Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Knoppix 7.4 flash-knoppix command-line example

  1. #1
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Columbia, Maryland USA
    Posts
    1,631

    Knoppix 7.4 flash-knoppix command-line example

    .
    Unbeknownst to some of us, Klaus K included a useful new command-line
    feature in Version 7.4 Knoppixes.

    This is to provide an example of a new capability in Knoppix 7.4 to create
    a LiveUSB directly from a downloaded Knoppix LiveCD- or LiveDVD- iso,
    without first actually making a LiveCD or LiveDVD for that iso.

    Using a Knoppix 7.4 LiveCD, LiveDVD or LiveUSB command line
    Code:
    flash-knoppix KNOPPIX_V7.4.2DVD-2014-09-28-EN.iso
    brings up a usage chart which will allow creating a 7.4.2 LiveUSB directly
    from this iso definition, which if correct and found, doesn't itself need repeating.
    The usage chart looks like this:
    Code:
    Usage: /usr/bin/flash-knoppix [-a] [-f] [-m i|p|n] [-p mb] [image|dir] [target_device]
           -a            Allow fixed disks
           -f            Force overwrite, no questions (batch mode)
           -m i          Method: Create overlay image
           -m p          Method: Create overlay partition (recommended)
           -m n          Method: No overlay (read only)
           -p mb         Overlay partition or image size in MB >= 200
           image.iso     Loopmount source ISO file
           dir           Source data directory containing files
           target_device Destination block device (flash disk)
    For my 16 Gb SanDisk at /dev/sdc and my iso at /media/sda3/isos, and
    assuming 5 Gb for reiserfs persistence, the usage which worked was:
    Code:
    /usr/bin/flash-knoppix -m p -p 5000 /media/sda3/isos /dev/sdc
    FWIW, I download & keep my isos on a Win7 ntfs partition.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    152
    @ utu

    Thanks for your interesting tip, unknown to me and probably to many.

    Now rather off topic, I notice that the text of your post covers less than half of the left-hand side of the page and the visible parts of the code boxes are shrunk and require much scrolling. This happens when reading with Firefox or Chromium, not with IE.

    I also see this weird display with other contributors from time to time.

    Regards.
    Last edited by philo; 11-10-2014 at 09:22 PM.

  3. #3
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Columbia, Maryland USA
    Posts
    1,631
    Quote Originally Posted by philo View Post
    text of your post covers less than half of the left-hand side of the page and the visible parts of the code boxes are shrunk and require much scrolling.
    I don't care for text running from side-to-side on an hd display, so I compose
    off-line in a text editor usually.

    I should probably learn how to shorten the width and extend the height of some
    of the forum editor's forms; I have't take the time to do so.

    Forum editor code & quote keywords help preserve whitespace, where it is useful in
    conveying what's actually seen on a terminal.

    Perhaps you can give us some good non-weird examples to guide our efforts.
    I didn't see any among your 41 posts so far.
    Last edited by utu; 11-11-2014 at 01:28 AM.

  4. #4
    Moderator Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Germany/ Dietzenbach
    Posts
    1,124
    ..and the visible parts of the code boxes are shrunk and require much scrolling.
    This is not a bug of the Forum software.Whether you have to use horizontal scrolling or not for the code-box depends on your local situation: size of the monitor (for example 10 or 22 inch), of the used browser (most of them interprets HTML code a little different) and - very important - of the used font and fontsize within the different browsers.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    152
    @utu

    I do not see this happening with any of 'my' own posts. But to illlustrate, it is the case with post #1 of this thread, but not witth posts #2,3 and 4 .

    @ Werner

    I use a 17" monitor and my font faces & sizes are normal.

    It is only a trivial matter. Other readers of Knoppix forums must have had a similar experience at times but nobody bothered to report it...

  6. #6
    Moderator Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Germany/ Dietzenbach
    Posts
    1,124
    Oh, I see. In posting #1 there are hard-coded line feeds at the end of the lines produced with an editor software. Other posters (me to) uses only paragraphs and let the HTML software do the automatic wordwrap.

    If somebody creates his posting within an editor first, he should use an editor like for example Geany with the ability of visual linebreak.
    I use a 17" monitor and my font faces & sizes are normal.
    What is "normal"? If I use a fontsize 10 I don't need horizontal scrolling for the codebox of posting #1. but with fontsize 16 i have to scroll.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    44
    Hello, utu.
    I'm on Knoppix 7.7 trying to create a LiveUSB on a 32Gb pendrive for Knoppix 8.1 using flash-knoppix.
    My .iso file is here
    knoppix@Microknoppix:~/Downloads/Torrents/KNOPPIX_V8.1-2017-09-05-EN$ ls
    knoppix-cheatcodes.txt
    KNOPPIX_V8.1-2017-09-05-EN.iso
    My pendrive is here:
    knoppix@Microknoppix:/media/sdc1$ pwd
    /media/sdc1
    When I type
    /usr/bin/flash-knoppix -m p -p 20000 /home/knoppix/Downloads/Torrents/KNOPPIX_V8.1-2017-09-05-EN/KNOPPIX_V8.1-2017-09-05-EN.iso /media/sdc1
    the OS says
    mount: /media/sdc1: failed to setup loop device: Invalid argument
    and when typing sdc instead of sdc1 it answers giving the usage of flash-knoppix.

    Any suggestion, please?

  8. #8
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    44
    @Porteņo: /media/sdc1 is the mountpoint where you have mounted the file system in partition 1 on the sdc device. /media/sdc does not exist.

    flash-knoppix wants a device to write on, not a file system. I guess that all partitions on the device must be unmounted to make the device available for writing.

    Try this:
    umount /media/sdc1
    /usr/bin/flash-knoppix -m p -p 20000 /home/knoppix/Downloads/Torrents/KNOPPIX_V8.1-2017-09-05-EN/KNOPPIX_V8.1-2017-09-05-EN.iso /dev/sdc

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    44
    Thank you, it worked!

    I'm having some issues with knoppix 8.1, after checking file integrity will ask to the community.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


8 Port PoE Switch With 2 Uplink 120W Extend to 250Meter Unmanaged 803.af/at picture

8 Port PoE Switch With 2 Uplink 120W Extend to 250Meter Unmanaged 803.af/at

$39.99



Tenda TEG1024D 24-Port Switch 10/100/1000 Mbps Gigabit Ethernet Unmanaged Switch picture

Tenda TEG1024D 24-Port Switch 10/100/1000 Mbps Gigabit Ethernet Unmanaged Switch

$86.39



New RJ45 MINI 5-Ports Fast Ethernet Network Black Switch Hub for Desktop PC picture

New RJ45 MINI 5-Ports Fast Ethernet Network Black Switch Hub for Desktop PC

$8.99



8Port Gigabit Ethernet 10/100/1000Mbps Switch Lan Hub Adapter for Router & Modem picture

8Port Gigabit Ethernet 10/100/1000Mbps Switch Lan Hub Adapter for Router & Modem

$24.98



Tenda SG108 Network Gigabit Switch 8 Port 10/100/1000Mbps Wired Ethernet Lan Hub picture

Tenda SG108 Network Gigabit Switch 8 Port 10/100/1000Mbps Wired Ethernet Lan Hub

$19.99



Tenda 5 Port Gigabit Ethernet Desktop Network Switch picture

Tenda 5 Port Gigabit Ethernet Desktop Network Switch

$11.99



HP ProCurve J9624A 2620-24 PoE+ Ethernet Network Switch w/ Ears - Rack Mountable picture

HP ProCurve J9624A 2620-24 PoE+ Ethernet Network Switch w/ Ears - Rack Mountable

$39.98



Ubiquiti Networks UniFi Switch 5Port Managed Gigabit PoE Network Switch USW-FLEX picture

Ubiquiti Networks UniFi Switch 5Port Managed Gigabit PoE Network Switch USW-FLEX

$127.99



NETGEAR 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Unmanaged Switch (GS305) - Home Network Hub, ... picture

NETGEAR 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Unmanaged Switch (GS305) - Home Network Hub, ...

$18.85



8 Port Network Switch 10/100Mbps Ethernet Switcher Desktop NEW USA picture

8 Port Network Switch 10/100Mbps Ethernet Switcher Desktop NEW USA

$14.99