Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: How do i log onto a windows domain?

  1. #1
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    22

    How do i log onto a windows domain?

    Hi everyone,

    I noe have the internet running on my knoppix box and i am attempting to set up the network so that it can be a part of my windows domain. I want to be able to change the name of this computer as well so that when i am on a windows machine i cna go to "my network places" then find this computer by name. I am going to attempt to run a small file server from this machine and test out its durability within a high paced network....Thanks in advance for all the help for this matter.

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Cleveland, OH
    Posts
    228
    You will want to get familiar with configuring SAMBA. I did a forum search on "samba" and the first link I came up with was:

    http://www.knoppix.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=251#825

    This seems to address your question, but there are TONS of other interesting posts.

    Helps to know WHAT you need to look for, doesn't it (-;

    Hope this helps,

    ~paul

Similar Threads

  1. Domain Names
    By Kowood in forum The Lounge
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-16-2005, 11:20 AM
  2. Knoppix on a Windows NT Domain
    By poogrtfx in forum Networking
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-28-2005, 04:00 PM
  3. Cannot connect to Windows domain share
    By Victor Warner in forum Networking
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-20-2005, 10:11 AM
  4. NT domain
    By god in forum Networking
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-25-2003, 12:14 AM
  5. Browse Windows Network and logon(join) NT domain
    By debeerj in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-16-2003, 09:03 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •