Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: No KSnapshot on 7.7.1?

  1. #1
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    167

    No KSnapshot on 7.7.1?

    $ which ksnapshot
    $


    $ dpkg -l | grep shot
    ii gnome-screenshot 2:3.16.2-1knoppix0 i386 screenshot application for GNOME
    ii openshot 1.4.3-1.2 all Create and edit videos and movies
    ii openshot-doc 1.4.3-1.2 all Help manual for OpenShot Video Editor
    ii shutter 0.93.1-1 all feature-rich screenshot program
    $

    -------------------------lbrtchx
    Last edited by Albretch; 12-10-2016 at 08:22 AM. Reason: formatting

  2. #2
    Moderator Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Germany/ Dietzenbach
    Posts
    1,124
    Why not install it by yourself?
    Code:
    aptitude install ksnapshot

  3. #3
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    167
    so, how does that help when you run it from the DVD?

    lbrtchx

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    144
    Quote Originally Posted by Werner P. Schulz View Post
    Why not install it by yourself?
    Code:
    aptitude install ksnapshot
    Is it not now replaced by Spectacle?

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    144
    Quote Originally Posted by philo View Post
    Is it not now replaced by Spectacle?
    Actually kde-spectacle, which is in Synaptic.
    Last edited by philo; 12-10-2016 at 02:08 PM.

  6. #6
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    167
    $ sudo aptitude install ksnapshot
    Couldn't find any package matching "ksnapshot", but there are 3 packages which contain "ksnapshot" in their description:
    libkf5kipi-data libkf5kipi-bin libkf5kipi31.0.0
    Unable to apply some actions, aborting


    $ sudo aptitude install kde-spectacle
    Couldn't find any package whose name or description matched "kde-spectacle"
    Unable to apply some actions, aborting
    I think it is important to keep ksnapshot in knoppix. Many of us use knoppix to fix, tinker with other OSs and at times we need to save GUI windows with the exact error messages

    General curiosity question: Do you keep a log with its rationale when a capability is taking off knoppix?

    lbrtchx

  7. #7
    Moderator Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Germany/ Dietzenbach
    Posts
    1,124
    You can use gnome-screenshot from the menu.

  8. #8
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    167
    Quote Originally Posted by Werner P. Schulz View Post
    You can use gnome-screenshot from the menu.
    Accessories > Screenshot

    thanks
    lbrtchx

  9. #9
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    167
    using gimp: File > Create > Screenshot . . .

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •