Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Floppy Icon missing from Desktop

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    7

    Floppy Icon missing from Desktop

    Knoppix 6.4.3
    The Floppy Icon is missing from Desktop and I can not find the Device listed with the other drives. I opened the Libre application and SavedAs a TXT file to the floppy but I would like to test the Format function and Copy/Verify some binary data files that already exist on te floppy.
    I'm not very familiar with Linux so please be specific (every keystroke) with your reply.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Columbia, Maryland USA
    Posts
    1,631
    @Newbie1

    What icons (or labels) do you see in the left panel of File Manager,
    that is, using (Main Menu)/Accessories/File Manager?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    7
    The Floppy label is not there. This is what I see: Knoppix, Desktop, Applications, System Reserved, sda2, WME, Knoppix, Knoppix_FS. When I had my IDE CD drive installed then I could boot Knoppix 5.1.1 and it did show the Floppy Icon. The IDE drive has failed and I replaced it with a SATA and Knoppix 5.1.1 does not support SATA.

  4. #4
    Administrator Site Admin-
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,441
    Quote Originally Posted by Newbie1 View Post
    .... and Knoppix 5.1.1 does not support SATA.
    Knoppix 5.1.1 most certainly does support SATA. I don't know about your particular hardware, you might have a chip that Knoppix does not support, more likely you are just mistaken or have some other issue, but all 5.x and even all 4.x (4.02) have SATA support, likely some late 3.x versions did but I don't recall exactly when it started showing up.
    ---
    Verifying of md5 checksum and burning a CD at slow speed are important.

  5. #5
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Columbia, Maryland USA
    Posts
    1,631

    What is the question?

    Hi, Harry. Happy New Year.

    @ Newbie1

    In your post #1
    I assumed you are looking to read a floppy drive and can't find it.
    If that's the case it's either already mounted and you don't recognize it,
    or it isn't mounted and you need to get it mounted.

    So, is this your problem, or are we dealing with a SATA question?

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    7
    Ok, let's forget about 5.1.1. It's 6.4.3 that I would like to checkout with the Floppy device. No, it is not mounted. It does not show up in File Manager. It does show up in the Word Processor SaveAs menu and does work from there but I would like to try file Copy, Delete, Paste and Format functions.

  7. #7
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Columbia, Maryland USA
    Posts
    1,631
    Is this floppy internal or USB?

    What do sda2 and WME refer-to?

    If the floppy is USB, does anything change in the left panel
    of File Manager when you unplug & plug the floppy in again?

    Is the floppy write protected by any chance?

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    7
    This is an Internal Floppy.
    sda2 is a 500GB Western Digital SATA harddrive NTFS.
    WME is a 80GB Western Digital IDE harddrive FAT32.
    The Floppy is not Write protected.
    If I plug in a Jump Drive, it does dynamicly show up in the left pane of File Manager.
    Motherboard is MSI 785GTM-E45 Chip set is AMD785G, SB710.

  9. #9
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    423
    Oh, still got people use floppy arh ?

  10. #10
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    512
    @Newbie1
    I think that floppy disks are not mounted automatically. Therefore I would not expect a change in the PCMan Filemanager's list of drives if a floppy disk is inserted.

    The command
    Code:
    hwinfo --floppy
    issued in aterminal should show the device name of your floppy drive if it is connected to the system. In most cases its device name is /dev/fd0.

    There must be a mount point in the filesystem. If you cannot find an empty directory in /media with the name floppy or fd0 then open a terminal and issue
    Code:
    sudo mkdir /media/fd0
    Insert a floppy disk into the floppy drive and issue
    Code:
    sudo mount -o uid=1000,gid=1000 /dev/fd0 /media/fd0
    in a terminal.

    Open the PCMan Filemanager and examine the list of disk devices. If you can find the floppy disk then you should be able to create subdirectories and to copy files in the directory /media/fd0.

    If you like to remove the floppy disk from the floppy drive it should be unmounted before you do that. If you cannot unmount the floppy disk with the filemanager then I would suggest that you issue
    Code:
    sudo umount /media/fd0
    in a terminal after you have closed all windows of the filemanager.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Dell PowerEdge R620 Server | 2x 2680 V2 2.8GHz = 20 Cores | 96GB | 2x 1TB SAS picture

Dell PowerEdge R620 Server | 2x 2680 V2 2.8GHz = 20 Cores | 96GB | 2x 1TB SAS

$379.95



Dell PowerEdge R720 Server | 2x E5-2658 V2 = 20 Cores | 128GB | H710 | 4x trays picture

Dell PowerEdge R720 Server | 2x E5-2658 V2 = 20 Cores | 128GB | H710 | 4x trays

$430.00



Dell PowerEdge R620 Server | 2x E5-2650 = 16 Cores | 32GB | H710 | 2x 1TB SATA picture

Dell PowerEdge R620 Server | 2x E5-2650 = 16 Cores | 32GB | H710 | 2x 1TB SATA

$266.95



Dell PowerEdge R710 2.5

Dell PowerEdge R710 2.5" 2U Server 2x X5670 2.93GHZ 12-Core 32gb 2x Trays Perc6i

$109.99



Dell PowerEdge R620 Server | 2x E5-2650 = 16 Cores | 64GB RAM | H710 | 1TB HDD picture

Dell PowerEdge R620 Server | 2x E5-2650 = 16 Cores | 64GB RAM | H710 | 1TB HDD

$269.95



Dell PowerEdge R630 Server Barebone with Motherboard 2 x Heat Sink 2 x 750W PSU picture

Dell PowerEdge R630 Server Barebone with Motherboard 2 x Heat Sink 2 x 750W PSU

$274.99



Dell PowerEdge T110 II Server E3-1220 v2 3.1GHz Quad Core 8GB DVD SAS 2x500GB R1 picture

Dell PowerEdge T110 II Server E3-1220 v2 3.1GHz Quad Core 8GB DVD SAS 2x500GB R1

$249.00



NEW Dell PowerEdge R240 Server Dual Core Celeron G4900/16GB/No Drives picture

NEW Dell PowerEdge R240 Server Dual Core Celeron G4900/16GB/No Drives

$399.99



Dell PowerEdge R520 Server / 2x E5-2470 = 16 Cores / 16GB RAM / H710 / 2x Trays picture

Dell PowerEdge R520 Server / 2x E5-2470 = 16 Cores / 16GB RAM / H710 / 2x Trays

$450.00



Dell PowerEdge R420 Server | 2x 2407 V2 - 2.4GHz = 8 Cores | 32GB | 4x 1TB SAS picture

Dell PowerEdge R420 Server | 2x 2407 V2 - 2.4GHz = 8 Cores | 32GB | 4x 1TB SAS

$251.95