Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: dsl network enabled but internet not working

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    17

    dsl network enabled but internet not working

    Hello to all,I am using knoppix 7.2 , I seem to have some problems with accessing the internet. I have a dsl connection (dynamic ip) type and I enable it but the internet does not work , for example I can`t use the 'sudo apt-get' commands because it obviesly gives connection error but i can ping myself, altough I cant ping any other sites also note that there is no error in the network connection it seems to be connected and ok here are some command outputs:

    knoppix@Microknoppix:/etc$ ping localhost
    PING Microknoppix (127.0.0.1) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from Microknoppix (127.0.0.1): icmp_req=1 ttl=64 time=0.040 ms
    64 bytes from Microknoppix (127.0.0.1): icmp_req=2 ttl=64 time=0.041 ms
    64 bytes from Microknoppix (127.0.0.1): icmp_req=3 ttl=64 time=0.054 ms
    64 bytes from Microknoppix (127.0.0.1): icmp_req=4 ttl=64 time=0.043 ms
    64 bytes from Microknoppix (127.0.0.1): icmp_req=5 ttl=64 time=0.041 ms
    64 bytes from Microknoppix (127.0.0.1): icmp_req=6 ttl=64 time=0.043 ms
    64 bytes from Microknoppix (127.0.0.1): icmp_req=7 ttl=64 time=0.042 ms
    64 bytes from Microknoppix (127.0.0.1): icmp_req=8 ttl=64 time=0.040 ms
    64 bytes from Microknoppix (127.0.0.1): icmp_req=9 ttl=64 time=0.041 ms
    64 bytes from Microknoppix (127.0.0.1): icmp_req=10 ttl=64 time=0.043 ms
    64 bytes from Microknoppix (127.0.0.1): icmp_req=11 ttl=64 time=0.041 ms
    64 bytes from Microknoppix (127.0.0.1): icmp_req=12 ttl=64 time=0.042 ms
    64 bytes from Microknoppix (127.0.0.1): icmp_req=13 ttl=64 time=0.030 ms


    knoppix@Microknoppix:/etc$ ping google.com
    ping: unknown host google.com
    knoppix@Microknoppix:/etc$ ping www.google.com
    ping: unknown host www.google.com

    knoppix@Microknoppix:/etc$ ifconfig
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 50:e5:49:d7:5e:e9
    inet6 addr: fe80::52e5:49ff:fed7:5ee9/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:301 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:322 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:34475 (33.6 KiB) TX bytes:34144 (33.3 KiB)

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:65536 Metric:1
    RX packets:406 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:406 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:30808 (30.0 KiB) TX bytes:30808 (30.0 KiB)

    ppp0 Link encap:Point-to-Point Protocol
    inet addr:79.119.163.222 P-t-P:10.0.0.1 Mask:255.255.255.255
    inet6 addr: fe80::4f77:a3de/10 Scope:Link
    UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST MTU:1492 Metric:1
    RX packets:227 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:223 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
    RX bytes:24738 (24.1 KiB) TX bytes:21334 (20.8 KiB)

    resolv.conf is empty

    resolv.conf.tmp:

    # Generated by NetworkManager
    nameserver 193.231.252.1
    nameserver 213.154.124.1

    resolv.conf.pppd-backup.ppp0:

    # Generated by NetworkManager
    nameserver 193.231.252.1
    nameserver 213.154.124.1

    My internet connection worked well until now and work right now under windows xp, knoppix is on usb stick.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    17
    It`s been aalmost a week , can anybody provide an answer to my problem???

  3. #3
    Moderator Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Germany/ Dietzenbach
    Posts
    1,124
    Please tell us, which file do you have in '/etc/NetworkManager/system-connections' and what is the content of it? (You must be root to read it.)

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    17
    [pppoe]
    username='my username'
    password='and the password'

    [connection]
    id=RDS
    uuid=51867b63-ff06-4459-9a85-11fc3d816811
    type=pppoe
    autoconnect=false

    [ppp]
    lcp-echo-failure=5
    lcp-echo-interval=30

    [802-3-ethernet]
    duplex=full

    [ipv4]
    method=auto

    Everything coincides with what I`ve set up , the username and the password are ok too.
    This exact connection worked before but suddenly something happend.
    Could some ports be restricting packets???

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


NEW Sealed Cisco SFP-10G-LR 10GBASE-LR SFP+ 1310nm 10km *US Shipping* picture

NEW Sealed Cisco SFP-10G-LR 10GBASE-LR SFP+ 1310nm 10km *US Shipping*

$18.00



New Precision DWDM SFP+ 10G 80km Tunable Transceiver 50GHz C-Temp DWDM-SFP10G-C picture

New Precision DWDM SFP+ 10G 80km Tunable Transceiver 50GHz C-Temp DWDM-SFP10G-C

$90.00



New HP HPE Aruba J4858D 1G SFP LC SX 850nm  500m MMF XCVR Transceiver Module picture

New HP HPE Aruba J4858D 1G SFP LC SX 850nm 500m MMF XCVR Transceiver Module

$28.49



New Cisco SFP-25G-SR-S 25G SFP28 25GBASE-SR 850nm 300m LC MMF Transceiver Module picture

New Cisco SFP-25G-SR-S 25G SFP28 25GBASE-SR 850nm 300m LC MMF Transceiver Module

$51.30



GENUINE Cisco SFP-10G-SR V03 SFP+ GBIC Transceiver Module 10-2415-03 picture

GENUINE Cisco SFP-10G-SR V03 SFP+ GBIC Transceiver Module 10-2415-03

$6.80



🔥🔥🔥 CISCO SFP-10G-SR V03 10-2415-03 850nm 10GBASE-SR SFP+ Multi Module 🔥🔥🔥 picture

🔥🔥🔥 CISCO SFP-10G-SR V03 10-2415-03 850nm 10GBASE-SR SFP+ Multi Module 🔥🔥🔥

$6.80



NEW FS SFP-10G-T 10GBASE T SFP+ 30M Transceiver Module (Lot of 1 Unit) picture

NEW FS SFP-10G-T 10GBASE T SFP+ 30M Transceiver Module (Lot of 1 Unit)

$39.95



HP 10Gb SR SFP+ 10GBASE-SR 455885-001 10Gigabit Ethernet Transceiver 456096-001 picture

HP 10Gb SR SFP+ 10GBASE-SR 455885-001 10Gigabit Ethernet Transceiver 456096-001

$6.99



For Cisco SFP-10G-T, Ubiquiti UF-RJ45-10G Transceiver, SFP+ to RJ45 10GBase-T picture

For Cisco SFP-10G-T, Ubiquiti UF-RJ45-10G Transceiver, SFP+ to RJ45 10GBase-T

$45.99



New Cisco GLC-TE 1G SFP Copper RJ45 100m 1000BASE-T Transceiver Module picture

New Cisco GLC-TE 1G SFP Copper RJ45 100m 1000BASE-T Transceiver Module

$22.32