Thread: I want to use this but..

I want to use this but..

My situation is this.. I have a 64 bit sont vaio whose hard drive is dying, and I teach for a living and I need virtualbox for my lessons. I found knoppix and installed it to a usb and booted it and i love it. However when i tried to use the virtualbox that was installed I got errors of wrong version. So then I tried to install via gdeb the 64 bit virtualbox .deb file for debian wheezy from their site but then it told me my architecture was not amd64. So I did arch and found it shows as x86_64. Then i did uname -a and found it showed the kernel as 3.16.3_64 (by the way im using 7.4.2 dvd version and I started the boot by typing knoppix64) so I could see that I was 64 bit. Then I looked at system monitor and saw it recognized my full 8gb of ram and not just 4gb, so this told me it was correct. Now when I do a uname -p it says unkown so Im not sure if my intel board is not showing up as the words amd64 or what the deal is. Bottom line is I would love to use knoppix on my usb, but I have to have 64 bit virtualbox installed to run some 64 bit vms I have on a separate hard drive. Can anyone help me?

Senior Member registered user
    Greetings and welcome to the forum.

Knoppix 7.4.2 will recognize a 64-bit computer and install a 64-bit kernel at boot.
    This will help recognize more than 3+ Gb ram and will work with 64-bit uefi but
    that's about it. This Knoppix, and earlier ones as well, only provide 32-bit libraries
    to support apps.

You may research this forum and find how some of the advanced members have worked
    around this to some success.
    Last edited by utu; 04-09-2015 at 06:27 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by utu View Post
    You may research this forum and find how some of the advanced members have worked around this to some success.
    For example, use 'libraries' in the Advanced Search box in the upper right corner of the forum screen to search.