Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: new Knoppix 8.2 - no3d fails

  1. #11
    When Knoppix-CD was discontinued I even thought to pay someone to create a minimal version of Knoppix (not downloading a DVD with 4 or more GB), even deleting most of the programs that included the CD (only the minimal programs) and with the changes I needed. I even emailed Klaus but no answer. This could be even a work for you or someone interested to offer something like that.

  2. #12
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    802
    Quote Originally Posted by joselb View Post
    Maybe you can change it only to work with or without no3d option and upload it that way. Its only a minimal change and will save us a hard work that we dont know how to do it or do it well. Only if you want to help, I think its not a problem if its a derivative (only a minimal change in the original Knoppix), but I am not sure if its allowed or not.
    No way.
    If it was a well known/understood (by us) bug, that would have been more feasible, but it is not. I suggest you rather contact Klaus Knopper about this if you absolutely want it fixed upstream - that the same seems to occur in both 8.2 and 8.3 makes it less of a coincidence IMHO.

  3. #13
    Quote Originally Posted by Capricorny View Post
    No way. If it was a well known/understood (by us) bug, that would have been more feasible, but it is not. I suggest you rather contact Klaus Knopper about this if you absolutely want it fixed upstream - that the same seems to occur in both 8.2 and 8.3 makes it less of a coincidence IMHO.
    As I said I emailed Klaus before and no answer. But I got it.

  4. #14
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    13
    if you simply dont want compiz with 8.3 you can use nocompiz as boot option instead of no3d
    may be it also works with 8.2

  5. #15
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    148
    I am an old knoppix hand, but I admit, I haven't been on this forum for quite a spell. I have always booted my knoppix with no3d. I hate it. I can confirm this bug is still present on Knoppix 8.6. I was shocked when Knoppix just sat there on boot. Now that i know nocompiz is a workaround... I'm glad I came to find out what was up.

  6. #16
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    148
    Well, nocompiz did not help. Actually, Knoppix would not start on my laptop. Even with no cheatcodes. That is a first!!!
    What gives guys? This laptop has been booting Knoppix since version 5.0

  7. #17
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    148
    Quote Originally Posted by Luke M View Post
    Confirmed. This is tragic since without no3d knoppix is unusable.
    I agree wholeheartedly!!!

    Quote Originally Posted by joselb View Post
    Maybe you can change it only to work with or without no3d option and upload it that way. Its only a minimal change and will save us a hard work that we dont know how to do it or do it well. Only if you want to help, I think its not a problem if its a derivative (only a minimal change in the original Knoppix), but I am not sure if its allowed or not.
    Not a really big request! But we don't know the actual changes you had to make, so we are in the dark there. We could make it available to only the people who have complained on this thread. I got fiber optic service. I can shoot it across the world in minutes.

    Quote Originally Posted by Capricorny View Post
    No way.
    If it was a well known/understood (by us) bug, that would have been more feasible, but it is not. I suggest you rather contact Klaus Knopper about this if you absolutely want it fixed upstream - that the same seems to occur in both 8.2 and 8.3 makes it less of a coincidence IMHO.
    By US bug? So you are in the testing group? You certainly have better access to Klaus than us general audience people. I tested Knoppix, back in version 5.0 to 5.1 release. That went badly. So I know how this can happen to even the most diligent of testers. Bugs creap in, where they aren't supposed to be. I'll give you my word of honor, I won't distribute it to anybody who has not registered a complaint here in this thread.

    But I need to get to the bottom of why it won't boot at all!!!
    I did sha1 hash checks on the KNOPPIX files... they all checked out. What comes after minirt in the bootup process. It doesn't seem to be making it there on my boot failures.
    It says Please do not remove medium until shutdown... and stays there with nothing afterwards.
    Last edited by johnrw; 10-15-2019 at 02:36 AM.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


DATTO-1000 Micro Server 8GB RAM picture

DATTO-1000 Micro Server 8GB RAM

$99.00



HPE ProLiant MicroServer Gen10 Plus Ultra Micro Tower Server - 1 x Intel Pentium picture

HPE ProLiant MicroServer Gen10 Plus Ultra Micro Tower Server - 1 x Intel Pentium

$861.73



HPE ProLiant MicroServer Gen10 Plus Server Intel Xeon E-2224, 32GB RAM, 8TB HDD picture

HPE ProLiant MicroServer Gen10 Plus Server Intel Xeon E-2224, 32GB RAM, 8TB HDD

$1200.00



HPE Proliant Microserver Gen10 AMD Opteron X3421 2.10GHz 8GB RAM 4x1 TB HDD picture

HPE Proliant Microserver Gen10 AMD Opteron X3421 2.10GHz 8GB RAM 4x1 TB HDD

$349.99



HPE ProLiant MicroServer Gen10 AMD Opteron X3216 8GB RAM No HDDs picture

HPE ProLiant MicroServer Gen10 AMD Opteron X3216 8GB RAM No HDDs

$375.00



HPE microserver Gen8 Update Firmware iLO4 + BIOS System Latest HP Server FAST⚡️✅ picture

HPE microserver Gen8 Update Firmware iLO4 + BIOS System Latest HP Server FAST⚡️✅

$99.99



HPE HP iLO2 3 4 Advanced Key Lifetime License Microserver ProLiant Server Gen789 picture

HPE HP iLO2 3 4 Advanced Key Lifetime License Microserver ProLiant Server Gen789

$6.90



HP Micro G7 N40L NHP US Server, AMD Turion II Neo 1.5 GHz, 8GB RAM, No HDDs picture

HP Micro G7 N40L NHP US Server, AMD Turion II Neo 1.5 GHz, 8GB RAM, No HDDs

$130.00



Supermicro 847BE1C-R1K28LPB 4U 36-Bay Server Chassis 12Gbs SAS3-846EL1 w/ Rail picture

Supermicro 847BE1C-R1K28LPB 4U 36-Bay Server Chassis 12Gbs SAS3-846EL1 w/ Rail

$799.00



Supermicro X9SCM-F Micro ATX Intel C204 LGA 1155 DDR3 Server Motherboard Only picture

Supermicro X9SCM-F Micro ATX Intel C204 LGA 1155 DDR3 Server Motherboard Only

$39.00