Thread: kn-backup.sh wont recognise ext2 partition

kn-backup.sh wont recognise ext2 partition

Hi all,
    I've installed knoppix7 to a 16Gb USB memory stick (/dev/sdb1) which I have been using for approx 12 months. Up till now, whenever I make changes to my system I manually backup knoppix-data.img to my HHD, however, I have just discovered kn-backup.sh on http://www.wp-schulz.de/.
    I downloaded sh-backup.sh and installed to /usr/sbin. Using another 16Gb USB memory stick (which incidentally was formatted with knoppix7 on it) I have created a second 8Gb primary partition formatted to ext2 using gparted. When I run "sudo testdisk /list" I get the follow:

Code:
    Disk /dev/sda - 15 GB / 14 GiB - CHS 14786 64 32
         Partition			Start        End    Size in sectors
     1 * FAT32 LBA                3  60  1 14786  39 32   30274944 [KNOPPIX]

Warning: Bad ending sector (CHS and LBA don't match)
    Disk /dev/sdb - 15 GB / 14 GiB - CHS 14900 64 32
         Partition			Start        End    Size in sectors
     1 * FAT32 LBA                3  60  1  8712  63 32   17836160 [KNOPPIX2]

Bad relative sector.
     2 P Linux                 8713   0  1 14899  63 32   12670976 [Backups]
    I presume the warnings above regarding CHS and LBA is because knoppix formats these disks according to MiB and not cylinder boundaries.
    When I run kn-backup and select "Backup whole persistent memory" I get the following error: "Cannot find any partition to use!"
    I have read all relevant info on http://www.wp-schulz.de/ and can't see where I am going wrong...please help!

Moderator Moderator
    Yes, there is a problem and I'll look for it this night.
    Last edited by Werner P. Schulz; 03-06-2014 at 08:04 PM.

The new version of kn-backup.sh works GREAT!

Hi Werner,