Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: dsl network enabled but internet not working

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    17

    dsl network enabled but internet not working

    Hello to all,I am using knoppix 7.2 , I seem to have some problems with accessing the internet. I have a dsl connection (dynamic ip) type and I enable it but the internet does not work , for example I can`t use the 'sudo apt-get' commands because it obviesly gives connection error but i can ping myself, altough I cant ping any other sites also note that there is no error in the network connection it seems to be connected and ok here are some command outputs:

    knoppix@Microknoppix:/etc$ ping localhost
    PING Microknoppix (127.0.0.1) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from Microknoppix (127.0.0.1): icmp_req=1 ttl=64 time=0.040 ms
    64 bytes from Microknoppix (127.0.0.1): icmp_req=2 ttl=64 time=0.041 ms
    64 bytes from Microknoppix (127.0.0.1): icmp_req=3 ttl=64 time=0.054 ms
    64 bytes from Microknoppix (127.0.0.1): icmp_req=4 ttl=64 time=0.043 ms
    64 bytes from Microknoppix (127.0.0.1): icmp_req=5 ttl=64 time=0.041 ms
    64 bytes from Microknoppix (127.0.0.1): icmp_req=6 ttl=64 time=0.043 ms
    64 bytes from Microknoppix (127.0.0.1): icmp_req=7 ttl=64 time=0.042 ms
    64 bytes from Microknoppix (127.0.0.1): icmp_req=8 ttl=64 time=0.040 ms
    64 bytes from Microknoppix (127.0.0.1): icmp_req=9 ttl=64 time=0.041 ms
    64 bytes from Microknoppix (127.0.0.1): icmp_req=10 ttl=64 time=0.043 ms
    64 bytes from Microknoppix (127.0.0.1): icmp_req=11 ttl=64 time=0.041 ms
    64 bytes from Microknoppix (127.0.0.1): icmp_req=12 ttl=64 time=0.042 ms
    64 bytes from Microknoppix (127.0.0.1): icmp_req=13 ttl=64 time=0.030 ms


    knoppix@Microknoppix:/etc$ ping google.com
    ping: unknown host google.com
    knoppix@Microknoppix:/etc$ ping www.google.com
    ping: unknown host www.google.com

    knoppix@Microknoppix:/etc$ ifconfig
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 50:e5:49:d7:5e:e9
    inet6 addr: fe80::52e5:49ff:fed7:5ee9/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:301 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:322 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:34475 (33.6 KiB) TX bytes:34144 (33.3 KiB)

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:65536 Metric:1
    RX packets:406 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:406 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:30808 (30.0 KiB) TX bytes:30808 (30.0 KiB)

    ppp0 Link encap:Point-to-Point Protocol
    inet addr:79.119.163.222 P-t-P:10.0.0.1 Mask:255.255.255.255
    inet6 addr: fe80::4f77:a3de/10 Scope:Link
    UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST MTU:1492 Metric:1
    RX packets:227 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:223 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
    RX bytes:24738 (24.1 KiB) TX bytes:21334 (20.8 KiB)

    resolv.conf is empty

    resolv.conf.tmp:

    # Generated by NetworkManager
    nameserver 193.231.252.1
    nameserver 213.154.124.1

    resolv.conf.pppd-backup.ppp0:

    # Generated by NetworkManager
    nameserver 193.231.252.1
    nameserver 213.154.124.1

    My internet connection worked well until now and work right now under windows xp, knoppix is on usb stick.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    17
    It`s been aalmost a week , can anybody provide an answer to my problem???

  3. #3
    Moderator Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Germany/ Dietzenbach
    Posts
    1,124
    Please tell us, which file do you have in '/etc/NetworkManager/system-connections' and what is the content of it? (You must be root to read it.)

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    17
    [pppoe]
    username='my username'
    password='and the password'

    [connection]
    id=RDS
    uuid=51867b63-ff06-4459-9a85-11fc3d816811
    type=pppoe
    autoconnect=false

    [ppp]
    lcp-echo-failure=5
    lcp-echo-interval=30

    [802-3-ethernet]
    duplex=full

    [ipv4]
    method=auto

    Everything coincides with what I`ve set up , the username and the password are ok too.
    This exact connection worked before but suddenly something happend.
    Could some ports be restricting packets???

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Supermicro 2U Server 8 HD Bay 3.5 LFF E ATX Storage Chassis TQ Direct Connect picture

Supermicro 2U Server 8 HD Bay 3.5 LFF E ATX Storage Chassis TQ Direct Connect

$199.00



Asus 1U 4 Bay LFF Server 2x Intel Xeon 3.3Ghz 8C E5-2667 V2 16GB 4x1GBE No Caddy picture

Asus 1U 4 Bay LFF Server 2x Intel Xeon 3.3Ghz 8C E5-2667 V2 16GB 4x1GBE No Caddy

$200.00



Supermicro 2U Server 24 Caddy Bay 2.5 SFF E ATX Storage Chassis CSE-216A Rail 2P picture

Supermicro 2U Server 24 Caddy Bay 2.5 SFF E ATX Storage Chassis CSE-216A Rail 2P

$275.00



Supermicro 1U Server 10 BAY SFF 2x Xeon E5-2667 v2 3.30Ghz 128GB 2x 10GBase-T picture

Supermicro 1U Server 10 BAY SFF 2x Xeon E5-2667 v2 3.30Ghz 128GB 2x 10GBase-T

$279.00



HPE ProLiant EC200a Mini Server, Xeon D1518 2.2GHz CPU picture

HPE ProLiant EC200a Mini Server, Xeon D1518 2.2GHz CPU

$199.00



Dell Poweredge R410 2 X SIX CORE 2.40GHZ E5645 32GB RAM 500GB HHD SERVER QTY picture

Dell Poweredge R410 2 X SIX CORE 2.40GHZ E5645 32GB RAM 500GB HHD SERVER QTY

$159.99



Dell PowerEdge R710 2U Server 2x X5675 3.06GHZ 12-Core / 32gb / 2xTrays / Perc6i picture

Dell PowerEdge R710 2U Server 2x X5675 3.06GHZ 12-Core / 32gb / 2xTrays / Perc6i

$159.99



HYVE ZEUS V1 1U SERVER 2x XEON EIGHT CORE E5-2680 2.7GHz 16GB RAM NO HDD picture

HYVE ZEUS V1 1U SERVER 2x XEON EIGHT CORE E5-2680 2.7GHz 16GB RAM NO HDD

$144.00



Storage Server Starter Kit - 2U 12 Bay Xeon 2x 2.6Ghz 8 Cores 32GB RAM HBA RAILS picture

Storage Server Starter Kit - 2U 12 Bay Xeon 2x 2.6Ghz 8 Cores 32GB RAM HBA RAILS

$369.00



Dell PowerEdge R620 Server | 2x E5-2670 16 Cores | 96GB | H710 | 2x 600GB 10K  picture

Dell PowerEdge R620 Server | 2x E5-2670 16 Cores | 96GB | H710 | 2x 600GB 10K

$365.95