Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: NT domain

  1. #1
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    199

    NT domain

    how would one go about logging on to a NT domain at a workplace with knoppix? this is the ONE thing that is stopping me from using it at work...

  2. #2
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Thousand Oaks, CA
    Posts
    96
    from the knoppix box enter:

    mount -t smbfs -o username=winusername //server/share /mnt/yourmntdir

    You should then be prompted for your windows password and the share shoud mount at /mnt/yourmntdir.

    Do not write to ntfs partitions as it is not well supported. See below.

  3. #3
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    85
    I don't think it matters if you write to an NTFS partition over the network, because this is all handled by NetBios using samba and NT.
    It is not advised that you mount YOUR harddrive if it is NTFS and try to write to it.

  4. #4
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    199
    that wont work fr what i have in mind... I have 12 network mounts in windows( and i will not be the only user), is there any way to get them to mount with the NT Active Directory system?

  5. #5
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Thousand Oaks, CA
    Posts
    96
    I guess what you are looking for is a way to mount the Windows shares when you boot? If so, try adding this to your /etc/fstab file:

    //server/share /mnt/mntpoint smbfs user,auto,username=winusername,password=winuserpas wd 0 0

    If that works, make a similar entry for each share you want to mount.

    I believe you also need to make sure the mount-destination (/mnt/mntpoint/) is owned by the user who want's to mount.

    Good luck!
    Mike

  6. #6
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    199
    As i play with this more, i get more and more troubles... I dont know the servernames.... nor the path to the directories... All i have is the domain ilog into... any ideas how to track that info down?

  7. #7
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Thousand Oaks, CA
    Posts
    96
    Well.....there are a few ways to do this. Try this: From a logged in Windows box. Look at My Computer. Look at the mapped drives. Depending on the Windows OS you are using you should be able to see the share name and the server name in some fasion. In XP you may see for example
    "sharename on 'Description (servername)'(F:)"

    Note the sharename and servername. Now you need to ping the servername to find the IP address since your KNOPPIX box probably does not know how to resolve the servername. Enter the server name and IP address in your hosts file or use the IP address in your mount -t smbfs command for the servername.

    I think that should work. Good Luck. Mike

Similar Threads

  1. Logon to a Win Domain?
    By JonK in forum Networking
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-27-2005, 07:38 PM
  2. Domain Names
    By Kowood in forum The Lounge
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-16-2005, 11:20 AM
  3. Knoppix on a Windows NT Domain
    By poogrtfx in forum Networking
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-28-2005, 04:00 PM
  4. computer browse in domain through konqueror?
    By terminator in forum Networking
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-13-2004, 08:13 PM
  5. How do i log onto a windows domain?
    By -=NTL=- in forum Networking
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-24-2003, 11:43 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •