Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Alt-Tab isn't working on 7.3 or 7.4

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    80

    Alt-Tab isn't working on 7.3 or 7.4

    Hi all, Just got around to downloading 7.4 and am encountering problems with using Alt+tab to switch applications.

    It worked in 7.2, but not 7.3 or 7.4.

    I rely on this a keystroke a lot and it totally bugs me that it doesn't work. Note that I'm using knoppix64 and "no3d" so compiz isn't running.

    I looked at the file ~/.config/openbox/lxde-rc.xml and it looked fine, the relevant part being:

    <!-- Keybindings for window switching -->
    <keybind key="A-Tab">
    <action name="NextWindow"/>
    </keybind>
    <keybind key="A-S-Tab">
    <action name="PreviousWindow"/>
    <keybind key="C-A-Tab">
    <action name="NextWindow">
    <panels>yes</panels><desktop>yes</desktop>
    </action>
    </keybind>

    and it all looks good, it just doesn't work.

    Ctrl+Alt+Tab works (and does something that switches between Panel and pcmanfm???) ,
    and Alt+Escape works fine (which can be used as a workaround...)

    <!-- Keybindings for windows -->
    <keybind key="A-F4">
    <action name="Close"/>
    </keybind>
    <keybind key="A-Escape">
    <action name="Lower"/>
    <action name="FocusToBottom"/>
    <action name="Unfocus"/>
    </keybind>
    <keybind key="A-space">
    <action name="ShowMenu"><menu>client-menu</menu></action>
    </keybind>


    Can you help me figure this out?

    Thanks, Don
    Last edited by don999; 09-14-2014 at 03:27 PM.

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Columbia, Maryland USA
    Posts
    1,631

    Confirm your complaint

    Quote Originally Posted by don999 View Post
    Hi all, Just got around to downloading 7.4 and am encountering problems with using Alt+tab to switch applications.

    It worked in 7.2, but not 7.3 or 7.4.

    I rely on this a keystroke a lot and it totally bugs me that it doesn't work. Note that I'm using knoppix64 and "no3d" so compiz isn't running.
    Greetings, don.
    I confirm that for my 64-bit Knoppix 7.4.0, alt-tab works ok with compiz (as a ring-switcher),
    but alt-tab doesn't appear to do anything when using no3d cheatcode.

  3. #3
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    44
    This problem may be due to Metacity getting crappier and crappier by each version, see Klaus' entry in http://knoppix.net/forum/showthread.php?30005-Knoppix-7-0-3-LXDE-Alt-F1-ignored-does-not-open-main-menu&p=127469

    Please Klaus, make OpenBox replace Metacity for the no3d option. OpenBox is the defult window manager for LXDE.
    Last edited by fredvej; 09-15-2014 at 05:59 PM.

  4. #4
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Columbia, Maryland USA
    Posts
    1,631
    Quote Originally Posted by fredvej
    Please Klaus, make OpenBox replace Metacity for the no3d option.
    Suggestions more likely to be heard at the developer's site:
    https://lists.debian.org/debian-knoppix/2014/09/

  5. #5
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    80
    I didn't know that there were technical problems for why the Alt+Tab doesn't work under the "no3d" cheatcode. That also explains why the printscreen key lost its screenshot capabilities.

    I've gotten so used to the Alt+Tab keystroke that it feels so strange when it doesn't work. I'd use compiz if it weren't so ridiculous in some ways. I find it really jarring to move the mouse up in the corner and have my windows start flying around.

    Don

  6. #6
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Columbia, Maryland USA
    Posts
    1,631
    Quote Originally Posted by don999 View Post
    I'd use compiz if it weren't so ridiculous in some ways. I find it really jarring to move the mouse up in the corner and have my windows start flying around.
    Greetings, Don.
    Have you tried using ccsm to disable scale and expo?

  7. #7
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    80
    Quote Originally Posted by utu View Post
    Greetings, Don.
    Have you tried using ccsm to disable scale and expo?
    Hi Utu,

    Thanks for your suggestion.

    Yes, I could disable all of the compiz goodness but it's just so easy to type "no3d"

    I kind of like everything to be set up to go and run from the "stock" setup so I don't have to fiddle too much. Sometimes I'll forget to type "no3d" and my windows will start flying around again while I hunt for the close box

  8. #8
    Hi!

    same trouble here, my computer is slow because of compiz, so I use no3d
    but I can't use Alt-Tab any more...

    any simple issue?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Dell PowerEdge R620 Server | 2x E5-2670 = 16 Cores | 32GB RAM | H710 | 2x 600GB picture

Dell PowerEdge R620 Server | 2x E5-2670 = 16 Cores | 32GB RAM | H710 | 2x 600GB

$312.00



DELL Poweredge E10S R210 4GB RAM 2.4GHZ 1U Server MW3H2 picture

DELL Poweredge E10S R210 4GB RAM 2.4GHZ 1U Server MW3H2

$39.00



Dell PowerEdge R720 Server / 2x E5-2670 V2 =20 Cores / 128GB RAM / 4x Trays picture

Dell PowerEdge R720 Server / 2x E5-2670 V2 =20 Cores / 128GB RAM / 4x Trays

$558.40



Dell PowerEdge T610 Tower Server - CTO Wholesale Custom to Order picture

Dell PowerEdge T610 Tower Server - CTO Wholesale Custom to Order

$180.19



Dell Poweredge R410 2 X SIX CORE 2.40GHZ E5645 32GB RAM 500GB HHD SERVER QTY picture

Dell Poweredge R410 2 X SIX CORE 2.40GHZ E5645 32GB RAM 500GB HHD SERVER QTY

$159.99



Dell PowerEdge R620 1U Server - 2X E5-2630 Hex Core/64GB/H310 RAID/2X 300GB SAS picture

Dell PowerEdge R620 1U Server - 2X E5-2630 Hex Core/64GB/H310 RAID/2X 300GB SAS

$174.99



Dell Poweredge R220 Server Xeon E3-1271 v3 3.6ghz Quad Core / 16gb / 1x Tray picture

Dell Poweredge R220 Server Xeon E3-1271 v3 3.6ghz Quad Core / 16gb / 1x Tray

$156.99



Dell Poweredge R210 II Server Xeon E3-1240 v2 3.4ghz Quad Core / 8gb / 1x Tray picture

Dell Poweredge R210 II Server Xeon E3-1240 v2 3.4ghz Quad Core / 8gb / 1x Tray

$109.99



Dell PowerEdge R510 Server  2X 2.80GHz 6 Cores  32 GB  36TB Storage Linux picture

Dell PowerEdge R510 Server 2X 2.80GHz 6 Cores 32 GB 36TB Storage Linux

$265.00



Dell PowerEdge R620 Server | 2x E5-2670 16 Cores | 96GB | H710 | 2x 600GB 10K  picture

Dell PowerEdge R620 Server | 2x E5-2670 16 Cores | 96GB | H710 | 2x 600GB 10K

$372.80