Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: dsl network enabled but internet not working

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    17

    dsl network enabled but internet not working

    Hello to all,I am using knoppix 7.2 , I seem to have some problems with accessing the internet. I have a dsl connection (dynamic ip) type and I enable it but the internet does not work , for example I can`t use the 'sudo apt-get' commands because it obviesly gives connection error but i can ping myself, altough I cant ping any other sites also note that there is no error in the network connection it seems to be connected and ok here are some command outputs:

    knoppix@Microknoppix:/etc$ ping localhost
    PING Microknoppix (127.0.0.1) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from Microknoppix (127.0.0.1): icmp_req=1 ttl=64 time=0.040 ms
    64 bytes from Microknoppix (127.0.0.1): icmp_req=2 ttl=64 time=0.041 ms
    64 bytes from Microknoppix (127.0.0.1): icmp_req=3 ttl=64 time=0.054 ms
    64 bytes from Microknoppix (127.0.0.1): icmp_req=4 ttl=64 time=0.043 ms
    64 bytes from Microknoppix (127.0.0.1): icmp_req=5 ttl=64 time=0.041 ms
    64 bytes from Microknoppix (127.0.0.1): icmp_req=6 ttl=64 time=0.043 ms
    64 bytes from Microknoppix (127.0.0.1): icmp_req=7 ttl=64 time=0.042 ms
    64 bytes from Microknoppix (127.0.0.1): icmp_req=8 ttl=64 time=0.040 ms
    64 bytes from Microknoppix (127.0.0.1): icmp_req=9 ttl=64 time=0.041 ms
    64 bytes from Microknoppix (127.0.0.1): icmp_req=10 ttl=64 time=0.043 ms
    64 bytes from Microknoppix (127.0.0.1): icmp_req=11 ttl=64 time=0.041 ms
    64 bytes from Microknoppix (127.0.0.1): icmp_req=12 ttl=64 time=0.042 ms
    64 bytes from Microknoppix (127.0.0.1): icmp_req=13 ttl=64 time=0.030 ms


    knoppix@Microknoppix:/etc$ ping google.com
    ping: unknown host google.com
    knoppix@Microknoppix:/etc$ ping www.google.com
    ping: unknown host www.google.com

    knoppix@Microknoppix:/etc$ ifconfig
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 50:e5:49:d7:5e:e9
    inet6 addr: fe80::52e5:49ff:fed7:5ee9/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:301 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:322 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:34475 (33.6 KiB) TX bytes:34144 (33.3 KiB)

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:65536 Metric:1
    RX packets:406 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:406 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:30808 (30.0 KiB) TX bytes:30808 (30.0 KiB)

    ppp0 Link encap:Point-to-Point Protocol
    inet addr:79.119.163.222 P-t-P:10.0.0.1 Mask:255.255.255.255
    inet6 addr: fe80::4f77:a3de/10 Scope:Link
    UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST MTU:1492 Metric:1
    RX packets:227 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:223 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
    RX bytes:24738 (24.1 KiB) TX bytes:21334 (20.8 KiB)

    resolv.conf is empty

    resolv.conf.tmp:

    # Generated by NetworkManager
    nameserver 193.231.252.1
    nameserver 213.154.124.1

    resolv.conf.pppd-backup.ppp0:

    # Generated by NetworkManager
    nameserver 193.231.252.1
    nameserver 213.154.124.1

    My internet connection worked well until now and work right now under windows xp, knoppix is on usb stick.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    17
    It`s been aalmost a week , can anybody provide an answer to my problem???

  3. #3
    Moderator Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Germany/ Dietzenbach
    Posts
    1,124
    Please tell us, which file do you have in '/etc/NetworkManager/system-connections' and what is the content of it? (You must be root to read it.)

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    17
    [pppoe]
    username='my username'
    password='and the password'

    [connection]
    id=RDS
    uuid=51867b63-ff06-4459-9a85-11fc3d816811
    type=pppoe
    autoconnect=false

    [ppp]
    lcp-echo-failure=5
    lcp-echo-interval=30

    [802-3-ethernet]
    duplex=full

    [ipv4]
    method=auto

    Everything coincides with what I`ve set up , the username and the password are ok too.
    This exact connection worked before but suddenly something happend.
    Could some ports be restricting packets???

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Kingston HyperX FURY DDR3 8GB 16GB 32G 1600 1866 1333 Desktop Memory RAM DIMM picture

Kingston HyperX FURY DDR3 8GB 16GB 32G 1600 1866 1333 Desktop Memory RAM DIMM

$39.95



A-Tech 8GB DDR3 1600 PC3-12800 Laptop SODIMM 204-Pin Memory RAM PC3L DDR3L 1x 8G picture

A-Tech 8GB DDR3 1600 PC3-12800 Laptop SODIMM 204-Pin Memory RAM PC3L DDR3L 1x 8G

$13.99



Team T-FORCE VULCAN Z 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin PC RAM DDR4 3200 (PC4 25600) Intel picture

Team T-FORCE VULCAN Z 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin PC RAM DDR4 3200 (PC4 25600) Intel

$33.99



HP 15.6

HP 15.6" FHD Notebook AMD Ryzen 5 5500U 16GB RAM 512GB SSD Natural Silver

$339.99



HyperX FURY DDR3 8GB 16GB 32GB 1600 MHz PC3-12800 Desktop RAM Memory DIMM 240pin picture

HyperX FURY DDR3 8GB 16GB 32GB 1600 MHz PC3-12800 Desktop RAM Memory DIMM 240pin

$15.90



Samsung 16GB (4x4GB) 1Rx8 PC3-12800U 1600Mhz DDR3 RAM Memory M378B5273DH0-CK0 picture

Samsung 16GB (4x4GB) 1Rx8 PC3-12800U 1600Mhz DDR3 RAM Memory M378B5273DH0-CK0

$14.00



Team T-FORCE VULCAN Z 32GB (2 x 16GB) PC RAM DDR4 3200 (PC4 25600) Memory picture

Team T-FORCE VULCAN Z 32GB (2 x 16GB) PC RAM DDR4 3200 (PC4 25600) Memory

$54.99



HyperX FURY RAM DDR4 16GB 8GB 32GB 4GB 3200 2666 2400 2133 Desktop Memory DIMM picture

HyperX FURY RAM DDR4 16GB 8GB 32GB 4GB 3200 2666 2400 2133 Desktop Memory DIMM

$9.64



Samsung 64GB DDR4 2666MHz PC4-21300 ECC SDRAM Server Memory RAM DIMM 288PIN picture

Samsung 64GB DDR4 2666MHz PC4-21300 ECC SDRAM Server Memory RAM DIMM 288PIN

$44.83



Lot of 50 4GB DDR3 PC3 Sticks Desktop Ram - mixed speeds and brands picture

Lot of 50 4GB DDR3 PC3 Sticks Desktop Ram - mixed speeds and brands

$79.69