Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Absolute beginner needs boot options

Absolute beginner needs boot options

Impressed by Knoppix I today succeeded in installing version 3.1. on my hard disk, after making a linux and swap partition using knx-hdinstall.
    However, now whenever I reboot I only have the Linux option and cannot select WIN98.

Attempts to reboot with a win98 start floppy showed that according to fdisk the active partition was the 98 one, but I still could not start win98 or access partition magic.

So how do I get to start with the other OS? Can (or must ) I set up multibooting from within Knoppix? Or set another partition as active? I have studied the FAQs in vain. There is reference to QTPARTED being included, but I cant find it. Nor for that matter can I find Kfind. The manual tells me it will be found "in several programs", but which?

Please bear with an absolute newbie who doesnt speak linux. (Is there a newbie forum anywhere?)

Any help with be gratefully recieved.

Roger

Senior Member registered user
    Boot to the hard drive install of knoppix open a console window (the clam shell icon on the taskbar) then su then enter key now enter the root password to become root. gvim /etc/lilo.conf and enter will open the lilo configuration file for editing use the down arrow to go to the bottom of the file you will see lines something like this.

Code:
    # other=/dev/hda
    #       label=Dos
    use the delete key to remove the # on both save the file and exit. Then while still at the root console /sbin/lilo will write the changes to the MBR and when you re-boot you now can have a choice of OS. BTW you can change the label= to Windows or Win98 if you want.