Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Synaptic- ReloadInfo- ErrorMessage

  1. #1
    Senior Member Karibu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Kelowna, BC Canada
    Posts
    157

    Thumbs up Synaptic- ReloadInfo- ErrorMessage

    Hi all Knoppix Fans...

    Today I tried to "Reload the Package Information to become informed about new, removed or upgraded Software packages" and got some messages which I attached as screenshots.
    After a "Restart" I did not notice a change in the behavior of my Laptop, except that the Icon for Bluetooth has disappeared from the panel and I cannot get it back!
    Also attached is the terminal output for 'dmesg', although I'm not sure if it gives any valuable info for this case.
    I appreciate any response!
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    508
    I think that libc6 could not be replaced properly. I would suggest the following attempt.

    Reboot your Knoppix into runlevel 2. You can achieve this by adding the number 2 to the list of cheat codes. Usually
    Code:
    knoppix 2
    is sufficient.

    In the shell issue
    Code:
    chroot /UNIONFS
    dpkg -a --configure
    apt-get -f install
    exit
    reboot
    This time boot into the desktop environment and try to find out whether there is any issue left.

  3. #3
    Senior Member Karibu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Kelowna, BC Canada
    Posts
    157
    Hello,
    @Klaus
    Thank you for the response.
    Before I have read it, I was trying to fix the issue by reinstalling the broken dependencies
    but it didn't work.
    For your information I post some more screenshots and if they confirm your assumption I go ahead
    and follow your instructions.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  4. #4
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    508
    Your images 'BrokenDep2' and 'BrokenDep3' confirm my assumption that you have an issue with libc6 and libc6-dev packages.

    I had a similar issue some time ago when I upgraded some packages relying on a libc6 that was more recent than that being shipped with Knoppix.

    The pre-install script finds the same libc6 twice because of the use of the aufs. But when I issued "chroot /UNIONFS" I was able to finish the installation procedure of the new libc6 and libc6-dev packages because the pre-install script found only libc6 at the ordinary place.

    The use of runlevel 2 instead of runlevel 5 avoids conflicts with system services that would make use of libc6.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Karibu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Kelowna, BC Canada
    Posts
    157
    I'm having a difficulty with runlevel 2:
    Boot sequence hangs for ever--see screenshot

    PS.:
    These are the first two lines of my syslinux.cfg file
    # Edit Mar 29, 2012: DEFAULT (line 1) from adriane to knoppix nomodeset
    DEFAULT knoppix 2 nomodeset
    APPEND ramdisk_size=100000 lang=en vt.default_utf8=0 apm=power-off initrd=minirt.gz nomce libata.force=noncq hpsa.hpsa_allow_any=1 loglevel=1 tz=localtime
    TIMEOUT 100
    If I place "nomodeset" at the end of the line APPEND the graphics won't start at all (black monitor screen)
    Attached Images Attached Images

  6. #6
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    508
    As far as I understand your screenshot the boot sequence has finished. You do not start the graphical desktop environment if you are in runlevel 2 as opposed to runlevel 5 with its automatical start of the Xserver.

    Now you are in the shell where you are root and should be able to issue the commands
    Code:
    chroot /UNIONFS
    dpkg -a --configure
    apt-get -f install
    exit
    reboot

  7. #7
    Senior Member Karibu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Kelowna, BC Canada
    Posts
    157
    Quote Originally Posted by klaus2008 View Post
    ....not start the graphical desktop environment if you are in runlevel 2 as opposed to runlevel 5 with its automatical start of the Xserver.
    Thanks....I was not aware of that!
    Quote Originally Posted by klaus2008 View Post
    Now you are in the shell where you are root and should be able to issue the commands
    Code:
    chroot /UNIONFS
    dpkg -a --configure
    apt-get -f install
    exit
    reboot
    After that (reboot), it seems the whole system is rebuild because Synaptic loads every thing new. Now I got stuck!
    I write this from another computer and attach the "Error Message" concerning a grub dependency issue.
    The Laptop is still in this condition and I don't know what happens when I 'Close' this window.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  8. #8
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    508
    I think you may close the windows. The error message is about installation issues of grub. I never had this error message. I have to guess what you could do. Sometimes the interpretation of error messages is an art or you need much experience.

    As long as you use syslinux as boot loader you do not need grub. The only situation where grub is needed should be an HDD install of Knoppix.

    I would suggest that you try to install the package libgnome2-perl and tell us what has happened.

  9. #9
    Senior Member Karibu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Kelowna, BC Canada
    Posts
    157
    Quote Originally Posted by klaus2008 View Post
    I would suggest that you try to install the package libgnome2-perl and tell us what has happened.
    It's easier said than done...I must have a very rudimentary installation right now because the Menu does not show Synaptic P.M., no Internet, in all, it is quite different as before. I can not 'Logout' either because there is a "Failed to execute child process lxsession-logout.." warning. The only way out is "Power OFF"!
    If I turn power ON again, I end up with a confusing "log file" message on the screen, which disappears after a few seconds. I think I wrecked the USB system with the "chroot" procedure and need a new install from the CD.
    Any thoughts on that?

  10. #10
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    508
    Some ideas:

    Do you have a camera to take a photo of your current desktop environment?

    It is possible to delete the persistent image file and create a new one. It is unnecessary to do a full reinstall from the CD.

    Are you able to switch to a console with the key combination Ctrl-Alt-F1? There you could issue the following command which will open a terminal window on your desktop environment.
    Code:
    chvt 5 && su -c "DISPLAY=:0 lxterminal -l" knoppix &
    In the lxterminal you could try some commands.
    Code:
    killall lxpanel
    lxpanel --profile LXDE &
    If you have lxpanel running but still no nm-applet then you could try
    Code:
    killall nm-applet
    nm-applet &
    In the lxterminal it is possible to start synaptic package management
    Code:
    sudo synaptic &

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •