Thread: Appearant new bug

Appearant new bug

Hi, Ya all.

I am new to Knoppix, I just installed it two days ago, along with Ubuntu 12.10 in a dual boot system.

My reason for being here is two fold for the present. After spending the better part of the last two days installing and re-installing Knoppix on a partition on my SDD hard drive, I found that I have a bit of a problem that I am unable to resolve.

On my system I have three hard drives one is 500 GB, the second is a GPT formatted 3TB harddrive, and the last one is a 256GB SDD harddrive that my two operating systems are installed on.

The problem is that the GPT drive isn't being read right by both GParted, and Disk Utility in two different ways. In Disk Utility, my number one Partition is getting a Yellow flag warning that reads as follows:
    "Warning: The partition is aligned by 3072 bytes. This may result in very poor performance. Repartitioning is suggested."

I have repeatedly tried to repartition this and varied the start and end of the partition from up to 100MB, both at the same time, and used "align to Cylinders" multiple times, all to no avial. The message always comes back, and is always the same number of bytes. Also the drive is completely inaccessible.

Now in GParted The number one partition appears fine but the number three partition when it is mounted will show a yellow flag that states:

"Cannot find Mount point. Unable to read files or data on this partition.", or something of that nature. Also neither GParted nor Disk Utility will mount this partition. In order to mount it I have to go to Ubuntu and mount it in either GParted or Disk Utility, and come back to Knoppix in order to show the flag on it.