Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 28

Thread: Knoppix 8.1 USB-stick installation

  1. #11
    Senior Member Karibu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Kelowna, BC Canada
    Posts
    152

    Question

    More Help needed:

    Time and Day Settings:

    I live in Time zone America/Vancouver. After each reboot the Time zone is reset to local time which is my time +8 hours.

    Where is the configuration file for Time and Day Settings to find?
    I might be able to change "local" to "America/Vancover" ?

  2. #12
    Senior Member Karibu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Kelowna, BC Canada
    Posts
    152
    I found this thread posted by philo on 08-09-2014:
    Time zone change cannot be made permanent.

    I can set the time zone and it shows correct in /etc/timezone "America/Vancouver".
    After reboot /etc/timezone is overwritten and says "localtime"

  3. #13
    Senior Member Karibu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Kelowna, BC Canada
    Posts
    152
    I entered UTC in /etc/adjtime and set the time zone again to America/Vancouver.
    After reboot /etc/adjtime was still ok (UTC) but /etc/timezone was again "localtime".
    What to do?

  4. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    144
    BIOS time (hardware clock) --> UTC

    /etc/adjtime --> UTC [instaead of LOCAL]

    /etc/timezone ---> America/Vancouver

    and maybe in :
    /media/sd__/boot/syslinux/syslinux.cfg
    LABEL knoppix LABEL knoppix64, add inside APPEND:

    --> tz=America/Vancouver

  5. #15
    Senior Member Karibu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Kelowna, BC Canada
    Posts
    152

    Question

    Quote Originally Posted by philo View Post
    1) BIOS time (hardware clock) -->UTC

    2) /etc/adjtime --> UTC [instaead of LOCAL]

    3) /etc/timezone ---> America/Vancouver

    4) and maybe in :
    /media/sd__/boot/syslinux/syslinux.cfg
    LABELknoppix LABEL knoppix64, add inside APPEND:

    -->tz=America/Vancouver
    To 1):
    The BIOS is for MSI motherboard 785GM-E51.
    I can not change the time - it shows +7 hours from my local time.


    To 2):
    Ihave changed this to UTC!

    To 3):
    Ihave changed this to America/Vancouver - but it is mysteriously overwritten to America/New-York

    To 4):
    root@Microknoppix:/# sudo nano /media/sdg/boot/syslinux/syslinux.cfg

    /media/sdg/boot/syslinux/syslinux.cfgdoes not exist


    root@Microknoppix:/# ls
    config-4.12.7
    grub ipxe.lkrn System.map-4.12.7-64 vmlinuz-4.12.7
    config-4.12.7-64 ipxe.efi System.map-4.12.7
    vmlinuz vmlinuz-4.12.7-64




  6. #16
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    17
    I just run this script automatically on boot (see https://wiki.lxde.org/en/Autostart). Good enough for me. Change the 2nd line as needed.

    time=$(date +%Y%m%d\ %H:%M:%S)
    echo Europe/Amsterdam | sudo tee /etc/timezone
    sudo dpkg-reconfigure -f noninteractive tzdata
    sudo date --set="$time"
    sudo hwclock --systohc


    You could even add something like:

    (sleep 60 && sudo rdate -n pool.ntp.org && sudo hwclock --systohc) &

  7. #17

  8. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    144
    Quote Originally Posted by Karibu View Post
    I can not change the time - it shows +7 hours from my local time.
    Then that's set at UTC already?
    Last edited by philo; 10-13-2017 at 07:02 PM.

  9. #19
    Senior Member Karibu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Kelowna, BC Canada
    Posts
    152
    I found syslinux.cfg in >Root >KNOPPIX >boot and added
    inside APPEND: -->tz=America/Vancouver

    Now, in window under ---> Preferences ---> Time and Date the line 'Time zone' is filled in correctly (America/Vancouver) and the line 'Configuration' is filled in correctly (Keep synchronized with Internet servers) as well.
    I still don't get the PST (Pacific Standard Time) though. Only if I switch the configuration back and forth between 'Manual' and '...synchronized...' then, after a few minutes, the PST is shown....

    What else is missing?
    Last edited by Karibu; 10-14-2017 at 02:53 AM. Reason: more text

  10. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    144
    Quote Originally Posted by Karibu View Post
    What else is missing?
    The ntp package?

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •