Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Not authorized...

  1. #1
    Senior Member Karibu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Kelowna, BC Canada
    Posts
    157

    Question Not authorized...

    I used the USB installation of Knoppix 7.6.1 for a while with great success and decided to Install this version on HD.from the Live DVD. I used "KNOPPIX HD Install" as offered in the menu.
    All went well and smooth. Right now I'm struggling with two minor issues:
    1) On the top of the screen I have a taskbar/panel or the like, with no reaction to
    mouse clicks. See attachment "Quasi taskbar"
    2) I have no access to other partitions. Using the PCMamFile manager or dolphin.
    When trying to mount a partition with either NTSF or ext3,4 file systems on it, I get the message: Not authorized to perform operation.See attachment "NotAuthorized"

    I appreciate any response, help, solution...


    PS.: I was not able to figure out how to attach the screenshots...?
    Why am I not allowed to...?

  2. #2
    Senior Member Karibu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Kelowna, BC Canada
    Posts
    157
    Just some additional remarks to this issue: I thought it has to do with the ownership of the partition I want to access but it isn't the case. On the USB install and on the HD install the ownership of /media is root and the ownership of the content of /media is knoppix. From the USB install I have absolute no difficulties to access the partitions of my other systems (Ubuntu, LM, WINDOWS)

  3. #3
    Senior Member Karibu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Kelowna, BC Canada
    Posts
    157
    More additional Info concerning the mystery taskbar/panel: I randomly selected the 5045485-knoppix-wallpaper.png, which is most likely a full desktop screenshot and should not be used as wallpaper at all. So this is solved and I'm going to delete this part 1) from the original thread.

  4. #4
    Check if /etc/fstab is corrupted and fix it.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Karibu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Kelowna, BC Canada
    Posts
    157
    Thanks for the response, Joselb, I checked /etc/fstab of the USB-installation and compared it with /etc/fstab of the HD installation and I did not find a difference except the line for sdc1 which is the HD partition where Knoppix is installed. The difference is only that /dev/sdc1 is / and not /media/sdc1.
    This is the fstab of the HD install.

    PHP Code:
    # DEFAULT BASE FSTAB, UNCONFIGURED
    proc       /proc         proc       noauto             0 0
    sysfs      
    /sys          sysfs      noauto             0 0
    /dev/sdc1 reiserfs relatime 0 0
    /dev/sdb3 none swap defaults 0 0
    /dev/sdc2 none swap defaults 0 0
    # Added by KNOPPIX
    /dev/sda1 /media/sda1 ntfs noauto,users,exec,umask=000,uid=knoppix,gid=knoppix 0 0
    # Added by KNOPPIX
    /dev/sda7 /media/sda7 ext4 noauto,users,exec 0 0
    # Added by KNOPPIX
    /dev/sda6 none swap defaults 0 0
    # Added by KNOPPIX
    /dev/sda2 /media/sda2 ntfs noauto,users,exec,umask=000,uid=knoppix,gid=knoppix 0 0
    # Added by KNOPPIX
    /dev/sda3 /media/sda3 ntfs noauto,users,exec,umask=000,uid=knoppix,gid=knoppix 0 0
    # Added by KNOPPIX
    /dev/sdc4 /media/sdc4 ntfs noauto,users,exec,umask=000,uid=knoppix,gid=knoppix 0 0
    # Added by KNOPPIX
    /dev/sr0 /media/sr0 auto noauto,users,exec 0 0
    # Added by KNOPPIX
    /dev/sdb2 /media/sdb2 ext4 noauto,users,exec 0 0
    # Added by KNOPPIX
    /dev/sdd /media/sdd auto noauto,users,exec 0 0
    # Added by KNOPPIX
    /dev/sde /media/sde auto noauto,users,exec 0 0
    # Added by KNOPPIX
    /dev/sda5 /media/sda5 ext4 noauto,users,exec 0 0
    # Added by KNOPPIX
    /dev/sdf /media/sdf auto noauto,users,exec 0 0
    # Added by KNOPPIX
    /dev/sdb5 /media/sdb5 ext4 noauto,users,exec 0 0 
    I'm not knowledgeable enough to figure out what could be wrong. Could you please help?.

  6. #6
    Senior Member Karibu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Kelowna, BC Canada
    Posts
    157
    Additional info:
    When I use the terminal and mount the partitions with:
    knoppix@Microknoppix:~$ su
    root@Microknoppix:/home/knoppix# mount /media/sda7
    root@Microknoppix:/home/knoppix# mount /media/sdb5
    root@Microknoppix:/home/knoppix#
    then I have access, although, if I want to unmount from the File Manager (e.g. Dolphin) I get the same message - Not authorized to perform operation.

  7. #7
    I have never installed knoppix in hd, in fact it's a very bad idea (you should install another gnu/linux system like ubuntu, linux mint, etc).But I think that installing it it's very possible the owner and group permissions have changed. Check in terminal with ls -l /media/*

  8. #8
    Senior Member Karibu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Kelowna, BC Canada
    Posts
    157
    This is the list of the partitions as seen in /media:

    knoppix@Microknoppix:~$ ls -al /media
    total 1
    drwxr-xr-x 17 root root 408 Jun 25 2008 .
    drwxr-xr-x 24 root root 568 Sep 14 20:02 ..
    drwxr-xr-x 2 knoppix knoppix 48 Sep 10 18:39 sda1
    drwxr-xr-x 2 knoppix knoppix 48 Sep 10 18:39 sda2
    drwxr-xr-x 2 knoppix knoppix 48 Sep 10 18:39 sda3
    drwxr-xr-x 2 knoppix knoppix 48 Sep 10 18:39 sda5
    drwxr-xr-x 2 knoppix knoppix 48 Sep 10 18:39 sda7
    drwxr-xr-x 2 knoppix knoppix 48 Sep 10 18:39 sdb2
    drwxr-xr-x 2 knoppix knoppix 48 Sep 10 18:39 sdb5
    drwxr-xr-x 2 knoppix knoppix 48 Sep 10 18:39 sdc1
    drwxr-xr-x 2 knoppix knoppix 48 Sep 10 18:39 sdc4
    knoppix@Microknoppix:~$
    I suppose that the Live DVD and the USB install both have some kind of -root privileges-
    to manage directories, folders and files and these privelidges are not given in HD installation.

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by Karibu View Post
    This is the list of the partitions as seen in /media: I suppose that the Live DVD and the USB install both have some kind of -root privileges- to manage directories, folders and files and these privelidges are not given in HD installation.
    Yes, I think so.

  10. #10
    Senior Member Karibu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Kelowna, BC Canada
    Posts
    157
    I figured out that the file systems of the hard drives sda and sdb are not detected after boot.
    Could this be the reason for not being able to mount?
    root@Microknoppix:/home/knoppix# dmesg | grep sda
    [ 2.129260] sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] 1953525168 512-byte logical blocks: (1.00 TB/931 GiB)
    [ 2.129272] sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] 4096-byte physical blocks
    [ 2.129401] sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Write Protect is off
    [ 2.129410] sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Mode Sense: 00 3a 00 00
    [ 2.129495] sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Write cache: enabled, read cache: enabled, doesn't support DPO or FUA
    [ 2.185077] sda: sda1 sda2 sda3 sda4 < sda5 sda6 sda7 >
    [ 2.187010] sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Attached SCSI disk
    [ 14.236758] Adding 4095996k swap on /dev/sda6. Priority:-1 extents:1 across:4095996k FS


    root@Microknoppix:/home/knoppix# dmesg | grep sdb
    [ 2.130559] sd 1:0:0:0: [sdb] 976773168 512-byte logical blocks: (500 GB/465 GiB)
    [ 2.130802] sd 1:0:0:0: [sdb] Write Protect is off
    [ 2.130815] sd 1:0:0:0: [sdb] Mode Sense: 00 3a 00 00
    [ 2.130873] sd 1:0:0:0: [sdb] Write cache: enabled, read cache: enabled, doesn't support DPO or FUA
    [ 2.148713] sdb: sdb2 sdb3 sdb4 < sdb5 >
    [ 2.150626] sd 1:0:0:0: [sdb] Attached SCSI disk
    [ 14.237989] Adding 4095996k swap on /dev/sdb3. Priority:-2 extents:1 across:4095996k FS


    root@Microknoppix:/home/knoppix# dmesg | grep sdc
    [ 2.131442] sd 2:0:0:0: [sdc] 1953525168 512-byte logical blocks: (1.00 TB/931 GiB)
    [ 2.131450] sd 2:0:0:0: [sdc] 4096-byte physical blocks
    [ 2.131681] sd 2:0:0:0: [sdc] Write Protect is off
    [ 2.131691] sd 2:0:0:0: [sdc] Mode Sense: 00 3a 00 00
    [ 2.131746] sd 2:0:0:0: [sdc] Write cache: enabled, read cache: enabled, doesn't support DPO or FUA
    [ 2.154450] sdc: sdc1 sdc2 sdc4
    [ 2.155954] sd 2:0:0:0: [sdc] Attached SCSI disk
    [ 2.188271] REISERFS (device sdc1): found reiserfs format "3.6" with standard journal
    [ 2.188296] REISERFS (device sdc1): using ordered data mode
    [ 2.196839] REISERFS (device sdc1): journal params: device sdc1, size 8192, journal first block 18, max trans len 1024, max batch 900, max commit age 30, max trans age 30
    [ 2.197370] REISERFS (device sdc1): checking transaction log (sdc1)
    [ 2.256372] REISERFS (device sdc1): Using r5 hash to sort names
    [ 14.261254] Adding 4095996k swap on /dev/sdc2. Priority:-3 extents:1 across:4095996k FS
    root@Microknoppix:/home/knoppix#

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Dell Poweredge R720 3.5

Dell Poweredge R720 3.5" 2x E5-2680 2.7ghz 16-Cores 64gb H710 8x Trays 2x750w

$384.99



Dell PowerEdge R720XD Server | 2x 2.8GHz 20 Cores | 128GB | H710 | 20TB Storage picture

Dell PowerEdge R720XD Server | 2x 2.8GHz 20 Cores | 128GB | H710 | 20TB Storage

$936.95



Dell PowerEdge R720 Server / 2x E5-2640 = 12 Cores / 64GB RAM / H710 / 4x Trays picture

Dell PowerEdge R720 Server / 2x E5-2640 = 12 Cores / 64GB RAM / H710 / 4x Trays

$299.99



Dell PowerEdge R730XD Server 24BAY 2.5

Dell PowerEdge R730XD Server 24BAY 2.5" H730P Controller Dual 750W - BareBone

$449.99



Dell Poweredge R410 2 X SIX CORE 2.40GHZ E5645 32GB RAM 500GB HHD SERVER QTY picture

Dell Poweredge R410 2 X SIX CORE 2.40GHZ E5645 32GB RAM 500GB HHD SERVER QTY

$159.99



Dell PowerEdge R720xd Server | 2x E5-2680 2.7Ghz = 16 Cores | 48GB | 4x 2TB SAS picture

Dell PowerEdge R720xd Server | 2x E5-2680 2.7Ghz = 16 Cores | 48GB | 4x 2TB SAS

$550.00



DELL PowerEdge R710 Server 2×Xeon 6-Core 3.33GHz + 144GB RAM + 8×1.2TB SAS RAID picture

DELL PowerEdge R710 Server 2×Xeon 6-Core 3.33GHz + 144GB RAM + 8×1.2TB SAS RAID

$969.69



Dell PowerEdge R720xd Server 2x E5-2680 2.7Ghz 16-Cores  64gb  H710  12x Trays picture

Dell PowerEdge R720xd Server 2x E5-2680 2.7Ghz 16-Cores 64gb H710 12x Trays

$369.99



Dell Poweredge R730 2x Xeon E5-2620 v3 2.4ghz 12-Cores / 32gb / H730 / iDracEnt picture

Dell Poweredge R730 2x Xeon E5-2620 v3 2.4ghz 12-Cores / 32gb / H730 / iDracEnt

$419.99



Dell Poweredge T310 Server Xeon x3430 2.40GHz 24GB Ram 2TB DVD Perc 6li 2x 400w picture

Dell Poweredge T310 Server Xeon x3430 2.40GHz 24GB Ram 2TB DVD Perc 6li 2x 400w

$255.75