Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Amending Boot Sequence?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    23

    Amending Boot Sequence?

    I have Knoppix 6.4.4 installed on my laptop (Dell) and all works wonderfully. The power management os unbelievable! Was just wondering if there is a way of altering the boot sequence in the root menu so that I don't have to keep editing it when I boot up? Specifically I want to change the language to xkeyboard=gb and the time sequence to europe/london and want to do it so that it is kept once changed. Any ideas as to how I do this? Thanks.

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Columbia, Maryland USA
    Posts
    1,631
    Hi, jacksbutler.

    One way is to edit the first line of /mnt-system/boot/syslinux/syslinux.cfg.
    Just add or change some of the default cheat-codes.

    Make a copy of syslinux.cfg like syslinux.cfg.orig just in case.

  3. #3
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Columbia, Maryland USA
    Posts
    1,631
    p.s.
    I'm assuming your 6.4.4 is a Live USB like mine, of course.
    Something similar will apply to an HDD install.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    123
    I'm not sure but when you do a hdd install I'm afraid it uses grub, in this case edit the lines in
    /boot/grub/grub.conf

    Try first utu's suggestion

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    23
    Hi and thanks for the help. I cannot find /mnt-system/boot/syslinux/syslinux.cfg anywhere? I edited the grub conf, but could not save it? Any ideas? Thanks a lot.

  6. #6
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Columbia, Maryland USA
    Posts
    1,631
    Hi, again, jacksbutler.

    Looks like your setup is not like mine at all. Sorry.
    Maybe dinosoep can steer you better.

    FWIW, I don't have a grub.conf, but I do note that my /boot/grub
    files are root:root. In which case if I wanted to edit grub.conf
    I would need to start out with

    sudo leafpad /boot/grub/grub.conf

    so I could save my edits.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    23
    Hi utu and thanks a lot. My grub is in sda2, so I just amended your instructions to sudo leafpad/sda2/boot/grub, amended the list, saved and it all worked! Many thanks.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •