Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Freezing on Acer Aspire

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    5

    Freezing on Acer Aspire

    Dear all

    I've got a 2015 Acer Aspire E 15 Start with a Celeron Quad Core processor and 2GB DDR3 L Memory.

    Running Knoppix 7.6 on dvd, the computer freezed twice this morning. Both times I was browsing. The first time I only had chromium browser (three tabs) and one terminal open; the second time I only had Firefox open with two tabs.

    More memory will probably make this less likely. Yet I feel this should not happen. Any other advice or comments?

    By the way, I find Knoppix extremely useful as it requires much less fine-tuning than Debian to work on my laptop; more recently Debian started giving problems, often not even booting.

    Agulhas

  2. #2
    Moderator Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Germany/ Dietzenbach
    Posts
    1,124
    Did you ever test the RAM with memtest86 for some hours?
    http://knoppix.net/wiki/Cheat_Codes#Memory_problems

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    5
    I've just done the memtest86 for 5 hours. It says there are no errors and press escape to exit.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    5
    I did for five hours, and it still said no errors found.

  5. #5
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    N42.41 W73 and change
    Posts
    401
    Is it a Celeron J1900 processor? They have problem with 4.x kernels.

    https://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=109051

    You can try appending
    max_cstate=1

    to your cheatcodes.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    5
    It is a Celeron N2930. I've tried this cheatcode anyway, but it doesn't solve the problem. It's still easy to make the laptop freeze: just install a debian package, in my case "axiom", and try to open up chromium browser.

    Quote Originally Posted by rusty;r133648
    Is it a Celeron J1900 processor? They have problem with 4.x kernels.

    https://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=109051

    You can try appending
    max_cstate=1

    to your cheatcodes.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    5
    It's a Celeron N2930. Unfortunately the cheatcode doesn't work either. It's still easy to freeze the Acer: just install a Debian package into the memory (in my case "axiom") and then try to open up a browser.
    Quote Originally Posted by rusty View Post
    Is it a Celeron J1900 processor? They have problem with 4.x kernels. https://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=109051 You can try appending max_cstate=1 to your cheatcodes.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Commodore 64 SD Card Reader (SD2IEC) and Epyx Fastload Cartridge combo  C64 picture

Commodore 64 SD Card Reader (SD2IEC) and Epyx Fastload Cartridge combo  C64

$34.72



Commodore 64 & 128 Color S-Video, Color Composite & Audio Adapter  Tested picture

Commodore 64 & 128 Color S-Video, Color Composite & Audio Adapter Tested

$25.00



Commodore 64 Diagnostic and Board Repair Service C64 picture

Commodore 64 Diagnostic and Board Repair Service C64

$39.00



Commodore 64 PLA IC Replacement -- MOS 906114-01 Equivalent picture

Commodore 64 PLA IC Replacement -- MOS 906114-01 Equivalent

$17.99



Vintage Commodore 64 Computer tested works in box picture

Vintage Commodore 64 Computer tested works in box

$145.00



COMMODORE VINTAGE 80'S SK-8831B-2E MINT CONDITION UNUSED PC KEYBOARD picture

COMMODORE VINTAGE 80'S SK-8831B-2E MINT CONDITION UNUSED PC KEYBOARD

$70.00



Commodore PLA Replacement -- MOS 906114-01 picture

Commodore PLA Replacement -- MOS 906114-01

$13.95



WORKING Commodore Vic-20 Computer in Box with Cables picture

WORKING Commodore Vic-20 Computer in Box with Cables

$149.99



Commodore 64 decal picture

Commodore 64 decal

$2.28



C64 PSU - Commodore 64 Power Supply - Black, LED, Power Switch (US plug) picture

C64 PSU - Commodore 64 Power Supply - Black, LED, Power Switch (US plug)

$43.99