Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Update the init script for multiple nics?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    20

    Update the init script for multiple nics?

    I had a weird issue show up the other day. I am using Knoppix 6.7.0 to do PXE booting. I cannot use 6.7.1 at this time, so I do not know if this is fixed there.

    Client -> Knoppix 6.7
    Server -> Fedora 14. PXE files from Knoppix 6.7 CD.

    problem:
    Have an old machine with onboard 1 Gig nic, and pci 10/100 nic. Ethernet cord is plugged into onboard nic, boots, gets IP, TFTP Starts, select the kernel and go. Kernel loads, gets to the udhcp part of getting an IP. Times out.

    Playing with it, I re-started the process, and when udhcp was trying to get an ip, I moved the ethernet cord to the 10/100 pci nic. Knoppix found an ip and completed booting.

    Investigating further, it comes to show that the pci 10/100 board was grabbing eth0, and not the onboard Nic!

    Further investigation shows that the kernels attempt to load drivers in parallel, and that the ethX numbering scheme is based in part, on driver load order. Therefore, I can't really force that, and I'm also in an environment of lots of machines, so it's not like I can do a simple fix for 1 and be done.

    I then unpacked the minirt.gz and examined the init script. The issue is in the DHCP loop, it calls ifconfig up ethX. If ifconfig returns a non zero number, it is supposed to continue. For some reason, (driver? ifconfig bug?) calling ifconfig on eth0 (with no cord) results in a "ok" response.

    I have seen ifconfig up seem to "work" before on nics without a cord. So i suspect that it's not safe to depend on the return from it. I decided to change the init code to instead check for the presence of the cable using the /sys/class/net/ethX/operstate file.

    Works like a charm. I wanted to share the issue here, along with the code I did to change it, and see about putting that into future versions. I don't know how easy it will be to reproduce this, i saw it happen 18 times out of several hundred machines.

    note: my logic checks for the word "down" in the operstate file. I do not check for up, as there are a couple of other possible values, which may indicate there is a cord there. but it's always down when its down.

    I also check for the existence of the file, as ifconfig does not even raise an error doing "up" on a non-existent interface, like eth2. maybe ifconfig just needs to be upgraded, it seems pretty dumb.

    I just did ifconfig --version, and for Knoppix 6.7, it shows net-tools: 1.60 and ifconfig 1.42 (2001-04-13)

    Anyway, the fix:
    open init, search for DHCP and replace that part with this:


    Code:
    DHCP=""
     # How many network cards should we probe for?
     for i in 0 1 2 3; do
      ifconfig "eth$i" up >/dev/null 2>&1 || continue
      sleep 2
      if [ -f /sys/class/net/eth$i/operstate ]; then
              if grep -Fq "down" /sys/class/net/eth$i/operstate
              then
                continue
              fi
      else
        continue
      fi
     
      message "${CRE}${BLUE}DHCP Broadcasting for IP address (${MAGENTA}eth$i${BLUE})... ${NORMAL}"
      if [ -n "$HOSTNAME" ]; then
       udhcpc -i eth$i -H $HOSTNAME && DHCP="eth$i"
      else
       udhcpc -i eth$i && DHCP="eth$i"
      fi
      [ -n "$DHCP" ] && break
      message "${RED}No answer from network.${NORMAL}"
     done

  2. #2
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    20
    maybe we should move this to the remastering forum or something.

    But I am now seeing an issue "sometimes" with single card nics. Seems that the driver is slow to load or something? I sleep 4 seconds, but it still says cable is "down" and then like 5 seconds later a message pops up from the driver about TX and RX speeds. and by then the operstate is up.

    Guh...

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    1
    Keeger,
    Can you let me know which file I need to update the init code? I have a same issues and I need this fix soon.

    thanks
    kevinn

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


~DAILY DEALZ ~ Apple Mac Pro: Intel Xeon 32GB RAM 1TB SSD 1 Year Warranty picture

~DAILY DEALZ ~ Apple Mac Pro: Intel Xeon 32GB RAM 1TB SSD 1 Year Warranty

$284.99



Dell PowerEdge R640 Server 2x Gold 6150 2.70Ghz 36-Core 256GB 2x 960GB SSD H730P picture

Dell PowerEdge R640 Server 2x Gold 6150 2.70Ghz 36-Core 256GB 2x 960GB SSD H730P

$1737.25



Dell R730xd 12LFF 2.1Ghz 16-C 128GB H730 2x10G+2x1G NIC 2x1100W 12x Trays Rails picture

Dell R730xd 12LFF 2.1Ghz 16-C 128GB H730 2x10G+2x1G NIC 2x1100W 12x Trays Rails

$717.05



Dell R730xd 12LFF 2.6Ghz 28-C 256GB H730 2x10G+2x1G NIC 2x1100W 12x Trays Rails picture

Dell R730xd 12LFF 2.6Ghz 28-C 256GB H730 2x10G+2x1G NIC 2x1100W 12x Trays Rails

$947.05



INTEL XEON GOLD 6148 20 Core SR3B6 2.4GHZ 27.5MB Processor    @24 picture

INTEL XEON GOLD 6148 20 Core SR3B6 2.4GHZ 27.5MB Processor @24

$99.99



Intel Xeon Gold 6138 2.0GHz 27.5MB 20-Core 125W LGA3647 SR3B5 picture

Intel Xeon Gold 6138 2.0GHz 27.5MB 20-Core 125W LGA3647 SR3B5

$46.00



Intel Xeon E5-2690V2 3.00GHz 10-Core (SR1A5) Processor CPU READ DESCRIPTION picture

Intel Xeon E5-2690V2 3.00GHz 10-Core (SR1A5) Processor CPU READ DESCRIPTION

$12.00



Intel Xeon E5-2697 V4 2.30 GHz 18C 2011-3 2400MHz 45MB 145W SR2JV CPU Processor picture

Intel Xeon E5-2697 V4 2.30 GHz 18C 2011-3 2400MHz 45MB 145W SR2JV CPU Processor

$49.99



HP Workstation Z640 2x Xeon E5-2623V4 32GB Ram 512 SSD Quadro K420 Linux GA picture

HP Workstation Z640 2x Xeon E5-2623V4 32GB Ram 512 SSD Quadro K420 Linux GA

$243.59



Dell Precision Desktop Computer Intel Xeon Tower 16GB RAM 2TB HDD +  256GB SSD picture

Dell Precision Desktop Computer Intel Xeon Tower 16GB RAM 2TB HDD + 256GB SSD

$249.99