Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Remaster for Wifi thin client (wifi not working)

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    4

    Remaster for Wifi thin client (wifi not working)

    Hi I'm a newbie tring to make a Thinclient OS out of Knoppix.

    My goal is to have a ThinStation like solution but having much more contron on what happens on the client and avove all a single ThinClientOs for a withe range of x86 obsolete PC-clients.

    Knoppix has by far the best in terms of hardware support and I have managed to boot to a strip X session with only the thin client app. (not desktop manager) Sound and all hardware detection still seams to work fine.

    I have a HD install a some scripts to strip out all things I've managed to determine that are not needed to make things work.

    Now I'm trying to make clients to auto connect to a specific WiFi with Wep encryption. So I' uninstalled network-manager and edited

    /etc/network/interfaces


    ##
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback

    auto eth0
    iface eth0 inet dhcp

    auto wlan0
    iface wlan0 inet dhcp
    wireless-essid Network name that has spaces
    wireless-key wepkey
    ##

    ETH0 works but not wlan0

    *******
    Then I saw that the sequence of commands

    ifconfig wlan0 down
    ifconfig wlan0 up
    iwconfig wlan0 essid "MAESTRIA IT" key 12345ABCDE
    dhclient wlan0

    did the trick once I've booted so... (just to try)
    I placed a Script at /etc/rc5.d/S27nethack

    ##
    ifconfig wlan0 down
    ifconfig wlan0 up
    iwconfig wlan0 essid "nteName WithSpaces" key wepkey
    dhclient wlan0
    ##

    But it not just doesn't work at boot it does not work when ran by hand at shell.

    TESTING and TESTING again I found that the line:

    iwconfig wlan0 essid "nteName WithSpaces" key wepkey

    Works when ran by typing it at the Command Line but not when with in a script.

    If that line runs in a script the following dhclient wlan0 can't get a IP address.

    Any clues on what is going on and how to make an automatic connection to a WEP WiFi at boot up?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    512
    I think that there are two places where customizations are usually done. The first one is the configuration file /etc/rc.local and the second one would be a file knoppix.sh in the directory where the huge KNOPPIX file resides. Both files are read during system start, but be aware that the commands in those files are issued while being the user root. If you need to run the commands while being the user knoppix then you might try out the file .bashrc in the home directory of user knoppix.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    4
    Thanks for the info I replaced the instruction to the end of rc.local script but still no changes. It only works when typed or pasted into the CL if run from any script the command

    iwconfig wlan0 essid "MAESTRIA IT" key 12345ABCDE

    does not work
    also the settings in /etc/network/interfaces seam to be useless

  4. #4
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Columbia, Maryland USA
    Posts
    1,631
    @rslaqui Greetings, rslaqui.
    Klaus2008 has given you several good answers already.
    Perhaps an example will help.
    Here's an excerpt of what I use, only my wifi is eth1.
    This assumes you have /etc/rc.local owned by root, and executable.

    #!/bin/bash
    #
    # rc.local
    #
    WIFI="wlan0"; MODE="Managed"
    dhclient -r $WIFI; ifconfig $WIFI up
    iwconfig $WIFI essid XXXXX key XXXXXXXXXX mode $MODE
    dhclient $WIFI
    #
    exit 0

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    4
    """"""""Solved""""""

    Script still not working (previous post still not tested)
    but /etc/network/interface
    settings do



    ***********
    allow-hotplug wlan0
    iface wlan0 inet dhcp
    pre-up ifconfig wlan0 up
    post-down ifconfig wlan0 down
    wireless-essid NetWork
    wireless-key WepKey
    ***********


    Thanks a lot hope this helps some else.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    242
    Quote Originally Posted by rslaqui View Post
    So I uninstalled network-manager and edited

    /etc/network/interfaces


    ##
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback

    auto eth0
    iface eth0 inet dhcp

    auto wlan0
    iface wlan0 inet dhcp
    wireless-essid Network name that has spaces
    wireless-key wepkey
    ##

    ETH0 works but not wlan0
    You were so close ... you need:

    Code:
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
    
    auto eth0
    iface eth0 inet dhcp
    
    auto wlan0
    iface wlan0 inet dhcp
         wireless-essid "Network name that has spaces"
         wireless-key wepkey
    Indentation is necessary. You used "" around the network name everywhere else but not here. For wireless adapters that can be unplugged you might use allow-hotplug instead of auto.

    With this you don't need to run ifup or ifconfig or iwconfig or dhclient yourself so you need no modification to /etc/rc.local.

    I have just tried this. I used the cheat code nonetworkmanager (because I have not uninstalled the NetworkManager - yet) and network connection was automatic.

    You say you have unintalled the NetworkManager. Please check that the file /etc/init.d/network-manager has gone (or at least is not executable). If it is still there and executable you will need the cheat code as I did.

    If you are stripping down the Knoppix start up then you may have already edited /etc/init.d/knoppix-autoconfig. You could remove the bit that starts the NetworkManager leaving just the ifup -a & that you'll find in the start up of any normal hard drive Linux installation.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


IBM System X3250 M3 Server 8GB RAM Intel Xeon x3440 2.53ghz (NO HDD) picture

IBM System X3250 M3 Server 8GB RAM Intel Xeon x3440 2.53ghz (NO HDD)

$36.53



IBM Server Rack Cabinet 9308-RC4 picture

IBM Server Rack Cabinet 9308-RC4

$209.00



IBM System p5 9131-52A 3.5

IBM System p5 9131-52A 3.5" 4-Bay Server 80P6787 1 CPU 2GB 6 HD CADDIES TAPE BU

$250.00



IBM Power S822 8284-22A 12SFF Power8 3.89GHz 6Core 64GB RAM No HDD Server System picture

IBM Power S822 8284-22A 12SFF Power8 3.89GHz 6Core 64GB RAM No HDD Server System

$359.99



IBM System x3550 M3 Dual Intel Xeon X5650 @2.67GHz 32GB RAM No HDD picture

IBM System x3550 M3 Dual Intel Xeon X5650 @2.67GHz 32GB RAM No HDD

$68.50



IBM Cloud Object Storage Slicestor 2448 E5-2637 3.5Ghz 128GB DDR4 - NO HDD - NEW picture

IBM Cloud Object Storage Slicestor 2448 E5-2637 3.5Ghz 128GB DDR4 - NO HDD - NEW

$399.00



IBM IntelliStation 9114-275 4-Bay Server Power4+ Core 1.0ghz DVD-Rom 1GB No HDD picture

IBM IntelliStation 9114-275 4-Bay Server Power4+ Core 1.0ghz DVD-Rom 1GB No HDD

$699.99



COMPLETE IBM 9009 41A ISERIES POWER9 ENTRY LEVEL SERVER FULLY TESTED AND WORKING picture

COMPLETE IBM 9009 41A ISERIES POWER9 ENTRY LEVEL SERVER FULLY TESTED AND WORKING

$3550.00



IBM Netezza 3567 picture

IBM Netezza 3567

$5000.00



IBM Server System X3100 M4 | Xeon @ 3.10 Ghz | 8GB | 250GB HDD No OS (IG-PC26) picture

IBM Server System X3100 M4 | Xeon @ 3.10 Ghz | 8GB | 250GB HDD No OS (IG-PC26)

$112.95