Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 24

Thread: Using a Read-Only Persistence Capability in Knoppix LiveUSBs

  1. #11
    Moderator Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Germany/ Dietzenbach
    Posts
    1,124
    Caution! The size of '/tmp' is limited to 2 GB. I have had trouble with my script to remaster Knoppix. When I did CD remaster, all went well. But it takes a while to find the error when I did DVD remaster using '/tmp'-

  2. #12
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Columbia, Maryland USA
    Posts
    1,631
    Thanks for the warning, Werner.

    I was expecting the limit was 4 Gb, but I seem to remember there IS some
    uncertainty as to whether 2 Gb or 4 Gb is the limit. You've apparently
    'been there, done that'. If I understand you correctly, if I have a
    KNOPPIXn that is compressed to 2 Gb or more it will cause trouble
    expanding it on /tmp. Is that any different than expanding it to /?
    I'm assuming 2.5:1 compression here.

    I would have expected I might be able to
    conjure up a KNOPPIX-DATA of about 10 Gb and store that as 4 Gb cloop
    compressed on /mnt-system and sometime or other expand it again to
    10 Gb on /. All this assuming no file in KNOPPIX-DATA ever exceeds 4 Gb.

    Since my overlays are always incremental, small additions, I don't think
    this is a problem if I am limited to 5 Gb in reiser terms and compressed
    to 2 Gb on Fat32 on /mnt-system, but I can see this would be a problem
    for re-mastering.

    My understanding is that the limit is not a Fat32 limit per se, but
    rather a limit of iso9660 filesize ON fat32 filesystems.

  3. #13
    Moderator Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Germany/ Dietzenbach
    Posts
    1,124
    "df -h" shows the size of tmpfs mounted at '/tmp' is 2 GB. I've had the trouble while building new ISO of DVD at the point
    Code:
    genisoimage  ...  | create_compressed_fs  ....  -f /tmp  ...
    The uncompressed size of Knoppix CD is about 1.9 GB and compressed about 0.8 GB and it fits within '/tmp'. The uncompressed size of DVD is about 9 GB and compressed it exceeds for me the size of 4 GB and that didn't work. Now I use the option "-f /opt/knx/knoppix_tmp".

    The other problem while remaster Knoppix DVD: If I don't purge many big packages within DVD, I also cannot remaster a DVD, because the size limit for the new '/KNOPPIX/KNOPPIX' is 4 GB.
    Last edited by Werner P. Schulz; 03-29-2013 at 10:59 AM.

  4. #14
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Columbia, Maryland USA
    Posts
    1,631
    Quote Originally Posted by Werner P. Schulz View Post
    If I don't purge many big packages within DVD, I also cannot remaster a DVD, because the size limit for the new '/KNOPPIX/KNOPPIX' is 4 GB.
    Can't you break up the re-master into 4 Gb chunks?
    Isn't that how the Knoppix DVD is constructed?
    Doesn't it have KNOPPIX and KNOPPIX1 in /mnt-system/KNOPPIX/ ?
    And can't you add KNOPPIX2, KNOPPIX3, etc ?

    Also thanks for the clarification. I thought the KNOPPIX, KNOPPIX1, etc were
    limited to 4 Gb not 2 Gb, and didn't know where the 2 Gb limit came in.
    For my purposes, I don't need to play games with anything larger than 2 Gb on /tmp.
    I only use that to test out the syntax of some of my small backup programs.

  5. #15
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Columbia, Maryland USA
    Posts
    1,631

    Using ramdisk

    Quote Originally Posted by Blacksimon View Post
    I had already set up by default to move cromium cache, ~/.thumbnails, proxy cache to ramdisk.
    This also interesting.
    I had been establishing or re-establishing a reiserfs r/w persistence.
    An alternative might be to use the ramdisk as a temporary r/w (in ram) for
    some functions like *[Cc]ache* files.
    I assume if I use the cheatcode noimage and forget my reiserfs that sets this up.
    Not sure how to go about the re-routing of caches, however.

  6. #16
    Member Blacksimon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    93
    To move cromium cache in ramdisk you have to use
    Code:
    /usr/bin/chromium %U --disk-cache-dir="/ramdisk"
    right click on Menu/Internet/Browser web Chromium to change property or modify the Exec line in /home/knoppix/.local/share/application/Browser web Chromium.desktop file

    To move ~/.thumbnails in ramdisk you have to add in /etc/init.d/knoppix-autoconfig at line 739 (function start_fs) this code
    Code:
    [ -d /home/knoppix/.thumbnails ]  || mkdir /home/knoppix/.thumbnails
    mount -t tmpfs -o rw,size=200M,suid,dev tmpfs /home/knoppix/.thumbnails
    I think you can use even other directory

  7. #17
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Columbia, Maryland USA
    Posts
    1,631

    puzzled why the cache re-location effort here:

    Quote Originally Posted by Blacksimon View Post
    To move cromium cache in ramdisk you have to use...
    The chromium cache is already in ramdisk, operating without persistence. See
    Code:
    updatedb; locate *[Cc]ache* | grep chromium
    after booting with noimage and no prior re-arrangement of the cache.
    This cache's current contents are probably lost on re-boot of course.
    Last edited by utu; 03-30-2013 at 03:58 PM.

  8. #18
    Member Blacksimon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    93
    sure with noimage code and KNOPPIX1 always is in ramdisk
    post #16 was intended for normal r/w persistence which motivated the exclusion of cache in mkisofs in post #9

  9. #19
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Columbia, Maryland USA
    Posts
    1,631
    @Blacksimon
    My concern is that you _may_ have allotted chromium cache space in two places in ramdisk.
    If your intention is to end up with one chromium cache, I don't think you need to go through
    the extra effort you have provided. I think the cache just moves from r/w to ramdisk with no extra effort
    on your part. The exclude is still useful to minimize the what's in KNOPPIX1.
    Last edited by utu; 03-30-2013 at 08:06 PM.

  10. #20
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    802
    Quote Originally Posted by Werner P. Schulz View Post
    '~/.gvfs' isn't a ordinary file; it is the mountpoint for GVFS. Therefore you cannot delete or copy it.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GVFS
    All my self-created mount points can be deleted when not in use. And nothing seems to be mounted on my .gvfs, still there is no way to modify it using the ordinary file system commands. So .gvfs is something else, to me seemingly introducing new system features in userspace.

    Maybe no wonder Miguel de Icaza is now a dedicated Mac user...?

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Dell T7810 Workstation 1x E5-2603 v3 16GB RAM Nvidia QUADRO +cables picture

Dell T7810 Workstation 1x E5-2603 v3 16GB RAM Nvidia QUADRO +cables

$120.00



HP Z230 Workstation Towers Xeon E3-1231 V3 3.20ghz 8GB Ram NO HDD picture

HP Z230 Workstation Towers Xeon E3-1231 V3 3.20ghz 8GB Ram NO HDD

$39.96



GIGABYTE MB10-Datto Motherboard Xeon D-1521- SR2DF 2.40 GHz- Open Box picture

GIGABYTE MB10-Datto Motherboard Xeon D-1521- SR2DF 2.40 GHz- Open Box

$139.05



Dell Poweredge R730xd LFF 14-Bay 2U Server | Choose Your CPU & RAM Config picture

Dell Poweredge R730xd LFF 14-Bay 2U Server | Choose Your CPU & RAM Config

$489.99



SR1XP Intel Xeon E5-2680 v3 12 Core 30MB 2.5GHz LGA 2011-3 Grade A Processor picture

SR1XP Intel Xeon E5-2680 v3 12 Core 30MB 2.5GHz LGA 2011-3 Grade A Processor

$3.87



Intel SR1XD Xeon E5-2699V3 2.30Ghz 18-Core Socket 2011 CPU Processor Haswell picture

Intel SR1XD Xeon E5-2699V3 2.30Ghz 18-Core Socket 2011 CPU Processor Haswell

$35.00



Intel Xeon E5-2698V3 16 Core CPU Server Processor SR1XE, GRADE C,  TESTED picture

Intel Xeon E5-2698V3 16 Core CPU Server Processor SR1XE, GRADE C, TESTED

$17.00



Genuine Intel Xeon E5-2680V4 2.40Ghz 14-Core 35MB LGA2011 CPU P/N: SR2N7 picture

Genuine Intel Xeon E5-2680V4 2.40Ghz 14-Core 35MB LGA2011 CPU P/N: SR2N7

$14.99



Matched Pair __ Intel Xeon Gold 6152 2.1Ghz 22-Core 140W CPU SR3B4 picture

Matched Pair __ Intel Xeon Gold 6152 2.1Ghz 22-Core 140W CPU SR3B4

$204.95



HP Z440 Workstation 18Cores Xeon E5-2699 V3 128GB 1TB SSD 2TB WIFI WIN11 R5-340X picture

HP Z440 Workstation 18Cores Xeon E5-2699 V3 128GB 1TB SSD 2TB WIFI WIN11 R5-340X

$309.99