Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Not authorized...

  1. #1
    Senior Member Karibu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Kelowna, BC Canada
    Posts
    157

    Question Not authorized...

    I used the USB installation of Knoppix 7.6.1 for a while with great success and decided to Install this version on HD.from the Live DVD. I used "KNOPPIX HD Install" as offered in the menu.
    All went well and smooth. Right now I'm struggling with two minor issues:
    1) On the top of the screen I have a taskbar/panel or the like, with no reaction to
    mouse clicks. See attachment "Quasi taskbar"
    2) I have no access to other partitions. Using the PCMamFile manager or dolphin.
    When trying to mount a partition with either NTSF or ext3,4 file systems on it, I get the message: Not authorized to perform operation.See attachment "NotAuthorized"

    I appreciate any response, help, solution...


    PS.: I was not able to figure out how to attach the screenshots...?
    Why am I not allowed to...?

  2. #2
    Senior Member Karibu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Kelowna, BC Canada
    Posts
    157
    Just some additional remarks to this issue: I thought it has to do with the ownership of the partition I want to access but it isn't the case. On the USB install and on the HD install the ownership of /media is root and the ownership of the content of /media is knoppix. From the USB install I have absolute no difficulties to access the partitions of my other systems (Ubuntu, LM, WINDOWS)

  3. #3
    Senior Member Karibu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Kelowna, BC Canada
    Posts
    157
    More additional Info concerning the mystery taskbar/panel: I randomly selected the 5045485-knoppix-wallpaper.png, which is most likely a full desktop screenshot and should not be used as wallpaper at all. So this is solved and I'm going to delete this part 1) from the original thread.

  4. #4
    Check if /etc/fstab is corrupted and fix it.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Karibu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Kelowna, BC Canada
    Posts
    157
    Thanks for the response, Joselb, I checked /etc/fstab of the USB-installation and compared it with /etc/fstab of the HD installation and I did not find a difference except the line for sdc1 which is the HD partition where Knoppix is installed. The difference is only that /dev/sdc1 is / and not /media/sdc1.
    This is the fstab of the HD install.

    PHP Code:
    # DEFAULT BASE FSTAB, UNCONFIGURED
    proc       /proc         proc       noauto             0 0
    sysfs      
    /sys          sysfs      noauto             0 0
    /dev/sdc1 reiserfs relatime 0 0
    /dev/sdb3 none swap defaults 0 0
    /dev/sdc2 none swap defaults 0 0
    # Added by KNOPPIX
    /dev/sda1 /media/sda1 ntfs noauto,users,exec,umask=000,uid=knoppix,gid=knoppix 0 0
    # Added by KNOPPIX
    /dev/sda7 /media/sda7 ext4 noauto,users,exec 0 0
    # Added by KNOPPIX
    /dev/sda6 none swap defaults 0 0
    # Added by KNOPPIX
    /dev/sda2 /media/sda2 ntfs noauto,users,exec,umask=000,uid=knoppix,gid=knoppix 0 0
    # Added by KNOPPIX
    /dev/sda3 /media/sda3 ntfs noauto,users,exec,umask=000,uid=knoppix,gid=knoppix 0 0
    # Added by KNOPPIX
    /dev/sdc4 /media/sdc4 ntfs noauto,users,exec,umask=000,uid=knoppix,gid=knoppix 0 0
    # Added by KNOPPIX
    /dev/sr0 /media/sr0 auto noauto,users,exec 0 0
    # Added by KNOPPIX
    /dev/sdb2 /media/sdb2 ext4 noauto,users,exec 0 0
    # Added by KNOPPIX
    /dev/sdd /media/sdd auto noauto,users,exec 0 0
    # Added by KNOPPIX
    /dev/sde /media/sde auto noauto,users,exec 0 0
    # Added by KNOPPIX
    /dev/sda5 /media/sda5 ext4 noauto,users,exec 0 0
    # Added by KNOPPIX
    /dev/sdf /media/sdf auto noauto,users,exec 0 0
    # Added by KNOPPIX
    /dev/sdb5 /media/sdb5 ext4 noauto,users,exec 0 0 
    I'm not knowledgeable enough to figure out what could be wrong. Could you please help?.

  6. #6
    Senior Member Karibu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Kelowna, BC Canada
    Posts
    157
    Additional info:
    When I use the terminal and mount the partitions with:
    knoppix@Microknoppix:~$ su
    root@Microknoppix:/home/knoppix# mount /media/sda7
    root@Microknoppix:/home/knoppix# mount /media/sdb5
    root@Microknoppix:/home/knoppix#
    then I have access, although, if I want to unmount from the File Manager (e.g. Dolphin) I get the same message - Not authorized to perform operation.

  7. #7
    I have never installed knoppix in hd, in fact it's a very bad idea (you should install another gnu/linux system like ubuntu, linux mint, etc).But I think that installing it it's very possible the owner and group permissions have changed. Check in terminal with ls -l /media/*

  8. #8
    Senior Member Karibu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Kelowna, BC Canada
    Posts
    157
    This is the list of the partitions as seen in /media:

    knoppix@Microknoppix:~$ ls -al /media
    total 1
    drwxr-xr-x 17 root root 408 Jun 25 2008 .
    drwxr-xr-x 24 root root 568 Sep 14 20:02 ..
    drwxr-xr-x 2 knoppix knoppix 48 Sep 10 18:39 sda1
    drwxr-xr-x 2 knoppix knoppix 48 Sep 10 18:39 sda2
    drwxr-xr-x 2 knoppix knoppix 48 Sep 10 18:39 sda3
    drwxr-xr-x 2 knoppix knoppix 48 Sep 10 18:39 sda5
    drwxr-xr-x 2 knoppix knoppix 48 Sep 10 18:39 sda7
    drwxr-xr-x 2 knoppix knoppix 48 Sep 10 18:39 sdb2
    drwxr-xr-x 2 knoppix knoppix 48 Sep 10 18:39 sdb5
    drwxr-xr-x 2 knoppix knoppix 48 Sep 10 18:39 sdc1
    drwxr-xr-x 2 knoppix knoppix 48 Sep 10 18:39 sdc4
    knoppix@Microknoppix:~$
    I suppose that the Live DVD and the USB install both have some kind of -root privileges-
    to manage directories, folders and files and these privelidges are not given in HD installation.

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by Karibu View Post
    This is the list of the partitions as seen in /media: I suppose that the Live DVD and the USB install both have some kind of -root privileges- to manage directories, folders and files and these privelidges are not given in HD installation.
    Yes, I think so.

  10. #10
    Senior Member Karibu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Kelowna, BC Canada
    Posts
    157
    I figured out that the file systems of the hard drives sda and sdb are not detected after boot.
    Could this be the reason for not being able to mount?
    root@Microknoppix:/home/knoppix# dmesg | grep sda
    [ 2.129260] sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] 1953525168 512-byte logical blocks: (1.00 TB/931 GiB)
    [ 2.129272] sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] 4096-byte physical blocks
    [ 2.129401] sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Write Protect is off
    [ 2.129410] sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Mode Sense: 00 3a 00 00
    [ 2.129495] sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Write cache: enabled, read cache: enabled, doesn't support DPO or FUA
    [ 2.185077] sda: sda1 sda2 sda3 sda4 < sda5 sda6 sda7 >
    [ 2.187010] sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Attached SCSI disk
    [ 14.236758] Adding 4095996k swap on /dev/sda6. Priority:-1 extents:1 across:4095996k FS


    root@Microknoppix:/home/knoppix# dmesg | grep sdb
    [ 2.130559] sd 1:0:0:0: [sdb] 976773168 512-byte logical blocks: (500 GB/465 GiB)
    [ 2.130802] sd 1:0:0:0: [sdb] Write Protect is off
    [ 2.130815] sd 1:0:0:0: [sdb] Mode Sense: 00 3a 00 00
    [ 2.130873] sd 1:0:0:0: [sdb] Write cache: enabled, read cache: enabled, doesn't support DPO or FUA
    [ 2.148713] sdb: sdb2 sdb3 sdb4 < sdb5 >
    [ 2.150626] sd 1:0:0:0: [sdb] Attached SCSI disk
    [ 14.237989] Adding 4095996k swap on /dev/sdb3. Priority:-2 extents:1 across:4095996k FS


    root@Microknoppix:/home/knoppix# dmesg | grep sdc
    [ 2.131442] sd 2:0:0:0: [sdc] 1953525168 512-byte logical blocks: (1.00 TB/931 GiB)
    [ 2.131450] sd 2:0:0:0: [sdc] 4096-byte physical blocks
    [ 2.131681] sd 2:0:0:0: [sdc] Write Protect is off
    [ 2.131691] sd 2:0:0:0: [sdc] Mode Sense: 00 3a 00 00
    [ 2.131746] sd 2:0:0:0: [sdc] Write cache: enabled, read cache: enabled, doesn't support DPO or FUA
    [ 2.154450] sdc: sdc1 sdc2 sdc4
    [ 2.155954] sd 2:0:0:0: [sdc] Attached SCSI disk
    [ 2.188271] REISERFS (device sdc1): found reiserfs format "3.6" with standard journal
    [ 2.188296] REISERFS (device sdc1): using ordered data mode
    [ 2.196839] REISERFS (device sdc1): journal params: device sdc1, size 8192, journal first block 18, max trans len 1024, max batch 900, max commit age 30, max trans age 30
    [ 2.197370] REISERFS (device sdc1): checking transaction log (sdc1)
    [ 2.256372] REISERFS (device sdc1): Using r5 hash to sort names
    [ 14.261254] Adding 4095996k swap on /dev/sdc2. Priority:-3 extents:1 across:4095996k FS
    root@Microknoppix:/home/knoppix#

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •