Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 24

Thread: Knoppix 6.2 runs where Knoppix 6.7 does not!

  1. #11
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Columbia, Maryland USA
    Posts
    1,631
    @ Karibu

    You may want to 'automate' your new-found cheatcodes.

    What you will then want to do is to modify the file /mnt-system/boot/syslinux/syslinux.cfg.
    Take a look at this file with leafpad or gedit.
    AS ROOT, make a copy of this and call that /mnt-system/boot/syslinux/syslinux.cfg.orig.
    Notice there are many three line stanzas of LABEL\KERNEL\APPEND.

    Probably all you will need to do add, AS ROOT, one or more cheatcodes to the end of ONE of the
    APPEND lines and save this as a new syslinux.cfg file.

    So, first we need to know which cheatcodes you find useful, and whether or not you
    want adriane as a default.

    At this point you can either experiment or ask more questions. Your call.

    If things get crazy, AS ROOT, use the sylinux.cfg.orig to restore syslinux.cfg.

  2. #12
    Senior Member Karibu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Kelowna, BC Canada
    Posts
    157
    Quote Originally Posted by utu View Post
    @ Karibu
    So, first we need to know which cheatcodes you find useful, and whether or not you
    want adriane as a default.
    At this point you can either experiment or ask more questions. Your call.
    Thank you. utu, for your excellent support!
    In my last post I only listed all the reactions to the corresponding cheatcode to your information.
    What works in my case is either one of pos. 2) - 4).
    I do not need the Adriane version.
    I would like to use the code - either "nomodeset, nodrm, or nocomposite - actually only the one
    which is solving the graphics issue and is least limiting the functionality of other parts of the system.
    Please let me know what the optimal would be.
    K.

  3. #13
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Columbia, Maryland USA
    Posts
    1,631
    Assuming the first line in your /mnt-system/boot/syslinux/syslinux.cfg is
    DEFAULT knoppix
    I would first change it to the following:
    DEFAULT knoppix nodrm nomodeset
    If that boots in about 60 seconds and your graphics seem reasonable to you,
    I might quit right there; or you could start seeing just how much 3d stuff works.

    With this change to syslinux.cfg you can either let the boot prompt time-out
    in 5 or 6 seconds or hit <enter> right away.

    So go ahead and give it a try.
    AS ROOT, make a backup, make your change, and reboot.

  4. #14
    Senior Member Karibu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Kelowna, BC Canada
    Posts
    157
    Quote Originally Posted by utu View Post
    Assuming the first line in your /mnt-system/boot/syslinux/syslinux.cfg is
    DEFAULT knoppix
    These are the beginning lines of my /boot/syslinux/syslinux.cfg down to the knoppix labels:

    DEFAULT adriane
    APPEND ramdisk_size=100000 lang=en vt.default_utf8=0 apm=power-off initrd=minirt.gz nomce libata.force=noncq hpsa.hpsa_allow_any=1 loglevel=1 tz=localtime
    TIMEOUT 100
    # TOTALTIMEOUT 20
    # KBDMAP german.kbd
    PROMPT 1
    F1 boot.msg
    F2 f2
    F3 f3
    DISPLAY boot.msg
    LABEL adriane
    KERNEL linux
    APPEND ramdisk_size=100000 lang=en vt.default_utf8=0 apm=power-off video=640x480 initrd=minirt.gz nomce libata.force=noncq hpsa.hpsa_allow_any=1 loglevel=1 tz=localtime adriane
    LABEL adriane64
    KERNEL linux64
    APPEND ramdisk_size=100000 lang=en vt.default_utf8=0 apm=power-off video=640x480 initrd=minirt.gz nomce libata.force=noncq hpsa.hpsa_allow_any=1 loglevel=1 tz=localtime adriane
    LABEL knoppix
    KERNEL linux
    APPEND ramdisk_size=100000 lang=en vt.default_utf8=0 apm=power-off initrd=minirt.gz nomce libata.force=noncq hpsa.hpsa_allow_any=1 loglevel=1 tz=localtime
    LABEL knoppix64
    KERNEL linux64
    Do I have to #-out all adriane related lines and then make knoppix DEFAULT?

  5. #15
    Moderator Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Germany/ Dietzenbach
    Posts
    1,124
    Do I have to #-out all adriane related lines and then make knoppix DEFAULT?
    No, change line 1 from "DEFAULT adriane" to "DEFAULT knoppix", if you want the group starting with "LABEL knoppix" to be your default.

    If you want the group "LABEL knoppix" to be your default, change within this group the "APPEND" line as you need and do the same to line 2 of syslinux.cfg.

  6. #16
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Columbia, Maryland USA
    Posts
    1,631
    Greetings Karibu & Werner.

    I hope we haven't confused Karibu too much here.

    Karibu apparently downloaded an adriane cd or dvd.
    I think adriane & knoppix versionse may be exactly identical
    except for the first line in syslinux.cfg.
    I've always thought the first APPEND line was pretty much redundant if we
    are only talking about knoppix or adriane as DEFAULT choices.

    I think Karibu DOES NOT want the adriane mode.
    I prefer to put graphics cheatcodes on the DEFAULT line, since they will be
    probably be needed in most all cases.

    That said, I'd make Karibu's DEFAULt line knoppix nodrm nomodeset and try it out:
    DEFAULT knoppix nodrm nomodeset
    I'd probably next try out just knoppix nomodeset to see which is better.

    As an alternative he could put cheatcodes into the APPEND lines, but they
    only count in the stanza designated by the DEFAULT declaration.
    I don't think the order of the cheatcodes matters.

    I will admit, Werner is the pro and I am not, so caveat emptor.

  7. #17
    Senior Member Karibu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Kelowna, BC Canada
    Posts
    157
    Thank you, utu&Werner....I'm working on it later..I'll keep you posted.

    BTW what means "caveat emptor" I guess it's latin?

  8. #18
    Moderator Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Germany/ Dietzenbach
    Posts
    1,124
    I prefer to put graphics cheatcodes on the DEFAULT line, since they will be
    probably be needed in most all cases.
    If you append cheatcodes at line 2, they will only be used by Knoppix, if you boot without any additional cheatcodes.

    But if you start a session perhaps with "knoppix noimage". Knoppix doesn't use line 2 but the Append line within group at "LABEL knoppix". Therefore insert your permanent wished settigs also in this group.

  9. #19
    Senior Member Karibu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Kelowna, BC Canada
    Posts
    157
    Quote Originally Posted by Werner P. Schulz View Post
    If you append cheatcodes at line 2, they will only be used by Knoppix, if you boot without any additional cheatcodes.
    But if you start a session perhaps with "knoppix noimage". Knoppix doesn't use line 2 but the Append line within group at "LABEL knoppix". Therefore insert your permanent wished settigs also in this group.
    Thank you! This is what I did:
    ## Changed "DEFAULT adriane" to "DEFAULT knoppix" and added cheatcode "nomodeset" to "APPEND" line of knoppix, Feb.29,2011

    DEFAULT knoppix
    APPEND ramdisk_size=100000 lang=en vt.default_utf8=0 apm=power-off initrd=minirt.gz nomce libata.force=noncq
    hpsa.hpsa_allow_any=1 loglevel=1 tz=localtime nomodeset
    TIMEOUT 100
    # TOTALTIMEOUT 20...........



    Quote Originally Posted by Originally Posted by utu
    Karibu apparently downloaded an adriane cd or dvd.
    I think adriane & knoppix versionse may be exactly identical
    except for the first line in syslinux.cfg.
    I found a minor difference between the two:
    ADRIANE comes with Chrome and KNOPPIX comes with Icewisel

    EDIT: Where can I mark the issue [SOLVED]?
    Last edited by Karibu; 03-01-2012 at 11:27 PM. Reason: Issue SOLVED

  10. #20
    Senior Member Karibu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Kelowna, BC Canada
    Posts
    157

    Update on thesame issue

    Now I tried the Knoppix Version 6.7.1 with kernel 3.0.4

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •