Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 59

Thread: Flash Player Install?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    3

    Question Flash Player Install?

    Hey guys, I have some problems. At the moment I'm working with Knoppix 4.0.2 but I can't watch videos on youtube. I think I have to install the Flash Player, but I have no idea how to. I've got Knoppix 5.1 too, but at the moment I use the other version. If it's not possible on the older version, you can also teach me about the 5.1 Thanks.

  2. #2
    Moderator Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Germany/ Dietzenbach
    Posts
    1,124
    Why not try the new Knoppix (=> 4a) version?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Werner P. Schulz View Post
    Why not try the new Knoppix (=> 4a) version?
    For free? I can also use Knoppix 5.1. Is there a way to intall the flash player?

  4. #4
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    512
    You should read the system requirements for Adobe Flash player 11 on Linux systems: Adobe Flash Player 11 / Tech specs Firefox 4.0 or better won't run on Knoppix 5.1.1 since some libraries are too old.

  5. #5
    some videos are not working with Knoppix 5 + an old Flash player so it's better to use a Knoppix 6 at least - download the Flash player on the Adobe.com (.tar.gz) and uncompress it - create a "plugins" directory in your ~/.mozilla - copy the libflashlayer.so you got in the archive into this plugins directory - then sudo cp -r usr/* /usr with Chromium/Knoppix 7, it's even easier

  6. #6
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Mysore, India
    Posts
    272
    The Flash Player downloaded from the Adobe site is the following file:
    install_flash_player_11_linux.i386.tar.gz
    There is a readme.txt file inside the archive which states:
    Unpack the tar.gz file. Once unpacked you will see the following:
    + libflashplayer.so
    + /usr
    o Identify the location of the browser plugins directory, based on your Linux distribution and Firefox version
    o Copy libflashplayer.so to the appropriate browser plugins directory. At the prompt type:
    + cp libflashlayer.so <BrowserPluginsLocation>
    o Copy the Flash Player Local Settings configurations files to the /usr directory. At the prompt type:
    + sudo cp -r usr/* /usr
    However, when the command
    cp libflashlayer.so <BrowserPluginsLocation>
    is executed at a root terminal it gives the following output:
    bash: syntax error near unexpected token `newline'
    I also manually copied, as a superuser, the file to the folder
    /home/knoppix/.mozilla/extensions/a folder under this
    So where am I going wrong?

  7. #7
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Mysore, India
    Posts
    272
    Yes, it indeed is! One should follow the directions in the readme.txt file inside the archive install_flash_player_11_linux.i386.tar.gz downloaded from the Adobe site, after following the instructions contained in the above post to create a 'plugins' directory, and manually copy the libflashplayer.so inside the plugins directory, restart the Iceweasel, and the effects will take place. Thanks!

  8. #8
    Moderator Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Asheville, NC, USA
    Posts
    528

    Unhappy Typo

    Quote Originally Posted by rajibando View Post
    cp libflashlayer.so <BrowserPluginsLocation>
    is missing the letter "p" in libflashplayer.so

    Cheers!
    Krishna

  9. #9
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Mysore, India
    Posts
    272
    Quote Originally Posted by krishna.murphy View Post
    is missing the letter "p" in libflashplayer.so

    Cheers!
    Krishna
    It is because the original text file within the archive contains the error

  10. #10
    Moderator Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Asheville, NC, USA
    Posts
    528
    Quote Originally Posted by rajibando View Post
    It is because the original text file within the archive contains the error
    Correct - also explains the error message.

    Cheers!
    Krishna

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Intel Xeon 4210 Processor 10 Core 20 Thread | 3.20 GHz | 13.75 MB Cache SRFBL picture

Intel Xeon 4210 Processor 10 Core 20 Thread | 3.20 GHz | 13.75 MB Cache SRFBL

$240.00



Intel Xeon E5-2699 V4 2.20Ghz 22 Core 55MB Cache 2011-3 CPU SR2JS Tested Grade A picture

Intel Xeon E5-2699 V4 2.20Ghz 22 Core 55MB Cache 2011-3 CPU SR2JS Tested Grade A

$224.99



Intel Xeon E5-2697 V4 2.3Ghz 18 Core 45MB Cache 2011-3 CPU SR2JV Tested Grade A picture

Intel Xeon E5-2697 V4 2.3Ghz 18 Core 45MB Cache 2011-3 CPU SR2JV Tested Grade A

$94.99



Intel Xeon E5-2630 V3 - 2.40GHz Eight Core SR206 Processor picture

Intel Xeon E5-2630 V3 - 2.40GHz Eight Core SR206 Processor

$4.50



Intel Xeon E3-1275 v2 3.5GHz 8MB 5GT/s SR0PA LGA 1155 B Grade CPU Processor picture

Intel Xeon E3-1275 v2 3.5GHz 8MB 5GT/s SR0PA LGA 1155 B Grade CPU Processor

$30.00



Intel Xeon E5-2690v4 2.60GHz 14-Core 35Mb LGA2011-3 Processor SR2N2 picture

Intel Xeon E5-2690v4 2.60GHz 14-Core 35Mb LGA2011-3 Processor SR2N2

$54.95



Intel Xeon X5675 SLBYL 3.06GHz 6 Core LGA 1366 CPU Processor *km picture

Intel Xeon X5675 SLBYL 3.06GHz 6 Core LGA 1366 CPU Processor *km

$7.99



Dell Precision 7810 x2 Xeon E5-2620 v3 32GB 500GB HDD + x2 256GB SSD BTO *NO OS* picture

Dell Precision 7810 x2 Xeon E5-2620 v3 32GB 500GB HDD + x2 256GB SSD BTO *NO OS*

$179.00



Dell Precision T3500 Xeon Workstation Computer Windows 10 Home 8GB 250GB 500GB picture

Dell Precision T3500 Xeon Workstation Computer Windows 10 Home 8GB 250GB 500GB

$170.99



HP Z800 Workstation Intel Xeon 2.90 GHz 16 GB 500 GB Windows 10 Pro picture

HP Z800 Workstation Intel Xeon 2.90 GHz 16 GB 500 GB Windows 10 Pro

$219.99