Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 59

Thread: Flash Player Install?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    3

    Question Flash Player Install?

    Hey guys, I have some problems. At the moment I'm working with Knoppix 4.0.2 but I can't watch videos on youtube. I think I have to install the Flash Player, but I have no idea how to. I've got Knoppix 5.1 too, but at the moment I use the other version. If it's not possible on the older version, you can also teach me about the 5.1 Thanks.

  2. #2
    Moderator Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Germany/ Dietzenbach
    Posts
    1,124
    Why not try the new Knoppix (=> 4a) version?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Werner P. Schulz View Post
    Why not try the new Knoppix (=> 4a) version?
    For free? I can also use Knoppix 5.1. Is there a way to intall the flash player?

  4. #4
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    512
    You should read the system requirements for Adobe Flash player 11 on Linux systems: Adobe Flash Player 11 / Tech specs Firefox 4.0 or better won't run on Knoppix 5.1.1 since some libraries are too old.

  5. #5
    some videos are not working with Knoppix 5 + an old Flash player so it's better to use a Knoppix 6 at least - download the Flash player on the Adobe.com (.tar.gz) and uncompress it - create a "plugins" directory in your ~/.mozilla - copy the libflashlayer.so you got in the archive into this plugins directory - then sudo cp -r usr/* /usr with Chromium/Knoppix 7, it's even easier

  6. #6
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Mysore, India
    Posts
    271
    The Flash Player downloaded from the Adobe site is the following file:
    install_flash_player_11_linux.i386.tar.gz
    There is a readme.txt file inside the archive which states:
    Unpack the tar.gz file. Once unpacked you will see the following:
    + libflashplayer.so
    + /usr
    o Identify the location of the browser plugins directory, based on your Linux distribution and Firefox version
    o Copy libflashplayer.so to the appropriate browser plugins directory. At the prompt type:
    + cp libflashlayer.so <BrowserPluginsLocation>
    o Copy the Flash Player Local Settings configurations files to the /usr directory. At the prompt type:
    + sudo cp -r usr/* /usr
    However, when the command
    cp libflashlayer.so <BrowserPluginsLocation>
    is executed at a root terminal it gives the following output:
    bash: syntax error near unexpected token `newline'
    I also manually copied, as a superuser, the file to the folder
    /home/knoppix/.mozilla/extensions/a folder under this
    So where am I going wrong?

  7. #7
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Mysore, India
    Posts
    271
    Yes, it indeed is! One should follow the directions in the readme.txt file inside the archive install_flash_player_11_linux.i386.tar.gz downloaded from the Adobe site, after following the instructions contained in the above post to create a 'plugins' directory, and manually copy the libflashplayer.so inside the plugins directory, restart the Iceweasel, and the effects will take place. Thanks!

  8. #8
    Moderator Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Asheville, NC, USA
    Posts
    528

    Unhappy Typo

    Quote Originally Posted by rajibando View Post
    cp libflashlayer.so <BrowserPluginsLocation>
    is missing the letter "p" in libflashplayer.so

    Cheers!
    Krishna

  9. #9
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Mysore, India
    Posts
    271
    Quote Originally Posted by krishna.murphy View Post
    is missing the letter "p" in libflashplayer.so

    Cheers!
    Krishna
    It is because the original text file within the archive contains the error

  10. #10
    Moderator Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Asheville, NC, USA
    Posts
    528
    Quote Originally Posted by rajibando View Post
    It is because the original text file within the archive contains the error
    Correct - also explains the error message.

    Cheers!
    Krishna

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Dell Gaming Desktop Computer PC Tower Core i5 16GB 2TB HD/SSD 22

Dell Gaming Desktop Computer PC Tower Core i5 16GB 2TB HD/SSD 22" LCD Windows 10

$315.45



Lenovo ThinkCentre E73 SFF Desktop Intel Core i3 4130 3.1 GHZ 8GB 500GB Win 10 picture

Lenovo ThinkCentre E73 SFF Desktop Intel Core i3 4130 3.1 GHZ 8GB 500GB Win 10

$59.00



Dell OptiPlex 9020 SFF Core i5 4590 3.3 GHz  8 GB RAM 500 GB HDD  NO OS picture

Dell OptiPlex 9020 SFF Core i5 4590 3.3 GHz 8 GB RAM 500 GB HDD NO OS

$88.00



HP Windows 10 Desktop Computer PC Intel Core i5 8GB RAM 250GB HD 19

HP Windows 10 Desktop Computer PC Intel Core i5 8GB RAM 250GB HD 19" LCD WiFi

$115.48



IMAGIN Gaming PC SSD NVIDIA I9 XEON 8-Core 16GB RAM 1TB HDD FORTNITE WIN 11 PC picture

IMAGIN Gaming PC SSD NVIDIA I9 XEON 8-Core 16GB RAM 1TB HDD FORTNITE WIN 11 PC

$550.00



Acer Aspire XC - Desktop Intel Core i3-10105 3.70GHz 8GB RAM 256GB SSD W10H picture

Acer Aspire XC - Desktop Intel Core i3-10105 3.70GHz 8GB RAM 256GB SSD W10H

$229.99



Acer Aspire XC - Desktop Intel Celeron J4125 2GHz 4GB RAM 256GB SSD W10H picture

Acer Aspire XC - Desktop Intel Celeron J4125 2GHz 4GB RAM 256GB SSD W10H

$99.99



HP 15-dy2046ms Intel Core i3-1125G4 8GB/128GB 15.6'' Windows 11 Laptop picture

HP 15-dy2046ms Intel Core i3-1125G4 8GB/128GB 15.6'' Windows 11 Laptop

$300.00



Dell OptiPlex 3011 20

Dell OptiPlex 3011 20" All in One Desktop Core i3 3.4GHz 8GB 500GB Windows 10

$134.50



Dell i5 Desktop Computer PC | up to 16GB RAM, 3TB SSD | Windows 10 Pro | WiFi BT picture

Dell i5 Desktop Computer PC | up to 16GB RAM, 3TB SSD | Windows 10 Pro | WiFi BT

$145.50