Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 32

Thread: How do I make my Knoppix PC into an ftp server?

  1. #11
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    54
    I've tried this again. This time I configured the knoppix-box started in text-mode (cheatcode: knoppix 2 expert) and logged in as user knoppix.
    Of course I did give knoppix a password by typing:
    Code:
    passwd knoppix
    , etc., etc., etc.

    The result on the Win98-box are the same as earlier.

    On my knoppix-box console the following apeared:
    Code:
    ftp(pam-unix)[947]: authentication failure; logname= uid=0 euid=0 tty= ruser= rhost=192.168.0.51 user=knoppix
    ftp(pam-unix)[954]: auth could not identify password for [ftp]
    I am sure I used the right password and username.
    I also tried on the Win98-box in IE 6.0 to use the following adress:
    Code:
    ftp://knoppix:pass@192.168.0.10
    IE explorer did exactly the same as when I typed
    Code:
    ftp://192.168.0.10
    So what could there be wrong?
    I think there might be 2 causes for this:

    1. I do something wrong in the host-file.
    Maybe the information I put in the host-file about the knoppix-machine is wrong.
    I did gave some information about the client, but I think that should not be needed.
    If it's needed I still have a problem when I want to connect over the internet.
    I do not always know in front on which machine I'm working.
    Or should I just put in the information of the firewall/router which will be the first hop for the knoppix-box?

    2. There is something wrong with the user.
    I'm still getting error-messages when adding a user with adduser

    I hope someone can answer me what I have to do to get things working.

    Thanks.

  2. #12
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    USA, IL
    Posts
    1,041
    --I updated the instructions again, and have used them myself several times now in the past couple of days. Suggestion:
    1. Do *everything* exactly as written, in Knoppix, from text-mode root console (Ctrl-Alt-F1) - real sysadmins don't use GUI for configuration... :P

    2. Boot Knoppix also on the *client* machine, and manually ifconfig eth0 to
    "ifconfig eth0 10.0.0.2 netmask 255.0.0.0 up"

    --Then see if it works using ncftp as described. Once you have it working, you can reboot the client box to Win and try it from there. (Of course you will have to reconfig the server for 192.168... and the new netmask, but Linux makes it easy.) If it still doesn't work on the Win side, try the DOS ftp client.

    Quote Originally Posted by Hermanh
    I've tried this again.
    The result on the Win98-box are the same as earlier.

    On my knoppix-box console the following apeared:
    Code:
    ftp(pam-unix)[947]: authentication failure; logname= uid=0 euid=0 tty= ruser= rhost=192.168.0.51 user=knoppix
    ftp(pam-unix)[954]: auth could not identify password for [ftp]
    I am sure I used the right password and username.
    I also tried on the Win98-box in IE 6.0 to use the following adress:
    Code:
    ftp://knoppix:pass@192.168.0.10
    IE explorer did exactly the same as when I typed
    Code:
    ftp://192.168.0.10
    So what could there be wrong?
    I think there might be 2 causes for this:

    1. I do something wrong in the host-file.
    Maybe the information I put in the host-file about the knoppix-machine is wrong.
    I did gave some information about the client, but I think that should not be needed.
    If it's needed I still have a problem when I want to connect over the internet.
    I do not always know in front on which machine I'm working.
    Or should I just put in the information of the firewall/router which will be the first hop for the knoppix-box?

    2. There is something wrong with the user.
    I'm still getting error-messages when adding a user with adduser

    I hope someone can answer me what I have to do to get things working.

    Thanks.

  3. #13
    Guest
    The FTP-server is working.
    I'm in! (from

    The problem was the file ftpusers. This was also a symlink. As soon as I removed that link and copied the file from /KNOPPIX/etc to /etc the problem was solved.

    I did also do some changing on the file hosts, but that did not solve the problem.

    I came to the right answer by an error-message on the console after 5 retries.


    Dave_Bechtel thanks for your time and everything. I know how desperate one can get if not exactly is done what you asked. Or how difficult it is to get your hands on the right spot when things go wrong. I do a lot of support for Windows on a dutch forum. So I know exactly how it feels. Again, thanks a lot.

  4. #14
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    54
    I've tried it again with my old file hosts. And it does work also. So I did read the man-pages on hosts right. If you use a non dotted host-name you are supposed to be in the same network.

    I think I just should let you know.

    Again thanks.

  5. #15
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    USA, IL
    Posts
    1,041
    --Glad it finally worked. I kinda suspected the ftpusers file, but in the latest ISO rev it's not a problem. Always make sure you have the latest DL.

    Quote Originally Posted by Anonymous
    The FTP-server is working.
    I'm in! (from

    The problem was the file ftpusers. This was also a symlink. As soon as I removed that link and copied the file from /KNOPPIX/etc to /etc the problem was solved.

    I did also do some changing on the file hosts, but that did not solve the problem.

    I came to the right answer by an error-message on the console after 5 retries.


    Dave_Bechtel thanks for your time and everything. I know how desperate one can get if not exactly is done what you asked. Or how difficult it is to get your hands on the right spot when things go wrong. I do a lot of support for Windows on a dutch forum. So I know exactly how it feels. Again, thanks a lot.

  6. #16
    Guest
    Just for a little bit more security:
    I changed the file hosts.allow
    It looks now like this:
    Code:
    inetd : ALL@ALL ALLOW
    ALL : 127.0.0.1 LOCAL : ALLOW
    ALL : ALL@ALL : DENY

  7. #17
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    54
    Also for security reasons I did change several settings in inetd.conf.
    From the external services is now only FTP running.

  8. #18
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    75

    for knoppix-doc

    ok ... that was cool... if it is ok with everyone i think i will clean this post up a little and make it one of the how-to's on the knoppix doc forum. let me know if youy have any special requests, or objections.

    http://sourceforge.net/docman/?group_id=70773

    toast

    again dave is da' man :-p

  9. #19

    done all of the above

    hey everyone, i have gotten my ftp up and running just fine thanks to all of you.....but one question....i have my hard drive mounted but how do i get to it from the ftp?

    all i can see the ramdrive


    thanks

  10. #20
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Long Island, NY, USA
    Posts
    1,256
    Does any of the above apply if I just want to ftp across a LAN (intranet - in my lab at school). I tried everything in FAQFTP and got no where....

    I rm'd hosts.deny and hosts.allow and restarted inetd on the "ftp server" but when I ftp from a client I get a time out after logging-in and just trying to ls! BTW, the client is a KNOPPIX liveCD and the server is knoppix-intalled as debian.

    Please help!

    TIA,

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-22-2004, 03:52 AM
  2. make menuconfig / make dep
    By Lord1981 in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-04-2004, 10:19 PM
  3. X server crash: "Fatal server error: Active ring not fl
    By cmcclean in forum General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-03-2003, 01:52 PM
  4. Make Knoppix.en under 650 mb...
    By jimbo70 in forum Ideas
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-23-2003, 10:58 PM
  5. Terminal Server: Suspend to Server for clients
    By Robert Michel in forum Ideas
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-26-2003, 01:21 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Altair 8800 CPU Board Working *TESTED* reproduction picture

Altair 8800 CPU Board Working *TESTED* reproduction

$790.00



MITS ALTAIR 8800  Vintage Computer w/ Keyboard, Floppy, boards - Buy It Now picture

MITS ALTAIR 8800 Vintage Computer w/ Keyboard, Floppy, boards - Buy It Now

$9275.00



MITS ALTAIR 8800 B  Original Vintage Microcomputer picture

MITS ALTAIR 8800 B Original Vintage Microcomputer

$5250.00



S-100 backplane motherboard bare PCB 9 slot (for Altair/IMSAI) picture

S-100 backplane motherboard bare PCB 9 slot (for Altair/IMSAI)

$30.00



MITS ALTAIR 8800  Original Vintage Microcomputer with 14 boards - Buy It Now picture

MITS ALTAIR 8800 Original Vintage Microcomputer with 14 boards - Buy It Now

$8900.00



MITS ALTAIR 8800  Original Vintage Microcomputer picture

MITS ALTAIR 8800 Original Vintage Microcomputer

$6000.00



Altair MITS 8800 CPU Parts Kit not IMSAI 8080 S100 (board NOT included) picture

Altair MITS 8800 CPU Parts Kit not IMSAI 8080 S100 (board NOT included)

$69.95



IMSAI 8080A MPU-A CPU Parts Kit Not Altair MITS (board NOT included) picture

IMSAI 8080A MPU-A CPU Parts Kit Not Altair MITS (board NOT included)

$59.95



VINTAGE DEC 1975 VOL 1 ISSUE 1 SCCS INTERFACE MAGAZINE MITS ALTAIR COVER & ADS picture

VINTAGE DEC 1975 VOL 1 ISSUE 1 SCCS INTERFACE MAGAZINE MITS ALTAIR COVER & ADS

$358.99



Altair MSAI   Douglas Electronics 11 DE Prototype Card S100 circuit board #AX44 picture

Altair MSAI Douglas Electronics 11 DE Prototype Card S100 circuit board #AX44

$69.00