Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22

Thread: Dazed and Confused New Old User

  1. #11
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Mysore, India
    Posts
    241
    root is nothing out of the world. It is opening a terminal or a file manager with root privileges. See accessories / root terminal.
    If you have solved your problem there is no need to look into my posts.
    Good wishes.

  2. #12
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    38

    Have you done this yet?

    Quote Originally Posted by Chuck E View Post
    I know I've got a lot of reading to do but I just need to vent about my frustrations at this point ...
    Hi Chuck E,

    Have you ever disassembled the Dell Latitude D610; this Dell
    model seems to be about 10 years old or more. I see the reviews
    online for this Dell model when it first arrived on the market
    for sale; it had Windows XP installed from the manufacturer.
    I have had tons of problems with (some) laptops getting too
    hot because of their design flaws.They will gather together plenty
    of dust within their tiny structure and this causes problems;
    overheating is one of those problems that dust accumulation
    causes.


    I've had two HP TouchSmart tx2-1000 and 2500 models
    get so hot that they would not boot up after I turned them off.
    They both cost nearly $2000 or more when new. Someone gave
    them to me, free, recently in 2014. They were "junk" when "new"
    and they remain, permanently, in that category, along with any
    other HP TouchSmart tx2 cloned contraptions. HP should be
    ashamed, if they're, indeed, capable of sorrow at all. The
    engineers knew, full well, the design flaws that caused these
    laptops to run much too hot, even when new and without any
    dust whatsoever in the machine case. Millions of people are, and
    have been, complaining online for years about this HP Touch-
    Smart tx2 not booting and not showing any video.

    I took mine completely apart, all the way to the motherboard
    and beyond, and cleaned any dust that I could find and also took
    the central processing unit's (and the graphics processing unit's)
    heat sinks off and reapplied the Arctic Silver paste between both
    heat sinks and both processors. I cobbled both of these tx2
    worthless rubbish back to their poorly contrived new condition
    and they booted up just fine and stayed on for days. They both
    were still getting extremely hot and way-over the danger zone
    according to that "sensors" particular command in Linux. When
    you see the very cheap quality level, and the very tiny size, of
    the ventilation fan on these models, you will laugh out loud!!!

    Your efforts to decode your many problems with laptops will
    advance much better when you start with an apparatus that's
    uncontaminated with years (or months) of dust. I sometimes use
    an HP ze5000 laptop made in 2002, that was also given to me,
    and it works good. It's been taken completely apart half a dozen
    times or more. When you do it a few times, it gets easier and
    easier. I often exhibit a sentimental yearning of a return to some
    past period when I give work to this prehistoric appliance.



    ----
    Full quote deleted by mod.
    Please select only the parts you really refer to.
    Last edited by Werner P. Schulz; 06-12-2015 at 04:29 PM.

  3. #13
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Mysore, India
    Posts
    241
    Don't worry, BMS If he had successfully used Knoppix 5.something he could still use 5.something if he followed my instructions, even installing or removing packages made for that version of Debian.
    Just the sources.list has to be changed a bit, which is not impossible, though tough, if he follows instructions, and has a perfect DVD for that version.
    Regards
    Last edited by rajibando; 06-12-2015 at 02:46 PM.

  4. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    7
    I put up with junk computers because I can't afford good ones. I have been into the 610 and also have a 600 but I like the 610 better because it has 4 USB ports instead of 2. With the 610 I had to remove the hard drive because it would take over an hour to boot up with Knoppix because it seemed to want to check out the hard drive before booting. Now I just use it for Knoppix because the battery charging system is junk, too. Even though the 610 has a CD/DVD RW drive it doesn't work when I need it to. The 600 has a bad screen but puts out a nice picture to an HD tv. I have a Sony laptop that originally cost me about $1500. but the screen started going bad on that one as well. It started by having a few vertical lines going through the screen and over time turned into larger and larger area but also still puts out a good picture to a TV or monitor. A Sony desktop with XP Media Center Edition started goingbut with sense errors on the hard drive. I've got that 99% restored to how it was when I bought it but the sense error keeps it from being 100% until I get a new hard drive for it. Thanks to Knoppix I was able to save a lot of updates, files and programs from all of my computers to a 1 GB external drive but also thanks to Knoppix and me accidently pulling the power plug on the 610 (with no battery) all of those files have been reduced to 3 huge files that don't look like anything. Data recovery isn't possible at this time because I need another 1 GB drive to recover them to and that's not happening any time soon. Sometimes I just want to trash everything and give up on computers altogether but I haven't yet.

  5. #15
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Mysore, India
    Posts
    241
    Pls don't vent your frustration onto the forum , Format your posts .

    Pls post how you recovered your messages and which postings helped you in the said recovery. Not just,
    Quote Originally Posted by Chuck E
    ...Thanks to Knoppix I was able to save a lot of updates, files and programs...
    . It will help new users.

    This is a "Free Help: forum. When you receive FREE OS and help you must also act responsibly and post your experiences in implementing solutions, properly formatted and easy to read form.

    You must specifically say thanks to individuals and not just general thanks.

    Knoppix is not Doze, pulling the power plug doesn't ruin your data in an ext3/4 or reiserfs . Test this profusely. Those three huge files mean nothing if you, at the time of plug-pulling, were not copying anything onto the drive while using Knoppix.

    If in Doze, those files are as good as gone!

    So, decide and prioritise.
    Last edited by rajibando; 06-17-2015 at 05:19 AM.

  6. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    44
    It worked for me...thanks, itman007! I'm using version 7.4.2 on a 16GB pendrive.

  7. #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    5
    While the link at Debian release changed suggests a solution to resolving the update problems the information at Documentation indicates:
    "cannot be upgraded (if you try it, you'll get chaos)". Do Knoppix users skip updates?

    It also indicates that the install cannot be password protected. Are there ways to password protect the install so that it can't be started automatically as 'Knoppix User'?


  8. #18
    Moderator Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Germany/ Dietzenbach
    Posts
    1,124
    You can update the list of available packages and their versions.
    Upgrade actually installs newer versions of the packages you have.

  9. #19
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    5
    What is the proper way to update? apt-get or the gui package manager? I tried the later and ran out of room on the flash drive.
    Thanks for pointing out upDATE versus upGRADE.
    scott

  10. #20
    Moderator Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Germany/ Dietzenbach
    Posts
    1,124
    To update the lists within '/var/cache/apt/' there is no difference whether you use Synaptic (→ Edit → Reload Package Information), "aptitude update" or "apt-get update".

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •