Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: various boot problems new user.

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    9

    various boot problems new user.

    hi i fancied trying linux and knoppix looked like fun but am having problems at boot.

    i have a packard bell imedia 5051 pc,1.8 celeron(gigabyte GA-8siml mobo), 512 ddr,40gig st340810a seagate hard drive,radeon 9000 128 np,philips cdd 5101 combi drive,realtec 8139 nic.

    after booting from the knoppix cd the first error i get is"error only one processor found"

    my memory is then detected as 515mb and the next few lines say cloop error at xxxxxxx(various numbers)

    it then continues to load and after the green bar it detects my graphics card and nic.

    the screen then goes black for a few seconds and the next screen i see says loading system services.this takes about 30 secs and then the screen goes black apart from my mouse pointer that is frozen sometimes,other times i can move it.

    i have tried all the cheats and get the same result.

    the testcd cheat returns the error that the download is either incomplete or my ram is bad.

    i have tested my ram with memtest and its ok.and downloaded knoppix from another location.still get the same error.

    the download was only 645mb,i thought it was supposed to be 700?have found another link thats 699mb so am downloading that to try.

    any suggestions would be great as am new to all this.sorry for the long post and thanks.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    9
    further to above.i have tried burning the iso image at speeds as low as x4 and still get the same errors.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    9
    i have now downloaded knoppix again and used the slowes speed to burn the disk.

    it boots ok this time no errors,detects all my hardware and continues as far as the desktop.

    now my mouse does not work,it is stuck in the middle of the screen.

    my mouse is a logitec usb wheelmouse.

    any ideas please?

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Edgerton
    Posts
    4
    I am new to this game, (can't even get mine to boot), but if you go to
    http://download.linuxtag.org/knoppix/KNOPPIX-FAQ-EN.txt there is a piece on getting your wheelmouse to work, I hope! LeRoy

  5. #5
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    13
    I get problems with my usb mouse as well so I just use a regular PS/2 mouse. That on V3.2

    Tim

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    9
    thank you for the replies.i have managed to get it to work using the failsafe cheat but i cannot connect to the internet.

    not sure how to set up and save the devices either.will keep trying.

  7. #7
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    USA, IL
    Posts
    1,041
    --My logitech usb wheelmouse works fine in Knoppix. Failsafe may be why it's not being detected, but that's just a guess.

    --Are you using ' kppp ' for Internet?

    Quote Originally Posted by huggyg71
    thank you for the replies.i have managed to get it to work using the failsafe cheat but i cannot connect to the internet.

    not sure how to set up and save the devices either.will keep trying.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    9
    the only way i can get the mouse to work is either use failsafe or nousb cheats(it is a usb mouse though)

    either way it all works ok but the internet doesnt work.

    kppp?? HMmmm i will have to get back to ya on that.i have a lot to learn still.

    i have tried konqueror and mozilla.mozilla says i am connected but when clicking on a link or typing in an address it says address cannot be found.my nic is detected at start up though.

    i connect to the internet via cable modem via ethernet and my isp is NTL (uk)

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    9
    WHOOoooHOOooo!!! i have finaly managed to get it all up and running.

    im now posting this from mozilla using knoppix.

    i used the console window command netcardconfig - dchp and then clicked no to dchp and set it up manually.

    this didnt work ie/ i could still not connect but i didnt get any errors so i saved knoppix settings to floppy and rebooted using myconfig /mnt/auto/floppy

    and here i am.


    experienced users probally already know this but if any noob out there is having the same problem i though if i posted this it may help them.

    thanks to all who have helped me so far.no doubt i will be back with more silly questions.

    ps.does anybody know how to get the scroll wheel working on a mouse?

  10. #10
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    2,479
    Quote Originally Posted by huggyg71

    ps.does anybody know how to get the scroll wheel working on a mouse?
    It should be working automatically but use the cheat code wheelmouse when you boot and see if that works.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. New user problems
    By JamalNJ in forum General Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-18-2004, 07:06 PM
  2. First time user with problems
    By Marky in forum General Support
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-01-2004, 09:54 AM
  3. devpts problems for non-root user
    By ca9mbu in forum General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-04-2003, 02:20 PM
  4. New Knoppix User - system setup issues / problems.
    By nathanderweise in forum General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-30-2003, 09:53 PM
  5. User problems with kde apps - also no hda1 in df ?
    By RockMumbles in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-06-2003, 04:40 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •