Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Getting knoppix updates

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    123

    Getting knoppix updates

    I open the terminal window and issue the command:
    "sudo apt-get update"

    This takes a while to run if I haven't updated in a while and runs pretty fast if I've updated recently.

    Seems strange to do this with a terminal command rather than a button or maybe something associated with the Synaptic Package Manager.

    New user Q.

  2. #2
    Moderator Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Germany/ Dietzenbach
    Posts
    1,124
    Linux users like the command line within the terminal

    But alternately you can use the "Reload" icon or "Edit =>Reload package information" within Synaptic.
    Last edited by Werner P. Schulz; 03-10-2013 at 01:50 PM.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    123
    Thanks for the information about the reload button within Synaptic Package Manager accessed from the menu "Preferences" item.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
SySTOR 1:16 SATA 3.5" Hard Disk Drive HDD/SSD Duplicator Copier Wiper - 150MB/s
$3481.75
SySTOR 1:16 SATA 3.5Samsung 970 EVO MZ-V7E2T0E 2 TB Solid State Drive - M.2 2280 Internal - PCI Expr
$399.0
Samsung 970 EVO MZ-V7E2T0E 2 TB Solid State Drive - M.2 2280 Internal - PCI Expr pictureDell Vostro 5581 i7-8565U Processor 256GB M.2 PCIe NVMe Solid State Drive 8GB, 1
$679.0
Dell Vostro 5581 i7-8565U Processor 256GB M.2 PCIe NVMe Solid State Drive 8GB, 1 pictureNetApp X447A-R6 800GB SSD SAS 6.0 Gbps 2.5' Drive.
$175.0
NetApp X447A-R6 800GB SSD SAS 6.0 Gbps 2.5' Drive. picture*USED* SAMSUNG 850 EVO SATA III 500GB SOLID STATE DRIVE
$0.01
*USED* SAMSUNG 850 EVO SATA III 500GB SOLID STATE DRIVE picture