Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: new Knoppix 8.2 - no3d fails

  1. #11
    When Knoppix-CD was discontinued I even thought to pay someone to create a minimal version of Knoppix (not downloading a DVD with 4 or more GB), even deleting most of the programs that included the CD (only the minimal programs) and with the changes I needed. I even emailed Klaus but no answer. This could be even a work for you or someone interested to offer something like that.

  2. #12
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    801
    Quote Originally Posted by joselb View Post
    Maybe you can change it only to work with or without no3d option and upload it that way. Itīs only a minimal change and will save us a hard work that we donīt know how to do it or do it well. Only if you want to help, I think itīs not a problem if itīs a derivative (only a minimal change in the original Knoppix), but I am not sure if itīs allowed or not.
    No way.
    If it was a well known/understood (by us) bug, that would have been more feasible, but it is not. I suggest you rather contact Klaus Knopper about this if you absolutely want it fixed upstream - that the same seems to occur in both 8.2 and 8.3 makes it less of a coincidence IMHO.

  3. #13
    Quote Originally Posted by Capricorny View Post
    No way. If it was a well known/understood (by us) bug, that would have been more feasible, but it is not. I suggest you rather contact Klaus Knopper about this if you absolutely want it fixed upstream - that the same seems to occur in both 8.2 and 8.3 makes it less of a coincidence IMHO.
    As I said I emailed Klaus before and no answer. But I got it.

  4. #14
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    13
    if you simply dont want compiz with 8.3 you can use nocompiz as boot option instead of no3d
    may be it also works with 8.2

  5. #15
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    148
    I am an old knoppix hand, but I admit, I haven't been on this forum for quite a spell. I have always booted my knoppix with no3d. I hate it. I can confirm this bug is still present on Knoppix 8.6. I was shocked when Knoppix just sat there on boot. Now that i know nocompiz is a workaround... I'm glad I came to find out what was up.

  6. #16
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    148
    Well, nocompiz did not help. Actually, Knoppix would not start on my laptop. Even with no cheatcodes. That is a first!!!
    What gives guys? This laptop has been booting Knoppix since version 5.0

  7. #17
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    148
    Quote Originally Posted by Luke M View Post
    Confirmed. This is tragic since without no3d knoppix is unusable.
    I agree wholeheartedly!!!

    Quote Originally Posted by joselb View Post
    Maybe you can change it only to work with or without no3d option and upload it that way. Itīs only a minimal change and will save us a hard work that we donīt know how to do it or do it well. Only if you want to help, I think itīs not a problem if itīs a derivative (only a minimal change in the original Knoppix), but I am not sure if itīs allowed or not.
    Not a really big request! But we don't know the actual changes you had to make, so we are in the dark there. We could make it available to only the people who have complained on this thread. I got fiber optic service. I can shoot it across the world in minutes.

    Quote Originally Posted by Capricorny View Post
    No way.
    If it was a well known/understood (by us) bug, that would have been more feasible, but it is not. I suggest you rather contact Klaus Knopper about this if you absolutely want it fixed upstream - that the same seems to occur in both 8.2 and 8.3 makes it less of a coincidence IMHO.
    By US bug? So you are in the testing group? You certainly have better access to Klaus than us general audience people. I tested Knoppix, back in version 5.0 to 5.1 release. That went badly. So I know how this can happen to even the most diligent of testers. Bugs creap in, where they aren't supposed to be. I'll give you my word of honor, I won't distribute it to anybody who has not registered a complaint here in this thread.

    But I need to get to the bottom of why it won't boot at all!!!
    I did sha1 hash checks on the KNOPPIX files... they all checked out. What comes after minirt in the bootup process. It doesn't seem to be making it there on my boot failures.
    It says Please do not remove medium until shutdown... and stays there with nothing afterwards.
    Last edited by johnrw; 10-15-2019 at 02:36 AM.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •