go in the recent version of Knoppix? Have folders been rearranged?
    It must be there since Knoppix boots fine....

  9. #9
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    94
    Hi,

    after HD install do as root:

    rebuildfstab

    and for every user (e.g. as user - knoppix):

    mkdesktophdicons

    Ciao Martin

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    SF Bay Area
    Posts
    6
    Thanks Martin! I got my icons back and can access Windows just fine, but the weird thing is that fsab is not visible in etc.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Windows cant see data partition after hd install of knoppix
    By charles1981 in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-21-2005, 05:42 AM
  2. HDD Install tampered with my Windows partition table
    By majikman in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-06-2004, 02:47 AM
  3. How to install Knoppix on the same partition as Windows?
    By Zibar in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-17-2003, 02:58 AM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-22-2003, 01:18 AM
  5. HD install on windows partition?
    By riechert in forum General Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-21-2003, 11:11 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •